We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (474)
Filter reviews
474 results
Traveller rating
393
50
17
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
393
50
17
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club beachfront villa daily laundry service lunch and dinner movie room sunset drinks fish kids menu non alcoholic drinks three courses natural beauty month old baby helicopter transfer fiji night welcome song beach side executive chef
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 474 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

We had the holiday of a lifetime in May (2017) and are hopefully returning this year in October.

The island itself is beautiful - the perfect size - you would swear outside of meal times that you have the island to yourself. The coral that you can swim to ten meters off the beach is some of the best I’ve seen anywhere in the world and the snorkeling tours off the island were well worth it too. The kayaks were fun too.

The food was outstanding, all meals five star and all staff were very accommodating and they adore the kids - all the kids are treated like celebrity’s. We had my sons birthday there on the beach and they made him a cake and made his bed up with amazing flowers. Our 5 and 3 yr old kids loved the kids club and eating their meals there was a novelty for them and gave us parents a great few hours every night to relax and socialize with the adults.
The adults only bar was amazing for sunsets and cocktails... mmm coconut mojitos!

We had a beachfront free standing villa and couldn’t fault it. Well designed, very clean great amenities and enough room for our family. The daily washing and folding service was a real treat too.

I could write about it all day and sure it’s more expensive than some islands but well worth it you will fall I. Love with Vomo like we have.

Tips.
We took the ferry from the mainland which takes longer and requires an overnight stay (we stayed of the Sofitel) but found it ok (all part of the experience and adventure). Having a dinghy come to pick you up from the ferry was fun too.

Try to stay for a Thursday night for the Fiji night, great fun. The kids loved it.

Try the mountain climb it’s steep but well worth it - I found watching the sunrise off the beaches were better.

The baby butlers can take the kids after dinner back to your room and get them ready for bed, giving you more time over dinner (something we didn’t know about or use but will do in future).

You can ask for a kids meal at any time of the day if they are hungry.

The golf course is pretty fun too - well worth a hit.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank MarkH2775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, Director of Sales at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Bula Mark
Thanks so much for the review and some great tips there for the Trip Advisor readers.
These days, we have differentiated the Beachfront Villas that are free standing by calling them Beachfront Havens.
The Fiji night has been moved to Wednesday night's with plenty of coconut mojitos for you to enjoy!
Thursday nights are now enjoyed by adults only at The Rocks, whilst families can dine together up at the main house if they wish.
Of course, the children still have their own restaurant at the Kids Village, with their own dedicated chef and menu, to give parents some time together to enjoy one of the many date nights available to them, during a stay.
We look forward to welcoming you all back, very soon.
Vinaka from the VOMO family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

Our 4th visit in 4 years and every year has been as amazing as the last. Truely can not fault the staff down to the lovely Ana to the head staff Andrew. We as a family have traveled the world from Europe, Maldives and Asia only to keep coming back to Vomo paradise. As we are finding, once you experience this treasure, you will only keep coming back. The Gabriel’s

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank 290tyrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, Director of Sales at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Bula Gabriel family,
What a delight it is to keep welcoming you back. Vinaka vaka levu from the VOMO family to yours.
Lolomas and sote tale. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

I’ve travelled to Fiji many times and have been lucky enough to stay at some very nice resorts - and my benchmark had always been Vatulele (back in its hey-day, when still owned by Henry Crawford), but with a 5-month-old firstborn baby boy, I still wanted that exceptional and luxurious Fiji experience with my fiancé, but with our bubs in-tow.

Vomo delivered on everything and set a new benchmark. It is a naturally beautiful island with white beaches with a sandy ocean-bottom (surprisingly rare in Fiji) that greets a fantastic snorkelling reef. The food is fresh and exceptional - every single course (also can be quite rare in Fiji). As good as any Sydney bistro.

While alcohol (eg wine) is not covered in the tariff, and is understandably-expensive, given the almost 50% Govt taxes, the beautiful Rocks Bar at sunset will be the end of you if you don’t allow for a reasonable cocktail-budget. To be honest though, the pricing is only a touch more than what you’d pay in a Sydney wine bar these days. And the wine list is excellent. I kind of like that the alcohol consumption was moderated by the pricing too. No-one appeared to get loud and drunk our whole 7 night stay.

The whole resort never feels ‘busy’ and there are always plenty of sun beds, hammocks, tables and space to relax, and have private time.

We stayed in a beachfront Bure and I was thrilled to note quiet air conditioning - even though it wasn’t too hot when we were there. But it would be a god-send in summer months. The room was spacious with premium products, and the daily laundry service is so good. You literally just need a carry-on and 2 days worth of clothes.

But speaking-of luggage, there was a mix-up at Nadi airport and I ended up with a woman’s bag who had commuted-on on to Samoa, and my bag was still in Nadi. The Vomo reception staff were amazing and, around 2pm the next day, my bag magically arrived and the lady’s bag was loaded onto a flight to Samoa. As if by magic.

Which brings me to the staff. What an incredible team. And that Xmas Party that our tips go towards must be legendary in Fiji and highly coveted, because Vomo has attracted some of the very best staff from across the islands. Our little boy was whisked away when meals arrived, and ended up in the bar, the kitchen, all sorts of places - surrounded by the smiling faces of scores of Fijian ‘uncles and aunties’. And he loved Oni, his baby-butler + the kids club. It is quite literally a better facility than most Sydney pre-schools.

Quite hilariously, we overheard one staff member day to another staff member “that’s baby Mason’s parents”. Other staff member: “whose baby Mason?”. First staff member: “Everyone knows baby Mason!”.

Finally, a shout-out to the Ocean Play team. Whatever you want to do on or under the water, OJ and her team are really lovely and very professional. My 5x scuba dives were beautiful with great visibility. Lots of hard and soft corals. Table-tops everywhere.

When we left Vomo, being sung the Moce-song, I got quite choked-up. I really loved this place and the people who work there. Vomo isn’t cheap but it is value for money - and a fantastic place to take the family. Although to be quite honest, you could go there as a couple and never feel like you are in a ‘family resort’ per se.

Thanks so much for a wonderful trip. Carli and I and ‘baby-Mason’ will be back. Vinaka-vaka-levu. Sota Tale!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, Director of Sales at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Bula David F

We absolutely loved reading this review. It is wonderful to read how you recognise the level of sophistication that VOMO offers & the new benchmark that we have delivered on, compared to the old days of Vatulele; once regarded as Fiji's best. That's exceptional and we sincerely appreciate your comments.

Without a doubt, our wonderful resort facilities, beautiful island environment and amazing cuisine, are what guests seek when looking for a great resort experience. However it is the VOMO family of staff who truly make it special and the reason most return to our little island paradise. We look forward to welcoming back Baby Mason (and yourself and Carli of course) again soon, to make more VOMO memories.

Sote Tale and lolomas from your VOMO family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

It’s not often my expectations are exceeded. However that’s exactly what happened on our recent trip to Vomo. Our dream holiday became a reality.
Even though it was our first time, we were made to feel as though we were returning home. Greeted by so many friendly faces, including the wonderful GM Andrew our holiday began instantly. Our postcard holiday began with “Welcome Drinks on the beach” where our girls were instantly cared for, by one of the many fabulous Baby Butlers. Lani cared for our girls as if they were her own, and in my opinion they preferred their time in the Kids Village with Lani then beachside with us.

As parents of two young, energetic girls this really gave us the time to recharge our batteries. After a few days of poolside naps, we were loved exploring the Island, and made daily hikes up Mt Vomo, and loved the snorkelling trips with the recreation team.

In terms of food, I loved the daily changing “Fresh” menu, everyday was a surprise. I am still craving their homemade granola and yoghurt. A few hit and miss dishes, but can be forgiven with their spectacular wine list.

Our highlight was the team making a milestone birthday even more special, with a private “Happy Birthday” performance, a beautiful complimentary cake and our private dinner for two beachside.

I really can’t wait to go back and make more memories with my family.

Thankyou VOMO Family

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Robyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, Director of Sales at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Bula Robyn K
Vinaka for your lovely review. It is great to read you and the family felt at home at VOMO and enjoyed becoming part of our Fiji family.
We really hope to be welcoming you back again and again for many more family holidays, where memories can be made.
Lolomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

We absolutely loved this place, its beautiful! The room was lovely and clean. The food was exceptionally good and the staff very welcoming, friendly and so attentive. The Fijian night with the meke was fantastic and a great opportunity to chat with the staff. Our daughter loved the kids club and made many friends, and they ran a good range of activities to keep them entertained. There is a lot of beach space for everyone, so it sometimes felt like we were the only ones at the beach. All the water sports are complimentary, including snorkeling, paddle boards, kayaking, and a small sail boats which you can take out every day. We walked to the top of mount Vomo each morning and the views from the top are amazing. The beach is idyllic with beautiful clear water; the kind you see in luxury magazines. Overall, it's absolutely stunning; we’ve been to other resorts in Fiji, Asia and the Caribbean and we would highly recommend this place. We usually like to try different places, so typically don’t return to the same place but we will definitely be back again next year.
Thanks for the lovely experience - Rachael, Dave & Sophie

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank RAN1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, Director of Sales at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Bula RAN1999
It was lovely to read your review and we are very appreciative of you taking the time to post this. The most wonderful accolade we can receive is for you to return to VOMO. The VOMO family look forward to welcoming the three of you again next year.
Vinaka and see you then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews