We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
11
30
21
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
30
21
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2015 via mobile

Hotel's location is in the center of Shanghai. We arrived Shanghai by train and took metro line 10 from Shanghai Hongqiao railway station to Yu Yuan Garden station which is only 50 meters away from hotel. I advise you try to memorize the photo of hotel since there is no longer a sign over the entrance of hotel that writes Hotel's name in English. They gave us a room in the top floor which looks the Henan Road. The Chinese people use so much of horn of their cars, so the room is a bit noisy when the window is open. They write a note over the control panel of the air conditioner not to change the settings of it. Nevertheless the air conditioning system works well. The room is not that small as it is said in other comments. It was enough for us. We had 3-4 luggages. The best advantage of the hotel is location as I said in the title. You can walk to the Yu Yuan Garden, the bund and the people square. You can go other places by using subway easily. There is a family mart next to hotel. You can find much of snack there. To conclude, the hotel worths its price. I recommend couples to stay here for 2-3 nights.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Halil İbrahim Ö
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2015

the hotel room definitely looks old, carpet doesnt feel very clean, toilet is extremely tiny (looks & feels like they took a portable toilet and just installed it into the room). i guess u can't expect too much from one of the cheapest hotels in the popular area..

however, it is really really convenient to go everywhere as it is like 3 minutes from the Yu Garden subway station. the walking distance to the Bund and Yu Garden are pretty short as well. all in all, the awesome location and cheap price are its saving grace.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dixnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2015

We are two senior sisters taking a two-and-one-half month tour (that we have planned ourselves) through southeast Asia - with a minimal budget. Location for sightseeing was our top priority. This hotel gets a "10" for that, as in other reviews. We had a room on the second floor on the busy street side. The beds were wonderful from all perspectives. The bathroom was a very interesting and innovative modular compartment that worked just fine, was clean and easy to use. The room was small and somewhat dimly lit at night....during the day, open the curtains. It felt "vintage", clean, and comfortable. Sleeping next to the busy street did not bother us..the horn-beeping is something you get used to in Shanghai. Finding meals was a bit challenging in this area, but family mart was next door. The staff was pleasant, spoke limited english...and we ARE in China. For the price we paid for a three night stay, we were more than satisfied!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Artinobx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2015 via mobile

The hotel is located less than 3 min walk to yuyuan mtr.

The hotel room is below the average, room lights are very dim and seems run down. Doesn't feel vrry clean though but bearable to stay for 2'nights.

Its a hotel that has hourly rate, i'm sure u get it

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2015 via mobile

The main advantage to this hotel is the location: it's almost ridiculously close to the Bund (5 min) and the YuYuan Gardens Metro stop (2 min). However, it's also right next to a quite busy street which might bother those who are light sleepers.

The rooms were clean and the shower had good pressure. We managed to block the toilet once though, however I'm not sure whether this is a reflection on the plumbing of the hotel, Shanghai, or us...

The staff are perhaps not the most friendly people you'll meet (though in our experience they might actually be the most friendly people in China...), but they are efficient and polite and speak okay English.

Wifi was good, but remember that some sights, including Facebook and Google Maps, are blocked by the Chinese Government!

Our main concern with the Manhattan was their hourly rates. One night we also found calling card for hookers shoved under our door. We think the hotel might have been a front for prostitution, but in all honesty we didn't see a single apparent prostitute inside the hotel.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank s00fija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews