We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No paradise at all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yun's Paradise Hotel
Ranked #2,380 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Rooms where terrible, specially the bathrooms where you would find mold and mildew on the ceiling and walls. Staff really not helpful or nice. Will not go out of their way to help you out. Only good thing about this hotel is that it is walking distance to the street markets etc. Wifi worked best in the lobby and was never able to get it to work in my room.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ChantalOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2017

Pro: Cheap, free wifi
Con:
1) Awkward entrance so taxi can't lead you into the hotel
2) Two staffs did not speak any English and also little rude
3) Spermed up blanket for you to sleep on (This was the biggest turnoff)
4) Wallpaper and places breaking down (desk cabinet broken, our window broken so surrounding noise and cold air was just rushing through the room in 2 degrees celcius weather, wall paper peeling)
5) Not very clean- visible smudges on the carpet, dirty tub.
One of the worst hotel experiences I've had. Never would I be recommending this place to a human being. The management simply does not give any Fs.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Domyung K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

If you are a finicky person, aspects of this hotel will bother you. There are spots where the wallpaper is peeling and minor damage in places, etc. If you are not a persistent nitpicker, then this hotel will be perfectly fine. Conveniently located about a ten minute walk from the metro and fifteen minutes from the shopping district in old town and the gardens. Hotel has almost a Las Vegas feel to it, with the faux Roman fountain out front and flashy fights at night. Front desk staff were friendly and spoke excellent English. Rooms were comfortable and well stocked. Cleaning service was prompt and thorough. The wifi could be spotty at times, but I was able to FaceTime with my family back home. The breakfast buffet was quite extensive and varied. People who may want "Western" cuisine might be lacking for choice (look, this is China; enjoy the fantastic local options!).
A good choice for a hotel, with some decorative rough edges.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Grizinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

Staff don't speak English well..hard to communicate and ask simple things. The hotel itself was really good. Room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet had many options including a continental breakfast.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Bhavna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Simply said, the experience was really bad. Initially the pictures promised fairly nice rooms etc. but the reality was something completely different. After check-in we arrived our room and then the reality hit us. Well, to be honest, as soon as we got out of the elevator, we were able to smell the worn out carpet that was most likely never washed. Nevertheless, once we got into our room the only word we got out of our mouths was "filthy". Room was dirty all over, carpet had so big stains on it that it looked like someone died on it. Mold in the bathroom, mold on "minibar" price list, broken lamp covers, a lot of someone's hair on the floor... So it truly gave a new definition for paradise. We asked the front desk to clean our room or take care of it otherwise, but once we came back from dinner, nothing was done. So we were forced to change a hotel late in the evening because our room was simply disgusting. I'd highly suggest to look for another hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DentHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Campanile Shanghai Bund Hotel
Campanile Shanghai Bund Hotel
#85 of 5,161 in Shanghai
112 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#5 of 5,161 in Shanghai
1,867 reviews
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#33 of 5,161 in Shanghai
2,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yun's Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yun's Paradise Hotel

Address: No.789 Fuxing East Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#361 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $81 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Yun's Paradise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yun’s Paradise Hotel is located at Huangpu District, Shanghai, China. It offers air-conditioned guestrooms, all of which have Philips LCD TV with satellite channels, premium beds draped in picasso cotton beddings, and free high-speed Internet access. Some of its amenities include Yun’s Paradise Health Center, Yun’s Paradise Porch (sells various Jiangnan products), and Harvest Festival Restaurant (serves Jiangnan and Ningbo cuisines. It also features a banquet hall and private room). While staying here, you can visit some interesting places like The Bund, Yu Garden, and Oriental Pearl TV Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Yun's Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yuns Paradise Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing