We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,198)
Filter reviews
1,198 results
Traveller rating
250
515
307
77
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
250
515
307
77
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station rooms are big speak english exit toothbrush
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
430 - 435 of 1,198 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Very well designed hotel with clean rooms and everything you might need. The area is apparently not the best, but most people are brought to the door by a tour so this is not a problem. If you're not on a tour, taxis in Shanghai are very good value. There is an excellent value bar in the hotel and good communal areas.
There are many many more beds in this hotel than seats at breakfast, so avoid peak times.
Staff speak enough English to help with basics.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucyrodda
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Stay for 1 night for business.

This HIE is very close to railway station with easily access to 3 metro lines. Everything is standard HIE, comfortable bed, clean bathroom, free internet, free breakfast.

I pay about 300 RMB which is very good value for Shanghai, well worth money compare with quality and location.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kengkla
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Located very close to the railway station, the Holiday Inn Zhabei was convenient, inexpensive and was a very high quality hotel for the money. The complimentary breakfast was nice, but usually VERY crowded. It was not truly "western" as advertised, but certainly had enough to sustain you until lunch.
The staff was VERY friendly and helpful and many spoke English.
While the closeness to the railway station/subway station was nice, it can be deceiving. Getting to certain lines on the subway required a LOT of walking, and if you came out of the wrong exit, it was easy to get disoriented. Our first night we wandered around trying to get to our hotel for 20 minutes. We could see it, but there were walls and barriers preventing us from getting to it. We finally went back down in the subway, came out a different exit and found our way.
For roughly the same price as many Chinese hotels, this was a very welcome upgrade.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 October 2012

The rooms were really nice, bug and comfortable beds. The location wasn't the best and was quite dirty. Food was also really bad, but if rating only on the room, it was worth the price. Expect the walk o take taxi/train if you want to get anywhere.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Massim0456
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We were booked into this hotel by someone who lives in Shanghai and thought it was a good location. Personally I believe there are much better locations then this one to spend a couple of nights in Shanghai. The area around the Shanghai Railway station is dirty to say the least. There is really nothing to do in this area and unless you are just spending the night in the hotel, there are no opportunities to walk in the neighborhood and discover new sites and sounds. The rooms have the appearance at first glance that they are up to standard, but it did not take long to discover that items that needed repair were not tended to. As others mentioned the breakfast was pretty poor. Although I never stay at a hotel for the breakfast. Carpet on the floor of the room was stained and had a dirty look to it. The price was reasonable so I suppose one should not complain, as I have stayed in worse.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank detroit_wing
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews