We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Island Resort but not 5 star”
Review of Vomo Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vomo Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Vomo Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We recently enjoyed a family holiday at Vomo. We chose as it is the only luxary resort that allows children, clearly there niche. We read all the reviews which were all mostly accurate however the resort needs to improve to rightfully claim a 5 star rating.So we though we would highlight to good the bad and the ugly:
Como
THE ROOMS: The rooms are primarliy the same being a studio, mostly in a duplex constructing although they do have some that are detached. The rooms are from the resort inception as an adult only private resort. The rooms are getting a little dated now and the bathroom is a little tired, howeverthey are clean and comfortable. The beauty of this resort is clearly it's natural beauty. The biggest issue with the rooms is that they will only comfortabily house a couple with 2 small children or you will need to get a second room at double the cost. The resort is in nee of 2 bedroom accommodation to continue to target it's family market.

THE FOOD: The food is included as part of the tariff with breakfast plus 3 ccourse lunch and dinner. We felt that all we did was eat so you arenot going to go hungry here but if you are a large eater the you can always purchase additional meals. Our biggest issue with the food was that the chief often failed with the dishes provided. Although there were a few gems (paella & mud crab) the chief just did match the expecatition of his menu. Often the chef added one too many ingredients, failed with his flavour combination and never correctly seasoned his dishes. The food failed to match the 5 star standard of similar resorts.

THE KIDS: Allowing kids is clearly their niche and we were concerned that allowing kids would take away from the privacy and luxary of this resort, having visited many 'adult only' resorts. Vomo Island is large enough and has plenty of activities that you just don't notice the kids and actually add to the vibe of the island. On our stay the average guest had 2 children mostly under between 5 - 10 so about half the guests are children, so if this is a problem for you I would book elsewhere.

THE FACILITIES: SPA - provides a total offering but is in need of a renovation, messages are relaxing when you are interrupted by the tra ctor and law mowers. KIDS CLUB - the girls are great and engage the children, however club hut is in need of air conditioning. Swimming Pool - its far too small and there does need to be an adults only pool. In the afternoons the pool can be overrun by the kids. House Reef - the gem of the resort, right on your door step is a reef as good as any resort we have visited, including the Great Barrier Reef.

Comparing Vomo to it's peers it's certainly behind them and not up to their 5 star standard, but it isn't far behind and it niche of allowing kids is a winner. However if Vomo wants to keep it guest returning with older children then they will need to make some improvements.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank DLIJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicolaAlpe, Marketing Manager at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Bula and a big thanks to you and your family not only for visiting Vomo but for taking the time to review us as well. It's great that you enjoyed the atmosphere of the island and all the natural beauty, including as it sounds the excellent snorkelling. It's great praise to be compared so favourably on that aspect and we will be sure to pass on your comments to our kids club girls as they will really appreciate your praise.
Your review has highlighted a number of areas which we are planning on improving this year. By May we will have our new purpose built kids club operational and this will be a real enhancement to the guest experience. Our Villas are being rebuilt and refurbished and this is due to commence shortly. We are also working on addressing the spa too. As our menu changes often we will pass along your comments which are invaluable in maintaining our high standards. Our entire menu is included in our rates with no extra charges for meals in the restaurant so we trust there wasn't any confusion during your time with us.
All the best and we hope to welcome you and your family back to Vomo to see our improvements. Vx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
There are newer reviews for Vomo Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

245 - 249 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2012

My family and I just returned from 8 nights at Vomo. Wow!! It really is gorgeous. Food is great. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are really lovely, so many choices!! We stayed in the Hillside villas as when I booked the beachfront were already booked out, but you know what, I was actually relieved. I prefered them because they were more private than the beachfront which obviously are very close to the beach but also interconnecting. The hillside are freestanding. So if you don't feel like having to keep quiet for your neighbours or the kids wake easily the hilltop villas are perfect. My only gripe with our villa was that the phone in the room was not working the whole time and it was inconvenient when you wanted to book activities or the spa we had to physically go to that area. We did mention it quite a few times however it wasn't rectified. By no means a holiday ruiner though. My other suggestion would be to arrive and depart by either helicopter or seaplane as Vomo as yet has no jetty so if you disembark from a boat you actually do get wet as you have to jump in the water, awkward with bags, small children, grandparents as we found. We changed our return to a helicopter and the view was awesome!! My mother who was too scared to do it on arrival actually begged me to change the plans as we arrived in choppy conditions on the boat and we were actually flying off our seats in the boat everytime we hit a wave (constantly). Also it's just so much easier and quicker, no transfers to the port. Staff are all lovely and so friendly and they love kids!! If Vomo could manage it I think a separate Childrens pool would be a great idea, they certainly have enough room on the island. Another tip which doesnt just pertain to Vomo but to other Fiji islands is pack some water shoes for adults and children there is broken coral and rocks in the water so they make walking in the water so much easier! Snorkellling at Vomo is great, as is the scuba diving! Glass bottom kayaks are awesome and the kids were able to do it themselves! Fishing trips were great with what seems to be a repeatedly successful area to get great sized Spanish Mackerel and Trevally among many others I'm sure. Walking around is lovely and even during peak seasons you never feel like there are too many people! It's a truly beautiful island, don't hesitate to go!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mumi-Goez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicolaAlpe, Marketing Manager at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Bula and thanks for your great review of your recent holiday with us! It's wonderful to read you and your extended family had such a good time with us, it sounds as if it was action packed with just the right amount of relaxation. Your tip on the water shoes is a good one as the walk around the island is very nice and these are the best footwear to use. We are pleased that you enjoyed the Hillside Villas. Many people find the tranquility of the setting very relaxing and as there is no shortage of beach on Vomo they are a lovely accommodation option.
Vinaka and we hope to welcome you back to Vomo in the future. Vx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

This is a really great island to visit for a week. We had been travelling for three months and this was a bit of luxury at the end of our trip - we were not disappointed. We particularly enjoyed the laundry service! The staff make you feel very welcome and are exceptionally helpful. The accommodation is of a high standard and the food is varied and well presented. Snorkelling from the beach and from the boat was a real highlight for us.

Room Tip: Choose a beachfront villa.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SKG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicolaAlpe, Marketing Manager at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Bula! A big thank you for your review of your time with us on Vomo. Reading your review it sounds as if you had an energetic time with us with a bit of rest and relaxation added in! We sincerely apologise about the pace of the coffee service and it is a part of our business which we are looking to improve early this year. We will pass on your comments to our activities team too as they will be happy to hear you had such a wonderful time with them.
We hope to welcome you back to Vomo again in the future. Vx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Our family just spent two weeks at Vomo over the holidays. We had a terrific time at this resort. We are very active, and enjoyed the beauty of the island. The guys at the activities “hut” are fantastic. Very helpful. They’ll assist you with kayaking (really, really enjoyed that!), snorkeling, teach you how to make a palm basket or hat, make a lei, crack open a coconut, slice a papaya that you pick from the tree, tell you island folkloric stories, and teach you about their turtle reserve. We liked connecting with the nature of this simple, beautiful, tropical place. The island and the staff are very laid back. The food is very, very good. Small portions (which we liked) of very healthy, fresh food. (A big meal in the heat and sun is really unappetizing I think; but a lovely fresh healthy meal made us feel great) They denote gluten free, vegetarian and other dietary needs on the menu --which it nice for us. There were several occasions when they offered all you can eat beautiful food displays in the evening. Great freshly caught fish, other meats, plenty of salads and fantastic desserts.

The hotel employees and all Fiji people love tourists and go out of their way to help you. Every guest is welcomed and sent away (on departure of island) with the staff singing you a welcome song! One day I lost my flip flops on the beach and the staff picked me up a new pair on the mainland the next day! Coffee service in the morning is slow, sometimes 45 minutes! But we learned to slow ourselves down mentally because what else did we have to do other than plan our day’s snorkeling trip and whether it was high or low tide. We lead a very hectic lifestyle ordinarily, and this island resort helped us relax. P.s. there is a French coffee press set up in the room if you really need immediate coffee!

The Christmas celebration was lovely. Great buffet/BBQ of all varieties of food and very festive. Loved the Christmas message made of flowers on our bed and the cookies on the table. We really liked the laundry service, that is no charge—great amenity. My only complaint, which is not the hotel’s fault—just a seasonal thing I guess, was the mosquitos. We had hundreds of bites. The staff provides free spray, bed nets, plug in repellents, but we still got eaten up. So, I would mention this so that you bring your favorite sprays or remedies, and plenty of it. I heard the islanders use lemon oil?

I would agree with most of what is said in the recent reviews. Most of it is accurate. There were a lot of children, but really, I never noticed them much and the staff really looks after them happily. In a way it makes the place more joyful. There was rarely anyone on the beach, and at times we felt we were the only ones there. Loved the hammocks hanging around and the tennis court. The beachfront (and it is really literally, on the beach) bungalow is rather rudimentary. Nothing fancy here, but again, we did not expect that. The beauty of the island gets the 5 stars and it is what we enjoyed. My husband enjoyed multiple 2-hour massages at the spa for a very reasonable price. But, again, this is not a big, fancy Hawaiian resort with amenities like Las Vegas. It is simple. So, bring lots of books, your laptop with a bunch of movies downloaded, whatever medical supplies you need (very remote area…. no clinic anywhere that I am aware of) a few bathing suits, good hiking shoes and a hat. That’s all you need here. (Wireless Internet slow and “spotty”—but, remember, this is a very remote place, not New York City) The photo you see on the Vomo website IS exactly how it looks. The water is super warm and clear. The activity guys will tell you about the dos/don’ts in the sea. If you want a big, fancy hotel with lots of planned activities, reservations for dinner, long lines, fancy spa, huge gym, this is not it. But if you want beauty, calm, good food and a simple vacation, this is it.

Room Tip: Discuss clearly up front what you are looking for...we loved our beach front bungalow with adjoining...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sk8ldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We really loved our holiday on Vomo but I don't feel it's worth the price they charge. It is a totally beautiful island with probably the best snorkeling we've experienced from our many holidays in Fiji but we were expecting a lot more. The service was very ordinary. Waiting more than 20 mins for a coffee in the morning is not appropriate when you're charging $900/night. This sort of wait was not a one-off, it happened daily, morning, noon & night. We get the whole 'Fiji time', this was the 8th resort/hotel we've stayed in Fiji but when you market the resort as 5 star and luxury & charge accordingly, you expect more. I also didn't find the restaurant food to be all that I'd read about. My husband often left the restaurant hungry as meals were fancy & very small. Overall, we loved our holiday & would really love to return but only if it was slightly less expensive.

Room Tip: The sunset bar is AMAZING!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bride1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicolaAlpe, Marketing Manager at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Bula and thank you for posting your review of your recent holiday with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed The Rocks Bar and you had such a good time snorkelling. We sincerely apologise for the slow coffee service and we'd like to assure you that it is something we are improving right away. Although our meals are small guests can order as many courses as they wish so please keep that in mind if you are looking to return to Fiji and are considering Vomo.
All the best Vx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vomo Island
34.3 km away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
736 reviews
33.5 km away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
736 reviews
31.0 km away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 km away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,444 reviews
30.5 km away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
886 reviews
21.3 km away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vomo Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vomo Island Resort

Address: 26 Nasoki Street | Lautoka, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Vomo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Vomo Island
Price Range: $990 - $1,686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vomo Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst endless warm turquoise waters, bountiful coral reefs and fringed with sand so soft and pure is Vomo Island, easily the most beautiful of all Fijian Islands. Privately-owned and occupied solely by Vomo Island Resort, guests enjoy world-class cuisine, professional 5-star service, sophisticated Villas and a full range of activities including magnificent snorkeling. Vomo Lailai, Vomo's tiny private island, sits 1km to the west of Vomo and offers guests an afternoon of extremely indulgent privacy and isolation with Gourmet Champagne picnics delivered to you. Vomo offers luxurious Beachfront, Hillside and Garden View Villas for two plus the three-bedroom private residence, The Royal, and the four-bedroom private residence, The Residence, ideal for larger parties or if you crave complete privacy. A full range of non-motorised water sports are offered alongside 9-hole chip and putt golf, a fully staffed day spa and floodlit tennis. The Vomo Turtle Protection Programme raises and releases Hawksbill Turtles born on the island and Vomo is surrounded by a marine protection zone which guarantees magnificent snorkeling. Vomo welcomes couples and families of all ages. Supervised care for children is provided by The Turtle Club. Rates include all meals in the restaurant, non-motorised water sports including snorkeling, golf and tennis, welcome gift and daily laundry service. Vomo is truly the hidden jewel of the Fijian Islands and offers a unique and personal experience to all who choose to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Wotif.com, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vomo Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vomo Island Hotel Vomo Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing