We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent retreat from the chaos that is Shanghai”
Review of Pei Mansion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pei Mansion Hotel
Ranked #706 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Walnut Creek, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent retreat from the chaos that is Shanghai”
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Small hotel with alot of history. It is set back from the street so very quiet and well located for tourists and business folks alike. Rooms had that "old Shanghai" feeling. Staff was very accomodating and welcoming. Once we had asked for a dim sum place to eat, they not only told us but had the porter physically walk us to the place. If you want peace and quiet from a hectic day, this is highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biggerbettertennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    12
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
14
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Pei Mansion Hotel is centrally located, about half-way between international airport (PVG) and domestic airport (SHA), the latter now with an adjacent new high speed rail station. We booked it because we do not like hotels in high-rise buildings with over 100 rooms. Our five nights at Pei Mansion were among the best experience we had on this trip. Hotel staff members are all friendly and helpful, especially Kelly Shan, who took care of delivery of my online orders to the hotel. Grand Deluxe King room is extra spacious and bathroom has jacuzzi featured bathtub. This is one hotel we would definitely book again for our next trip. Finally we should mention that this hotel is a historic building (see photo).

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sywu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

From the personalized warm welcome to the smooth departure, this hotel experience was a total dream. A luxury boutique hotel, the rooms are beautifully decorated in the art deco style. The bathrooms are large and luxurious with enormous stall showers and jacuzzis. I would say that the best part of the experience was the warm and friendly staff. The minute I got out of my taxi, I was personally greeted by Martin, the director. He was extremely helpful in orienting me to my room and arranged a personalized tour of the city, complete with a spectacular lunch at a Cantonese restaurant in a five star hotel. Other staff members were friendly and helpful and spoke perfect English. What more can I say? The hotel is located in a very interesting area full of spectacular shopping centers and great restaurants. The garden of the hotel is an important sight in itself. My only complaint is that I didn't stay long enough!

Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

I have mixed feeling about this place--their focus is probably more on their private dining restaurant than on the hotel. There are limited hotel facilities and they serve breakfast in the (small) rooms. We did negotiate to have breakfasts in a meeting room that overlooked the garden, but had no service during the meal. It is probably best a charmer retreat for a couple--not for business if services are needed.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MDTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

What a rare find. My brother in law is a Chinese national living in Beijing. He recommended this hotel having stayed on business. It opened in April 2010 having been extensively and lovingly restored to its former glory. It is a protected monument originally belonging to a very famous Chinese family. The first owner, the grandfather of the World famous Architect Pei, was a former Governor of the Bank of China.
The house is filled with beautiul furniture and our room was simply one of the best I have experienced. This is not a hotel with amenities such as swimming pools, public areas etc....its more like staying in a family mansion. our bathroom was larger than most hotel rooms and had a double jacuzzi, double width shower and the worlds most amazing toilet. Once we worked how to use the japanese style toilet we could not stop talking about it...they are fantastic...you will be astonished !!
You would have to pay double for this luxury in Europe....and trust me Shanghai is far from cheap!!!
TIP: You must vist the terrace bar...New Heights Floor 7 at No 3 The Bund at night....one beer with that view will convince you that the Chinese will become the biggest economy in the world.

Stay here if you are visiting Shanghai !!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smthoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Paramount Gallery Hotel
Paramount Gallery Hotel
#161 of 5,069 in Shanghai
201 reviews
Jing'an
The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#41 of 5,069 in Shanghai
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
#152 of 5,069 in Shanghai
208 reviews
Jing'an
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
#58 of 5,069 in Shanghai
218 reviews
Jing'an
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
#51 of 5,069 in Shanghai
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pei Mansion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pei Mansion Hotel

Property: Pei Mansion Hotel
Address: No.170 Nanyang Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #706 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Price range (per night): $156 - $281
Hotel Class:5 star — Pei Mansion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1934, the building was designed for the family of the famous architect I.M. Pei (Louvre Pyramid, Paris). The PEI Mansion with its lush garden, is a luxurious oasis set in middle of downtown Shanghai. With its unique historical heritage, the PEI Mansion captures the essence of old Shanghai, a period when this great city was considered the ‘Paris of the Orient’. The building design reflects this wonderful by gone era with its graceful fusion of Classic French and Asian architecture that made Shanghai one of the world’s most beautiful and elegant cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pei Mansion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing