We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Comfortable rooms, great bathrooms.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Nikko Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Nikko Shanghai
Ranked #232 of 4,941 Hotels in Shanghai
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Comfortable rooms, great bathrooms.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

Not located in the heart of Shanghai, but on a major artery. Taxis were plentiful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly7300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine_Bao, Manager at Hotel Nikko Shanghai, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Dear Molly7300, thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Your feedback is much appreciated as this helps us improve our overall service. Your feedback was forwarded to hotel management immediately for our future training and improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Always trusted, always ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    100
    52
    21
    19
See reviews for
18
25
22
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

The hotel was good. Rooms were clean and equipped with latest gadgets with a good view.
There was not much variety in the food being offered. We preferred to eat out.
Service was upto standard.
The only con was the distance to the metro station which was quite a bit.
The hotel was pretty close to the main shopping area.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charuag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine_Bao, Manager at Hotel Nikko Shanghai, responded to this review, 12 July 2011
Dear Charuag, thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Your feedback is much appreciated as this helps us improve our overall service. Your feedback was forwarded to hotel management immediately for our future training and improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Always trusted, always ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

In the past week, I have stayed twice at the Hotel Nikko Shanghai, and I loved it. The place has a real feel of quality, and the rooms are fantastic. Breakfast isn't on a par with say the Intercontinental Puxi, or JW Marriott, but that aside, its a very relaxing hotel to be in. I found the staff very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. If there's one negative, the staff are very slow to take your luggage, to the extent that I was a little annoyed, and when leaving the hotel, nobody helps advise the taxi driver where it is you actually want to go. Maybe most Japanese guests speak good Chinese, I don't, and so it was a concern.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel-devil008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine_Bao, Manager at Hotel Nikko Shanghai, responded to this review, 16 May 2011
Dear travel-devil008, thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Your feedback is much appreciated as this helps us improve our overall service. Here we sincerely appologize for the unperfect consierge service you experienced and your feedback was forwarded to hotel management immediately for our future training and improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Always trusted, always ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

The attitude of the reception desk was very cold at check in&out process. The A/C in my room did not work well. I called them twice, but it's not fixed at all.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank icephere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine_Bao, Manager at Hotel Nikko Shanghai, responded to this review, 4 May 2011
Dear icephere, thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Your feedback is much appreciated as this helps us improve our overall service. Here we sincerely appologize for some of our staffs' cold attitude you experienced and your feedback was forwarded to hotel management immediately for our future training and improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Always trusted, always ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

WOW talk about state of the art....... Cannot beat the location and the new construction facilities.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SavyTravelerNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine_Bao, Manager at Hotel Nikko Shanghai, responded to this review, 25 April 2011
Dear SavyTravelerNYC,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at hotel nikko shanghai. We certainly pride ourselves on exceeding our guest's expectations.

SavyTravelerNYC we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to hotel nikko shanghai.

Always trusted, always ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai
Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai
#31 of 4,941 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#21 of 4,941 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#52 of 4,941 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
#42 of 4,941 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Jing'an
Merry Hotel Shanghai
Merry Hotel Shanghai
#236 of 4,941 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#44 of 4,941 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Shanghai

Property: Hotel Nikko Shanghai
Address: No.488 Yan'an West Road, Shanghai 200050, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Zhongshan Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #232 of 4,941 Hotels in Shanghai
Price range (per night): $150 - $233
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Nikko Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Nikko Shanghai offers luxurious comfort, sophisticated facilites, extraordinary dining options in a setting where Art blends with business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Nikko Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing