We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not safe for woman traveling alone- Ratu Kini's Backpackers and Dive Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ratu Kini's Backpackers and Dive Resort
Reviewed 3 November 2017

Arrived in July and booked a room for a week. All went well until near the end of my trip. Very late at night, I heard grunting noises, and a male breathing hard near my bedroom window. I was terrified. I was located in a bungalow, at the far edge of the resort where no other rooms were occupied. Since I was alone, I felt terrified of the security staff (a heavy-set male, security guard, about age 50 who earlier escorted me to my room with a disturbing hug around my hips). Early than planned, and terrified, I found a boat away from RatuKini.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank RossReef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tui K, General Manager at Ratu Kini's Backpackers and Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Hi , We are looking into this incident. Its October now, and the quicker we got this message, the better we can solve the matter.

thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2017

Arrived on the 2nd of October to Mana Island to stay at Ratu Kini backpackers and dive resort. We booked a beach front room which was not what we were given. When I requested a beach front room - like I had booked and paid for- I was told I had not paid enough money for a beach front room and they were all occupied anyway. Ratu Kini staff told me to call my booking agent (which was hotels.com). Hotels.com spoke to Ratu Kini and stated I had paid for a beach front room. The staff basically said it's bad luck. We were moved to a different room the next day, which was still not a beach front room. There was no fridge or coffee making facilities. We couldn't move into the new room until around 1pm. We booked an 8.30am snorkelling trip. At 8.35am we were told no you are going at 10 am. Please be mindful when you stay here you may not get what you book!
Very, very disappointed.

Room Tip: Make sure you get A/C not all rooms have it some don't have a fridge ask !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hardz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed there for 3 days and went diving in 4 beautiful dive spots (sharks, turtles , etc) . Team was really nice and available , food was excellent ! Would totally recommend the place !
Books and games are available for customers

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Romy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Really friendly, professional dive outfit with knowledgeable staff who don't cut corners on Safety.

Thoroughly enjoyed diving with them on the shark dive and the lobster cave.

Had some great weather. Cold beer. Friendly relaxed locals and some fun fishing

Happy travels guys!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tui K, General Manager at Ratu Kini's Backpackers and Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you Scott, much appreciated. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful views and location right on one of the most beautiful beaches have ever seen. This is Fiji at its simplest and best.
Staff were all very friendly and helpful.
Rooms were comfortable, and had air-conditioning.
Lots of cheap activities provided by the hostel too (snorkelling, stand up paddle board, kayak, fishing, scuba diving etc.)
The free breakfast included was quite basic (cereal or toast) and the food wasnt very cheap (but is the only option).

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tui K, General Manager at Ratu Kini's Backpackers and Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Hi Christian, Thank you for your review, very much appreciated. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mana Island
21.2 km away
Bounty Island Resort
Bounty Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Bounty Island
467 reviews
0.5 km away
Mana Island Resort
Mana Island Resort
#2 of 2 in Mana Island
1,652 reviews
35.4 km away
Bamboo Hostel
Bamboo Hostel
#1 of 28 in Nadi
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 km away
Beachcomber Island Resort
Beachcomber Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Beachcomber Island
584 reviews
10.6 km away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
6.8 km away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratu Kini's Backpackers and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratu Kini's Backpackers and Dive Resort

Address: Mana Island | PO Box 2845 Nadi, 00000, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Mana Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Mana Island
Price Range: $30 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ratu Kini's Backpackers and Dive Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mana Island is close to Nadi, offers fantastic reef diving, clean and well serviced accommodation, local tropical foods in our Award winning Bar and Restaurant, outrageous beach parties, friendly, uniformed and educated staff and sunsets to die for!We operate a fully equipped PADI Dive Resort (R-36364) managed by a Course Director. We dive the Supermarket, Gotham City, Plantation Pinnacle, Namotu Passage and other world famous dive sites, which are just minutes away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Ratu Kini's Backpackers and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratu Kini`s Backpackers And Dive Hotel Mana Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing