We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveller rating
337
38
7
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
337
38
7
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews communal dining sand cay other guests fish sea lice lovo night daily trips morning trip daily volleyball morning boat lounge chairs ocean breeze kava ceremony there is no air conditioning new zealand our honeymoon piece of paradise
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 386 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2016

If you want a real escape & don't need to be entertained, this is the place. This is a very small, intimate island getaway that caters to the few guests (only 6 when we arrived) that stay in one of the 10 bures. The staff are beyond excellent, the food is amazing and the tranquility the best. No tv, air conditioning, wifi (that works), just peace and relaxation. Daily outings are available for snorkeling, fishing and island visits. Paddle boards, hobicat, kayaks are also provided. All meals are communal and offer a great social time with other guests. This island is easy to get to and the resort provides transport from the airport to the marina where a short 35min ride gets you to the island. We would return in a heartbeat!!!

Room tip: One side of the island has a better breeze than the other.
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Darlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016

We scheduled to stay for 9 nights. We went mainly for what was described as excellent snorkelling. It was very poor. It was very hot, with no a/c and no fan in the room. We had 2 fish meals - actually one seafood and one fish - in the first two days. Both were frozen, not fresh. In the middle of the pacific? After 2 nights we arranged to change our flights at great expense and go to New Zealand. A sad and expensive mistake

Room tip: Go somewhere else
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank paulandgilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaviniIsl, Owner at Navini Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2016

Hello paulandgilli

We are sorry that Navini did not meet your expectations.

Navini’s reef sanctuary includes an incredible amount of fish and other sea life. Furthermore, as many of our guests are avid snorkelers, our complimentary morning trips often visit other reefs as well.

January, when you stayed with us, is typically the warmest month of the year. However, all our bures face the sea and they all have ceiling fans, as well as large louver windows.

Fish are freshly caught by our staff. When the fishing is good, some are swiftly frozen for use when the catch is low.

During your stay you mentioned that everything on Navini was “as advertised", but that it was just not for you. However, a large number of our guests return again and again, often with friends and family, which suggests that it is a great destination for many people.

We hope that your New Zealand stay was more to your liking.

Vinaka
Simone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2016

Navini Island was the perfect location for us. We went for 8 days from the 27th of March. We wanted to find somewhere in the Pacific Islands where we could take our daughter, husband and two children ( 8 and 10 years old) who live in New Zealand where they could snorkel with and see corals and the beautiful fish that reside on the reefs, and if lucky even see a turtle, a sting ray or a shark. All of these dreams were met while at Navini. Each day we were taken to different reefs ( at no extra charge ) where we saw a variety of fish and corals and when combined with the house reef at Navini itself we were able to see more fish than we will ever remember.
We also saw dolphins and big wave surfers on another trip
I have attached some photos of the fish/ turtles/sharks we saw which will be a memory for life for all of us
On top of this Navini is a real family resort. There are no swimming pools or gyms or televisions in rooms , but once you realise this is your island Paradise to share with only a handful of people then who needs all these complications. All the staff are lovely and totally focussed on you having a great time. The food is great with choices at all meals to suit all tastes. There are paddle boards to use and a small shop to provide any basics you may have forgotten !! We even had fresh coconut from one of the many trees on the island after a fit member of staff climbed up the tree for us which both girls loved. You can stay in pristine hotels anywhere in the world, but to find a tropical island like Navini is a Dream Come True !!

Date of stay: April 2016
2  Thank PaulW888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016

I have been to Navini 3 times. Love this place. The staff is so friendly. Everyone addresses you by first name. Bures are clean, quiet, comfortable and right on the beach. A few steps out the door and you find white sand and great snorkeling. There is no A/C but we didn't find it necessary as ocean breeze was perfect. Not a huge resort with a pool but we didn't want that. If you want quiet this is the perfect place.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lovetotravel-SueR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2016

My husband and I spent eight days at Navini Island Resort for our honeymoon and absolutely loved everything about it. There is so much I can say about this magical place, but sometimes it's best to keep it simple. So, here's who this destination is ideal for -
If you want:

Perfect beach and crystal water
Beautiful snorkeling steps from your bure
Privacy
A relaxed environment
The ability to do something every day (different day trips that the staff does, at no cost to you!) or the ability to do nothing more than sit on the beach or in your hammock
Delicious food
The friendliest and most amazing staff and owner
A great mix of different people, some who you'll end up being very close with by the end
And the feeling of being completely and fully relaxed....Navini is for you.

I'll tell you what ultimately led us to deciding on Fiji, then Navini for our honeymoon.

We're from the US, living in Alaska. We love traveling, and considered Hawaii (Kauai). But, Kauai is an easy flight from our location. I wanted a little more adventure, and ultimately I wanted to leave the country. My husband's career keeps him having to deal with his phone a lot, and we have some family members who (though well meaning) find it impossible to understand what an ignored phone call or ignored text means, and continue trying to talk with us. Being out of the country was a great way to ensure total separate from all that for us. I also wanted to use my passport. Something about an international flight and having to bring your passport always just creates a sense of adventure that I really enjoy.

Fiji is far away, foreign, and something totally new. We wanted more of that vs Mexico or South America. We have a lot of friends who travel that way, and just wanted to do something totally unique for our honeymoon.

When we travel, we'll do everything that there is to do. We just don't stop. I make itineraries to make sure we get in what we most want, and we really enjoy traveling that way, but it's usually more adventure and less relaxation. Navini created an environment that made it impossible for us to over do it. The fact that all we had to worry about was if we wanted to go on the half day excursion, or stay back and nap on the beach was exactly what we needed for our honeymoon. Also, I was so impressed with the fact that we had about 5 kids on the island and they were all fun and well behaved and didn't make it feel like we were on a family holiday. We both like kids, but even if someone didn't like kids they wouldn't feel put out at all about this not being an adults only place. There's enough to do, enough privacy and separation, that no one would have felt bothered. We really enjoyed chatting over meals with a British family with three of the most entertaining children I've ever met.

Well, I meant to keep this short! You can't go wrong by choosing Navini.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JamiChristine05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews