We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The maid found and gave me back the money left in the room!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Baron Business Hotel
Ranked #1,284 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Good position, near the Bund, 5 minutes by walking. The maid of my room gave me back about 1.250 euros left in a pocket of my shorts, she was very very honest with all people of the reception, who helped me

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 95 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2013

The only reason I have given a one star rating is because of the hotel's location. A mere 5 minutes walk from the Bund and 10 minutes walk to upper Nanjing Road (shopping district), the hotel is located in a lovely area close to a few general convenience stores, a wonderful coffee shop (Cova Coffee) and a lovely local restaurant with some awesome food (Grandmothers).

The rest of our experience was rather horrible. The hotel is quite small and has large buildings surrounding it, and so your view out the window is of the back-end of another building. The lobby and decor look impressive to begin with, until you start noticing the wall paper is damaged and in some cases has been torn from the wall. Other areas of the walls have been chipped with bare plaster exposed underneath. It seems when small things start deteriorating they are simply left to get worse, with little maintenance to damaged areas.

It seems as if there is smoking in the whole hotel with the handyman or some employee smoking at the reception desk constantly, apart from his coughing and belching every so often. The hotel staff at the reception area also light up at will in a small room behind the reception desk, which is visible (and smellable, if that is a word) to the guests.

The breakfast, if you are a western tourist, is not very welcoming, with hard pre-fried oily eggs and hard bacon-like ham available. There were 2 types of fruit with pre-mixed juice and coffee/tea. The rest catered for Asian guests. The staff on hand in the breakfast room, including the chefs, sat round uninterested and glued to their cell phones.

The room we had on the 5th floor, while large and clean, was somewhat empty with a King size bed (or actually two beds pushed together with two separate mattresses), one small chair and a small desk. Other than the wardrobe mirror, there was no other mirror in the room which meant that I had to sit on the floor in a somewhat yoga-styled position (in front of the wardrobe) in order to blow dry my hair, as the hair dryer cable was short.

The bathroom has a bath and bath shower (with half broken shower curtain), which for the cost of a Premier suite is not sufficient. They also ration you on toilet paper as they only leave what seems to be a half roll per day...? Then if you want to have a shower late afternoon, you are left with cold water... For some reason it only heats up in the morning.

The wallpaper in the room is bulging and cracked, and the duvet cover is torn... Then you get to the bed. I think a slab of cement would be equally as comfortable. Whether this is what they were "going for" or whether the mattress was simply shot, who knows, but you will hardly get a good nights rest.

Staff speak broken English (or "chinglish" as we were told by a local) which isn't sufficient. I requested one member to write down the address of a restaurant we wanted to go to, and found that she wrote down the incorrect address thus sending us to the wrong place... That cost a double taxi fare as our incorrect location was across town. When we tried to checkout, there was only one young lady behind the reception desk trying to checkin a gentleman, answer the phone, discuss issues with the cigarette smoking, belching and coughing handyman all at the same time, while I had to wait patiently for nearly 10 minutes to notify of our airport transfers.

Allegedly has quick wifi throughout the hotel - slow at best, and that's if you can connect from your room.

Terrible value for money. Definitely won't be returning.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ailalay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We paid $50USD per night on Hotel.com for a double room and I feel like the room was well worth it. The negative things were the very hard beds (harder than any other hotel we stayed in while in China), the terrible view out of the window (room 321) and the alley you have to take to get to the hotel (the buildings on both sides of the alley look quite ugly but the hotel is just 100 meters or so off the main street). Overall, the hotel is quite nice. The bedding is clean and comfortable, the room is very clean by Chinese standards. The furniture and the TV are modern. There is even a computer in the room you can use. Free internet - both wired and wi-fi. Only one English channel (CCTV News), no CNN or any other western news channels. Lots of toiletries are provided (no conditioner though). The location is great, only a couple of minutes' walk to the Bund. There are a couple of convenience stores and small inexpensive restaurants within a block or two. The East Nanjing Rd subway station is about 10 min by foot. Overall we were happy with the hotel. Make sure you book it on one of the discount travel sites because the hotel's rate for the same room was $150USD per night.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Well worth a stay Location excellent very close to the centre and the pedestrian zone other tourist attractions like the Bund and People’s square and a short ferry trip to Pundong Price very good for a big city,Hotel friendly and clean

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BernardB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We had three rooms and paid a very high price!
No people in the reception on nighttime!
Very bad condition on the room, dirty and very simple and hard beds!
No mirror in the bathroom!
No shower draperi!
A wall just outside the window!
Wake-up call for our early return flight - Reception forgot to call!
Very poor room service!

VARNING! This is absolute not a 4 star hotel - In best case a 2 STAR!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Seventh Heaven Hotel
Seventh Heaven Hotel
#161 of 5,222 in Shanghai
369 reviews
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
People’s Square
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
#438 of 5,222 in Shanghai
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
JinJiang Metropolo Classiq Hotel, Shanghai Bund Circle
The Bund
Shijia Hotel
Shijia Hotel
#2,387 of 5,222 in Shanghai
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baron Business Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baron Business Hotel

Address: No.105-1 Fuzhou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,284 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: AU$51 - AU$471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Baron Business Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Baron Business Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing