We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #42 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
236 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Location”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I often travel to Shanghai on business and usually stay at the Intercontinental because I like to walk to Shanghai Railway Station. This time I did not need to take an early morning train so I wanted to stay near the Bund. I chose the Grand Central Shanghai after seeing positive reviews on Tripadvisor and I am pleased that I did.
The Grand Central is a good quality five star hotel in a great location. The hotel rooms are not as large or as well appointed as those at the Intercontinental but there is also a price difference.
The rooms are large enough and have everything one needs including free internet. Check in and out was friendly and efficient. One surprise was that every staff member with whom I had contact spoke reasonable English which was very convenient for me because my Chinese is very poor.

I used the main lobby restaurant once for breakfast and did not think the food was quite up to the standard of other good Shanghai hotels. It was not bad just not great. I had room service one night and found the food to be of a high standard and well presented.

I used the lobby lounge twice for meetings and found the atmosphere to be just right; quiet enough but with a friendly atmosphere.

The hotel has a reasonable gymnasium and a very nice indoor pool.

I will stay at this hotel again when I want to stay near the Bund.

Room Tip: The hotel offers a wide selection of blankets and pillow types if you don't like the standard hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NSMKMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share with us what you enjoyed most about your visit. We are very grateful for your encouraging feedback! Your comments on breakfast in the hotel will certainly help us know what we can do better to provide a memorable experience for our guests during their stays. We look forward to welcoming you back often upon your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    343
    49
    15
    16
See reviews for
158
261
53
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Stayed at the GCHS March 9-13 during our first trip to China. We are a family of five -- with daughters ages 16, 14 and 12 -- and the hotel was perfect. We stayed in two rooms, and the hotel was kind enough to provide a rollaway bed and put us in rooms next to each other on a high floor. The hotel is beautiful, especially the atrium. The rooms are very large (especially compared to European hotel rooms) and comfortable. The bathrooms are huge, with both a shower and tub, as well as a separate water closet. The staff was very friendly and attentive, and many spoke at least some english. But the best thing about the GCHS is the location. We were able to easily walk to the Bund/Pudong area, as well as People's Park'/Square -- and the Nanjing pedestrian/shopping street is just a block away (just far enough to avoid the noise and lights). There is also a subway station about 100 yards from the hotel with access to the 2 and 10 lines (the subway system is very clean and very easy to navigate). We were able to use the subway to get to/from the Yuyuan Garden and French Concession areas. And to top it all, the rooms were very reasonably priced! I would highly recommend!

Room Tip: High floor facing the river, or away from Nanjing Street, seem to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank longhorn67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share with us what you and your family enjoyed most during your visit in Shanghai. We are extremely delighted that our hotel met you expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back often upon your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
156 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Very convenient location, excellent service.
The breakfast was ok, if not quite top notch.

Very nice rooms, decent free (wired) internet connection. The hotel service was good, and the burned fuse for my room was changed within minutes of discovery.

Complimentary shoe shining was a nice touch.

Some of the hotel information was a bit vague, for example the breakfast opening hours were a bit unclear.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mleivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share with us what you enjoyed most about your visit. Your comments are very important for us to improve constantly, and we have forwarded the problem about hotel information to some related department heads. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Newly furnished - designed hotel
Spacious rooms
the best location near all shopping - sightseeing attractions
accessible public transportation
reasonable price

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daoud_Abdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share the comments with us. We're delightful that our hotel met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back often upon your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This hotel was amazing. We loved it and it had great facilities, great location. It was walking distance from the bund. It was clean and had amazing views of the bund (we were on quite a high floor). It had a great range of food from chinese to western and staff were very friendly. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a hotel in Shanghai. It was perfect!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucypen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear Valued Guest, we would like to express our appreciation for your stay and your observations. We are very pleased that the hotel met with your expectations. Thank you for your kind words of appreciation about the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#46 of 5,059 in Shanghai
805 reviews
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#61 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,225 reviews
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#40 of 5,059 in Shanghai
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#38 of 5,059 in Shanghai
2,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel Shanghai

Property: Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.505 Jiujiang Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Price range (per night): $180 - $263
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Central Hotel Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Central Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing