We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Baron Business Hotel
Ranked #637 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 2 January 2012

The hotel is situated near The Bund area and Huangpu River. It is a few minute walk from the metro train line 2 located at Nanjing Road. Taxi is also very convenient. The staff are friendly and courteous although aside from the reception staff who speak acceptable English, the rest of the hotel personnel are unable to communicate in English. 

As per room service, we had to go down the hotel restaurant to literally point out from the menu list the food we'd like to order. We took the hotel's buffet breakfast on our first morning in Shanghai but opted to have breakfast elsewhere for our next three days as there's nothing really special with their entrees. 

The room was spacious, clean and comfortable, however, got disappointed that housekeeping to this hotel seems like just taking out the garbage, providing new set of towels and toiletries then fixing your room curtain for a superficial, tidy look. In the five days of stay, it felt like the linens were not changed and the floor were left uncleaned. Also, to our disappointment, my daughter's personal comfort pillow was missing after the second day of room cleaning. All our other valuables were intact but funny that that red, cuddly pillow was never found. 

TV has no cable channel, only one English channel that replays in the morning what was shown night before. No wifi but has data cable for Internet. 

Tips

When dining, Shanghainese foods are very oily, try to opt for something steamed or fresh. Also try to buy water/soda from convenience store, this is cheaper and may come in handy when only tea is served. 

Must see places are the Bund and Huang Pu River (in day time and in night time), Nanjing S
Not Recommend

The Bund Sightseeing Tunnel is a short yet quite expensive trip to cross the other side of the Huang Pu river. The lights and sounds show while inside the tunnel is not worth your money.

The Shanghai Science and Technology  Museum displays exceptional modern architecture. However, it should have been more interesting and educational  if only all of the interactive machines/games are functional as many of them were either under maintainance or out order. Nevertheless, nearby A and P Plaza offers good bargains of phone and computer gadgets, Chinese clothing, bags, shoes and souvenirs. 

Room Tip: Before accepting the room assigned to you, no matter how tired you may be from your flight, try to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank expatmomdiaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 118 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2011

Best thing about this hotel was it's great location. It was short walk away from Bund and Nanjing road and longer walk away from old town and yuyuan garden. Room was average size and it was clean. Bed was really hard, but I really liked it. Breakfast wasn't included in our room rate, but we ate breakfast at the hotel couple of times. It didn't cost much and it was ok. Staff didn't speak english but we didn't have any problems with that. Grandmothers restaurant next door was really good. Overall this hotel is absolutely good value for your money.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelergirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Booked this via an agent website, to be honest I didn't have very high expectations; I expected a typical tourist trap type hotel with lovely photos but dire rooms and service. How could could I have been!

The Baron is nestled away just a short walk from the Bund, it's a little oasis in a city of chaos. Staff on reception spoke good English. Check in was quick and efficient.

The room was large and clean, it contained 2 beds and a desk with free cabled internet. Beds were far softer than we'd been used to in China and the duvets felt like luxury.

The bathroom was well appointed too, plenty of space and a powerful shower over the bath.

I was on the top (5th) floor and the room had French windows that opened out onto a private roof terrace with a table and couple of chairs.

Breakfast was great too, It was buffet style and only cost 48RMB (£5/$8) which I thought was good value. There was plenty of Chinese door and rice or noodles; or even bacon and fried eggs!

The only negative thing, and it's no fault of the hotel, is that the short walk to the Bund is an night full of beggars and pimps all tryin to extort money. A polite no and keep walking is usually enough but at first it can be uncomfortable.

Overall this hotel was a great little find and when I'm in Shanghai next I'll defiantly be staying again.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris0241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stay in this hotel for 2 nights in our roundtrip thrue China wit travel group. Well, the location was important for us, and that is advantage of this hotel. Room, that we had, has the wall opposite the window, so absolutely no wiew. Agree, that we can hear the conversation from another room. If you didn´t wan to use elevator, becouse it was really slow, the stairways to reception were confusiong. I must say, that breakfast was poor. We can´t connect to wifi in our room, only in lobby, and not all the time...
Anyway, room was clean, there is nice restaurant Costa coffe near the hotel where you can eat, it was near the pedestrian area and riverside.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MirosIav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I just got back from my trip to China. I spent some time in Shanghai, Beijing and Hefei and I must admit that Baron Business Hotel in Shanghai is the perfect mix of location (!!!), standard and price. It's located 2 minutes on foot from the river, 5 minutes on foot from Nanjing Road. Rooms (in slept in a twin) are pretty small but nicely furnished, bathroom was clean. Some people complain about hard beds but it's just the chinese way and I can't complain. After all day walking through the city, I had no problem falling asleep and my back didn't ache in the morning :) The breakfast buffet could be better but hey, it's really enough to charge your batteries. At this price it's really a hotel I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emilia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund Riverside Hotel
#157 of 5,159 in Shanghai
748 reviews
The Bund
Shijia Hotel
Shijia Hotel
#2,378 of 5,159 in Shanghai
58 reviews
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Riverview Hotel
Riverview Hotel
#179 of 5,159 in Shanghai
248 reviews
Hongkou
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
#189 of 5,159 in Shanghai
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Shanghai

Been to Baron Business Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baron Business Hotel

Address: No.105-1 Fuzhou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #637 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $71 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Baron Business Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Wotif.com and Cancelon so you can book your Baron Business Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing