We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
USD 200*
USD 117*
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 185*
USD 136*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 166*
USD 137*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 296*
USD 242*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 274*
USD 248*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 150*
USD 125*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 111*
USD 89*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 284*
USD 228*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Kunlun Jing An(Shanghai)
USD 178*
USD 135*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 196*
USD 166*
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,651)
Filter reviews
1,651 results
Traveller rating
1,391
179
48
20
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,391
179
48
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand brasseriepersonal conciergewei jing gepeacock alleyde villeheritage buildingtv in the mirrorriver viewautomatic toiletbeautiful hotelnew wingdiamond memberhigh techview roombreakfast buffetluxury hotelchinese restaurant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,111 - 1,116 of 1,651 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Very disappointed with my stay at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai. Stayed in many five star hotels in Shanghai and this is by far the worst stay I had in any China hotel. Very expensive for value, and had very bad attitude from the Director of Operations of the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank alexblefebvre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I stayed two nights during business trip. Hotel is at Bund, primary location and it is old English Commerce building. Those old western buildings at Bund just look and feel much better than any new Chinese new buildings.

It is "old money" but managed by Hilton, room is big and comfortable, they gave me a river view room at 18th floor. It is quite and clean, with comfortable furniture and bed. Interest is fast.

Breakfast is excellent thought lots of "trying hard" Chinese there, they want to show other people how "successful" they are without any taste. If you are short and out of shape because you don't play sports, then don't dress like those magazine with tall and slim models.

I may come back to this hotel but I really love the hotel next door - Les Suites, more foreign customers there and less Chinese people.

Room Tip: ask for high floor and river view room.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hog4oc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Everything at the hotel was top notch! Rooms were very modern and I personally loved the automatic lights on the floor at night when going to the bathroom and when walking into the closet. There are lots of high tech room features such as heated toilet seats and the window from the bathroom to bedroom can you be turned from frosted to clear. Everything else you need is control by a touch pad - drapes, temperature, alarm, and so on. The Long Bar and onsite dinning was also great. Breakfast buffet was pretty elaborate each morning. All of the staff was exceptional, especially Linda... we looked forward to seeing her friendly face each morning at breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The Waldorf Astoria is a beautiful and clean hotel. This was my first time staying in Shanghai and in a new 5-star hotel. A really nice touch was that everything was controlled by a touch screen remote control. We got pretty spoiled.

We looked forward to the fantastic breakfast and seeing Linda the Assistant F&B Manager every morning, she was great. The lady that does the evening turn down service was so sweet. Actually, every employee [and there were a lot of them] were all very professional and really tried hard to make you feel cared for.

Thanks to everyone at this hotel for being a great part of our vacation to Shanghai.

A pleasant surprise was that breakfast and internet was included!!

Room Tip: If view is important to you than make sure you overlook the Bund.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisHutchinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Stayed there when they first opened. This is my third time stayed there for a week. My room is facing the bund, and the view is magnificent, like it very much. Same great service, and very helpful staff, everything you expect from a 5 star hotel, worth every money you spend. I called the hotel to request an early check in at 11am, when I arrived at the hotel, the front desk had my room ready for me. The breakfast is great too, with lots varieties to choose from. WA is definitely my first hotel choice to stay in Shanghai.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RonnieC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews