We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (858)
Filter reviews
858 results
Traveller rating
503
269
62
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
503
269
62
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews art deco people's square nanjing road ciao restaurant raffles mall people's park grand room deep bath metro exit junior suite big bathroom beautiful hotel comfortable bed highly recommend this hotel location is great central location dumplings
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 858 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We booked this hotel on short notice via Tablet Hotels.

It was a great decision as the service, rooms, location and overall hotel were all excellent. In particular, the bellman staff went above and beyond to take care of anything we needed from directions, tips, recommendations, taxis (and all in english)!

We look forward to revisiting this gem in Shanghai!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Dear Michael B,
Thank you so much for having chosen The Yangtze Boutique, Shanghai to stay and for taking the valuable time to share on TripAdvisor. We wish to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Actually stayed here in June 2015 but forgot to leave a review. Lovely Art Deco building with large rooms and bathrooms. The breakfast is great with a large choice, and staff were attentive and friendly. It was well situated close to shops, restaurants and the metro.I can't fault this hotel, we had a great time.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elizatripit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2016

Dear Elizatripit,
Thank you so much for having chosen The Yangtze Boutique, Shanghai to stay and for taking the valuable time to share on TripAdvisor. We wish to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Very nice Beautique Hotel in the Charme of the 1930s. Nice Chinese and foreign staff. I can't agree to the negative review here. If you are familiar with Chinese 5 star hotels you know that it is always a function of having 5 stars and the rate you have to pay. This hotel is a very good one of these small old Art Deco treasures in Shanghai. I've lived in Shanghai for a couple of years. This hotel is directly located at the Peoples Square, close to Metro and all kind of shopping places. Due to the fact of style and service it's a 5 star hotel. It is tidy and everything is professional. We had a room with or own small terrace where we could enjoyed the evening drinks. The only thing is that you can see that it's an aged hotel. This is at the same time a pitty. It could be a real 5 star hotel if they would start to pay more attention for details, e.g. serving good Cocktails at the bar, taking care about the rooms. Then it would be a small treasure in a busy city.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank MaM470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Dear Ma M
Thank you so much for having chosen The Yangtze Boutique, Shanghai to stay and for taking the valuable time to share on TripAdvisor. We wish to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Our 5 nights went too quick (I wish there were 50). The building has a beautiful architecture inside and out with a strong historical feeling. Spacious room and bathroom, great food for breakfast and dinner (we've tried all 3 restaurants), personnel at 5 star level. Location can't be better for exploring Shanghai. Great experience, would love to return!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank adimusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Dear adimusic
Thank you so much for having chosen The Yangtze Boutique, Shanghai to stay and for taking the valuable time to share on TripAdvisor. We wish to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a week, and found it a perfect escape from the ever-bustling streets of Shaghai.

Whilst the lobby looks period, it doesn't look dated, with everything in tip top shape.

Bedroom was very large with a half-decent range of TV Channels (the usual hotel ilk - Discovery, Nat Geo, CNN et cetera). I found the bed and pillows very comfortable, the a/c worked well despite outdoor temperatures of close to 40 degrees and a bar fridge was always kept well stocked.

Bathroom is very large, with the deepest bath I have ever seen and an in-wall TV to aid the relaxation.

Did init eat in the restaurants, but breakfast daily had an enormous range to suit every taste - whether European, Asian or in my case - Australian. Nicely cooked eggs every time from the egg station.

Highly recommended for it's location within metres of People's Square and Nanjing Road. About a 20 minute flat walk to the Bund.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
Thank Daniel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTLSHA, Manager at The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Dear Daniel O
Thank you so much for having chosen The Yangtze Boutique, Shanghai to stay and for taking the valuable time to share on TripAdvisor. We wish to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews