We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
59
100
21
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
100
21
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hengshan road art deco metro city breakfast room location is great rooms are large sofa tub
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 196 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2018

It is now about 3 years since I last stayed at Gallery Suites. It is a good and comfortable hotel. I can only assume it remains so. Work circumstances have prevented me staying there again. I found the the hotel quirky, BUT VERY NICE. Well appointed. Rooms are large and the beds are good. As is the bathroom. Separate baths and showers. Always a BIG plus. The surrounding area offers some good restaurants and 2 very parks, where locals enjoy morning exercises - visitors are always welcome to join in. Shopping is good in the area.

I have ticked April 2017 as my last stay. This is incorrect. There was no opportunity to provide my exact visit, which as noted earlier, was about 3 years ago.

Date of stay: April 2017
1  Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed at room 505, which was absolutely pleasant regarding cleanliness & size. Twin beds with very comfy mattress. Living room area with sofa & writing desk. Bathroom with big shower & tub, amenities provided.
Friendly staff.
Lobby area in urgent need of some refurbishment. Breakfast room rather spartanic, only had a coffee, which didn’t measure up to my standard.
Would definitely recommend, as location is superb, close to HengShan Road Metro.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Travelista15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

It was really a wonderful found. The hotel was a former Russian princessas residence, hidden behind a hair salon.
The hotel is well decorated in art deco style, the room is big and clean.
The staff was lovely and very helpful. The breakfast was also quite ok and has enough options.
As it is located in the really expensive French concession area (5 min from metro station), this is a really great valuable choice.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank wonderfay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016

The good news is that the rooms are suites and spacious and the location, on Hengshan Road, is both a great location and a very nice setting. It is a short walk to several metro lines and Hengshan Road has wide tree-lined sidewalks. There are a number of good restaurants close at hand.

The hotel itself is quirky to say the least. In the bathroom the toilet is basically out in the open. If you are traveling with someone, there is no privacy. The room has a couch and sitting area, but only a single TV so you can only watch TV while sitting in bed. Not that the TV is much to crow about. Of the 6 English channels only 3 were operating during my stay and the sound quality was such that you could not hear much.

The bathroom vanity is positioned incorrectly so that the shower door could not open completely. As well the top of the mirror was at 5', so to look in a mirror I had to turn away from the vanity to another mirror.

There is a single slow elevator, so get used to at least going down the stairs. This is somewhat problematic as the stairwell is poorly lit.

Breakfast is off a set menu, not a buffet. It is adequate, but for the room charge inferior.

This is my second stay here out of a desire to stay in the neighborhood rather than of any affection for this hotel. I think that one of the Xujiahui hotels, although more distant from Hengshan Road might offer better accommodations.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed the room and service. The location is good for those who don't like crowded area. We just notice we might left our bookmarks souvenir for our kids in the hotel which might be slipped in the sofa. Hope the hotel staff could find them.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Elna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews