We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Jia Na Hotel(Shanghai)
View Hotel
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,679)
Filter reviews
1,679 results
Traveller rating
1,415
181
49
20
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,415
181
49
20
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand brasseriepersonal conciergewei jing gepeacock alleyde villeheritage buildingtv in the mirrorriver viewautomatic toiletbeautiful hotelnew wingdiamond memberhigh techview roombreakfast buffetluxury hotelchinese restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
1,116 - 1,121 of 1,679 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We spent two nights at the Waldorf after the Shanghai Grand Prix. The room was lovely and spacious, well designed with a nice layout, big bathroom, walk-in closet, lots of high tec features, nice tea and coffee facilities, etc. The bed was huge and the bedding was of a high quality but for some reason we slept very badly. The pillows are very big so not great for the neck and I think that was the main problem. There is a pillow menu though and I would have tried a few other pillows out had we stayed any longer.

The bathroom is nice and big, the shower was great but I agree with the one other reviewer about the shower head. It's not flexible so I had to use the rain shower, which I'm not a fan of. I loved the automatic toilet and at night there was no need to switch on the lights as there was an automatic night light. There were loads of soft towels, products and clever features.

Breakfast was very good. There was a nice selection of smoked salmon, salads, fruit, yogurt, breads, pastries, smoothies, juices and hot items. And we could order eggs from the menu. But what I found irritating was that the staff kept asking if we wanted to order eggs. When we said we'd order later, after we'd had cereal and yogurt, they kept trying to take away the menu, which of course we wanted to keep so we could order later. The staff found this quite perplexing, we found it annoying.

One evening, we had drinks in the Long Bar which were good but it was a little quiet and lacked atmosphere which was a shame. And we had lunch in the Grand Brasserie - they have a set menu which is great value and the food was delicious.

The location is great, right on the Bund, a ten minute walk to the Metro, a five minute walk to East Nanjing Road. M on the Bund is one block away if you want a nice meal or a drink in the bar. And Atanu Bar is just across the street in an old lighthouse. Go up the spiral staircase to the outdoor bar (the provide blankets for the chilly evenings) for a great view.

We thoroughly enjoyed out stay and would love to stay again. It's No.2 on our list of favourite hotels, second to The Oriental Tokyo.

Room Tip: Ask for a Bund view
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flipflops49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We had 2 wonderful rooms for our family and had magnificent views across the Bund to Pudong.

Breakfast was beautiful and the hotel is just magnificent - both the new tower and the historic old Shanghai Club part.

Service - wonderful from everyone in every area.

Pool - smallish but beautiful.

Ambiance - excellent.

Truly a great hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuncanF81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Awesome hotel and service you'd expect from a WA. The team here is so attentive and speak very good English. Warning if you're requesting a taxi back to the hotel, even in native tongue, not many have heard of this jewel on the Bund. Your breakfast puts all others to shame, wow, the variety, etc. Thanks for a great week long stay which I'll remember forever.

Room Tip: Bund view toward the Financial Centre.....
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

words cant do this justice. if you got the bankroll check it out. if you dont....walk through the lobby...have something to eat....its beautiful.... service was top shelf. glad the company covered this bill woooooo weeeee !

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Stayed here a weekend, mainly in order to enjoy the Sunday brunch (I live in Shanghai). Accommodation was good but the service quality was very uneven.

The brunch experience was ruined by extremely unprofessional staff in the Long Bar. The problems included:

1. NOBODY GREETING US AND ARRANGING A TABLE: When our party entered the Long Bar nobody greeted us. A foreign hotel employee was running around confused with what appeared to be a guest list. She, and other Chinese staff, saw us but did not greet us. After standing around for a while, I hunted her down and told her we had reservations for eight people. She informed us there were no tables in the Long Bar for our party! I looked around and noticed there was indeed a table available. She said OK and disappeared.

2. VERY POOR SERVICE: Our table was dirty since another party had just left. This is completely understandable, but nobody came around to clean up and nobody asked us what we wanted to drink. We sat waiting for five minutes, but nobody showed up. I had read before-hand that the Sunday Brunch would begin at the Long Bar with pre-brunch drinks and appetizers (freshly chucked oysters, smoked salmon, shrimp cocktails, and the likes.) We didn't see any of the appetizers and nobody told us where they were! This is even after I had to leave our table to catch one of the many waiters loafing around. When someone finally came to take our order they did it with a very bad attitude and when drinks arrived all other people (10-15 tables) had already left the Long Bar for the Brunch.

3. BAD ENGLISH: I speak Chinese so this was not a problem for me, but at lest two of the Long Bar staff spoke English at the level of a Shanghai cab driver.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ChinaHand2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent visit to Long Bar. Our apologies for the obvious shortfall in service you experienced. It is always our goal to serve all of our guests well however, on this occasion we clearly did not achieve this. We appreciate the feedback and will use it constructively.

Regards

Simeon Olle
General Manager
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews