We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the 5-star I was expecting. A let down.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Ranked #4 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not the 5-star I was expecting. A let down.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

As a worldwide business traveller, this hotel was a letdown on a few levels.

The breakfast buffet, although average in nature, was serviced by a slew of incompetent (albeit nice) servers... many a time did we receive 3 lattes in place of 1... or none at all. Too much staff without enough cohesion and direction. They seemed to be swarming us without actually taking the time to understand our food orders. Most seemed junior.

We would press the "clean room" button on our way out in the morning... but it wouldn't be cleaned by the time we arrived late afternoon. Very annoying.

Good location is what is going for this hotel. But even that, there is not much within walking distance other than the Bund.

Not the sophisticated discreet hotel we were looking for. Husband had a rude incident with the Director of Operations while he was having a business meeting in the lobby. The Director was extremely rude (instead of politely discreet) to my husband and his colleagues. A hotel of this calibre should treat all their customers in a very "white glove" approach... not as if we were some sort of street youth loitering in a lobby. Extremely unprofessional and we will not be returning to this hotel. We have stayed in all the other top hotels in Shanghai and have never felt such arrogance from hotel staff.

Our next trip in July is with a large group (20+) and there is no way we would ever subject them to the chance of being treated with such disrespect from the Director of Operations that we will clearly not return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank mtlnicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay. We appreciate your comments and will use them constructively, to continue to train our team members and strive to improve our service levels. Please accept my apologies for the let down in service levels and if there is anything we can do to assist, we would encourage you to liase directly with the hotel, as we would be delighted to help in any way we can.

Kind regards,
Simeon Olle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,135
    152
    39
    17
    10
See reviews for
212
399
85
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Very disappointed with my stay at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai. Stayed in many five star hotels in Shanghai and this is by far the worst stay I had in any China hotel. Very expensive for value, and had very bad attitude from the Director of Operations of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank alexblefebvre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orang County, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I stayed two nights during business trip. Hotel is at Bund, primary location and it is old English Commerce building. Those old western buildings at Bund just look and feel much better than any new Chinese new buildings.

It is "old money" but managed by Hilton, room is big and comfortable, they gave me a river view room at 18th floor. It is quite and clean, with comfortable furniture and bed. Interest is fast.

Breakfast is excellent thought lots of "trying hard" Chinese there, they want to show other people how "successful" they are without any taste. If you are short and out of shape because you don't play sports, then don't dress like those magazine with tall and slim models.

I may come back to this hotel but I really love the hotel next door - Les Suites, more foreign customers there and less Chinese people.

Room Tip: ask for high floor and river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hog4oc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Everything at the hotel was top notch! Rooms were very modern and I personally loved the automatic lights on the floor at night when going to the bathroom and when walking into the closet. There are lots of high tech room features such as heated toilet seats and the window from the bathroom to bedroom can you be turned from frosted to clear. Everything else you need is control by a touch pad - drapes, temperature, alarm, and so on. The Long Bar and onsite dinning was also great. Breakfast buffet was pretty elaborate each morning. All of the staff was exceptional, especially Linda... we looked forward to seeing her friendly face each morning at breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

The Waldorf Astoria is a beautiful and clean hotel. This was my first time staying in Shanghai and in a new 5-star hotel. A really nice touch was that everything was controlled by a touch screen remote control. We got pretty spoiled.

We looked forward to the fantastic breakfast and seeing Linda the Assistant F&B Manager every morning, she was great. The lady that does the evening turn down service was so sweet. Actually, every employee [and there were a lot of them] were all very professional and really tried hard to make you feel cared for.

Thanks to everyone at this hotel for being a great part of our vacation to Shanghai.

A pleasant surprise was that breakfast and internet was included!!

Room Tip: If view is important to you than make sure you overlook the Bund.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisHutchinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,843 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#8 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund

Property: Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Address: No.2 Zhongshan Dong Yi Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#176 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price range (per night): $405 - $629
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining the history and culture of the celebrated Shanghai Bund with a taste for 21st century sophistication, Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund offers a heritage ambiance, legendary service and timeless amenities to make your stay truly memorable and distinct. Housed within the two-building complex in phases are 260 well-appointed rooms and suites, stylish environments for dining and lounging, extensive banquet facilities with stunning views, luxury spa, fully-fitted gym ,free WiFi and more, all crafted onto a picture perfect setting that speaks volume of the grandeur and finesse that is uniquely ours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai On The Bund Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing