We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury in the Clouds” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Hyatt Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Park Hyatt Shanghai
Ranked #15 of 4,967 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Luxury in the Clouds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed at the Park Hyatt Shanghai twice within a two month period, so this review reflects both stays. The hotel property is located in a sterile neighborhood which I should say is a short cab ride to restaurants, shopping and nightlife. We stayed in a suite with a fantastic view overlooking the television tower. This made for a wonderful experience at night. The lobby, hallways and our room were beautifully decorated and esconced in a dark wood that created a calming mood. My favorite part of the hotel was the fitness center. The gym was a little on the small side, but it had enough equipment to meet my needs. What I truly loved about the fitness center was the pool--an incredibly large lap pool situated on a high floor.

As for the food, one night we ordered chinese food room service and didn't think it was that great--we found the food in the restaurants on the Bund much better. The breakfast area is large and the offerings plentiful.

As for the service, as Diamond Gold Passport members we were treated royally. Everyone was courteous and helpful. When we weren't happy with the view in our first room, the front desk manager bent over backwards to get us into our suite with the view of the television tower. We were also pleased with the nightly fruit and sweets they placed in our room. The doormen were also very helpful in getting us taxis and explaining to the drivers in Chinese exactly where we wanted to go.

We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jmleon72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    752
    246
    52
    22
    13
See reviews for
101
237
96
344
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

The Park Hyatt is located in the tallest building in Shanghai and possibly all of mainland China. It is very sleek and glamourous but hard to navigate. The halls and entrance foyer are dark and confusing. The staff is pleasant enough but not great. We had a fabulous room with an awesome view. A big drawback is the lack of a club-level, which is usually not included in any Park Hyatt properties. The a la carte breakfast and other meals were a complete rip-off. I would recommend staying at the Grand Hyatt next door which is probably a better deal.

Room Tip: Request a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

WOW! I loved everything about this hotel. This place is stunning! We stayed here for 6 nights as our final destination in China. If you like modern, minimalistic, high tech and luxury, this is the place to stay. The views were amazing from our rooms. I’ve heard the other room’s views are rather plain. If you can afford it go for the bund and Jin Mao view. But don’t be too disappointed if you don’t have a bund view because the reception, the pool and the restaurant … ALL have amazing views. I love the feel of the corridors and the rooms in this hotel, it feels private and quiet almost peaceful… As soon as you open your room you feel like you are “there”. The rooms are spacious, have different “shades” and lighting is spectacular. The bathrooms are gorgeous; you’ll never want to leave the shower! The food at the 100 Century on the 91st floor was so delicious that we had dinner several times there and daily breakfast. Considering the top notch facilities they had it is still disappointing that some of their staff have language challenges. I would not advise to order room service, for us, it was very frustrating. The language barrier is also true in every single hotel we stayed in China…Overall; we enjoyed our stay and plan to be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ale_ErikaChina2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

Everything was simply amazing, the building, the location, the service, the pool and spa, the room and the view over the bund from my room (87th floor) and the 101 restaurant.
one word to desribe them all.,stunning
Any centimeter of the hotel, any piece of decoration, any food presentation is perfect
great, friendly, professional service fromm all staff members.
The better hotel experience I0ve had so far,

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexdip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

I stayed here for one night was fairly impressed. This property is absolutely stunning-everything is well done, thoughtfully designed, and well maintained. I agree with other reviewers that the design is much like luxury hotels in Japan-especially sister property Park Hyatt Tokyo. Service was not quite up to par for a luxury hotel in first rate city like Shanghai. We had considerable difficulty placing a room service order in English and upon delivery discovered one of entrees was not prepared to specifications. Our server was truly clueless and unable to rectify the situation. Otherwise, food was okay but breakfast at 100 Century Ave more than made for any short comings in room service. Overall, I enjoyed staying here and plan to return when I'm Shanghai next.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 737823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#21 of 4,967 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,211 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
#4 of 4,967 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Shanghai

Property: Park Hyatt Shanghai
Address: No.100 Century Avenue, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#15 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#18 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#55 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#178 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price range (per night): $357 - $588
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
occupying the 79th to 93rd floors of the Shanghai World Financial Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Hotels.com so you can book your Park Hyatt Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing