We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Priceline
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,045)
Filter reviews
2,045 results
Traveller rating
691
772
304
156
122
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
691
772
304
156
122
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plantation island garden bure coral restaurant kids club musket cove family holiday meal plan fish cash card three star breakfast and dinner kids pool coral coast water activities young kids sand bank clear water
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 2,045 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2019

Our family of four (two five year olds) stayed at Plantation Island Resort for 9 nights, June/July 2019.
As other reviewers have said, this is a 3 star resort, in a 5 star location. Make sure you have realistic expectations to avoid disappointment.
We stayed most of our trip in an ocean front bure which was wonderful. 3m from our front porch to the beach. Lovey view out the front doors. Our kids spent hours pottering on the beach. It was very calm during our stay, and the water stays shallow for quite a distance so we had no issues with our children swimming independently with their life jackets on whilst we sat on the beach. It was lovely and quiet, well away from the hustle and bustle of the resort.
The water was warm, we had no issues with sea lice. There were a few snorkelling spots that were OK, and lots of lovely tropical fish that you can see around the wharf. Snorkelling gear can be borrowed from the resort for the day for free. Stand up paddle boards and kayaks can also be borrowed for free for 30 minutes. Life jackets available, but these went pretty fast when the water park was open. The kids really enjoyed going on the water park. It can only open when the tide is high, so is open for limited hours each day.
We didn’t spend a lot of time in the pools but they were also fine. The kids pool has a good water slide. They were working on the Oasis pool when we were there, should be open by now.
The room itself was tired, but clean and perfectly serviceable. The only issue we had was the water ran out a couple of times (resort wide, not just our room) but was fixed reasonably quickly.
On day 7 we had to move to a poolside room as we hadn’t been able to book the ocean front bure for the whole 9 days. We were very reluctant to move, and asked reception a couple of days in advance if there was any chance we could stay where we were. We were told no.
We vacated our bure the Friday morning, and moved to our poolside room. We knew it was going to be a step down from our bure. The poolside bures look out over the main pool (the other oasis pool was closed while we were there) and are quite noisy. Again the room was a little tired, but met our needs, except for the toilet having difficulty flushing a few times. I think we would have enjoyed it there more if we hadn’t just been spoiled by the ocean front bure.
We discovered we had left something in our ocean front bure Friday evening so went to reception to ask if we could go back and look for it. They told us that the bure had no guests in it. We walked by the bure again Sunday morning and it was still empty. Not sure what happened there but very disappointed as we could have stayed there instead of moving to the poolside room. We would have happily paid more to do so. Shame the resort didn’t try to upsell us, or even let us do so when we asked to.
The main building of the resort, where the Ol Copra restaurant is, badly needs a new roof. The current one is sagging in the middle, and covered in tarps to stop the rain. This is similar to the rest of the facilities - just a little bit in need of some TLC. The new part of the resort that they are building currently looks beautiful and is almost complete (a new reception, restaurant, pool, and rooms).
We got a letter at check in saying that the resort had some gastro in the week previous. We were fortunate to avoid this, and didn’t see anyone else who was ill but appreciated the warning. There was alcogel at many spots in the main restaurant.
Our kids enjoyed the kids club and went to a session most days. The sessions are free, you pay extra for some activities e.g. $20 to make a tie dye T shirt, $5 to make a bookmark. You don’t need to book in, you just turn up.
There are 2 washing machines, and 4 driers. You purchase tokens from reception. It is $5 FJD to wash a load, another $5 FJD to dry a load. You also need to purchase washing powder; we took some from home with us. When it was raining, I paid to dry a load, but otherwise we just hung our clothes out at our room and they dried OK. There are clotheslines around the verandas of each room, but we also took cord with us to make another, and some pegs and they were very useful.
Definitely take insect repellent, not too much of an issue but my daughter and I were bitten a few times each day, despite using repellent.
Food – this is the main let down of the resort, but we were prepared for this. We opted not to do the meal plans, and saved a great deal of money. If the food was very good quality, we wouldn’t have minded paying the money, but it’s not quite up there. We did do one of each meal at the Ol Copra restaurant (the main buffet restaurant) just to check. The food was only OK, and it was a chaotic atmosphere. If you aren’t on a meal plan the buffet breakfast is $43 FJD per adult, and the dinner is $58 FJD per adult (kids under 12 eat free).
We mostly did our own breakfast and lunches, and went out for dinner. We took a lot of our own food – cereals, crackers, muesli bars, chips, tinned fruit, tinned tuna etc. etc. and a small chopping board, sharp knife, tin opener, cutlery, plastic plates and cups. We bought our fresh stuff at a supermarket in Denarau, but the Traders Store at Musket Cove has just as good a selection and reasonable prices too, so probably wouldn’t bother with the supermarket in Denarau again. We took dishwash liquid and a tea towel and just washed our dishes in the bathroom sink when we needed to. We also took a toaster! Very, very handy. We left if with another family that had just arrived when we left.
We had pizzas from the snack bar a couple of times and these were nice, around $32 FJD for a large pizza that fed two adults. The kids loved the $1.50 FJD ice cream cones at the beach, they had at least one a day. Nice banana smoothies available from the Cocohut for $6.90 FJD.
The best food that we found was round at Musket Cove, Traders Café. This is about a 15-minute walk (depending on how tired your children are!) from the edge of Plantation Island resort. We had Bula bikes for the week, and these cut the walk down considerably. Traders Café has a lovely menu, the food was fantastic, and the prices were slightly cheaper than eating at the buffet at Plantation. Also a lovely, quiet outlook over the marina. You can also get takeaway and walk down the wharf to the yacht club island, which is basically a bar on a wee island, has great comfy spots to sit, and is lit up at night. You can get BBQ packs from the Trader’s Café, these include all you need to do the BBQ, and you cook them on the island. You need to pre-order these. The other handy dinner option here is to get a half a rotisserie chicken from the café, some bread rolls at the Traders’ store, and do your own picnic.
The Traders store at Musket Cove is very good, much cheaper than the mini mart at Plantation Island. Things that don’t need to be imported are reasonably cheap e.g. a loaf of bread $2.75 FJD, Pineapple $3.30/kg, Bananas $3.50/kg, UHT milk about $4/L. Other items are very expensive, particularly cheese ($35/kg).

We didn’t bother with a cash card for Plantation, you just charge stuff to your room, and pay at the end. Make sure you keep track and check your bill at the end. We had no issues with ours.
A good holiday – nice beach, friendly staff. We’d highly recommend an ocean front bure, and eating at Traders Café.

Room tip: Go for an ocean front bure
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank KendylC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 July 2019

We had a family get-together there with 16 people of 3 generations ranging from (nearly) 2 to 69yrs of age. The children had a ball. The staff and the program were very child-friendly and understanding. The activities generally and the Kids club program proved very popular. Our family are water babies so the beach and water park got well used. They made lots of new friends too. The "big kids" enjoyed themselves too doing everything from lazing on the beach to snorkeling, to golf, to outings, to kayaking and parasailing. And everybody ate too much!

Date of stay: July 2019
2  Thank Noel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 July 2019

This is a great resort for family fun as well as a relaxing holiday everything is there! Not as flash as the 5 star resorts but you dont notice as the resort is right on the sand and water, & youl be too busy having fun with kids (:
cant wait to return!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank gabrielleb675
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 July 2019

We were very nervous going after reading all of the reviews about gastro. We had a toddler and a newborn baby and I was very concerned about them getting gastro.
We arrived well equipped and literally scrubbed the entire room with glen 20, antibacterial wipes, Milton etc. I sterilised all of the cups, mugs etc and we constantly washed our hands and used antibacterial wipes.
We decided not to eat in the buffet because of illness and only drank bottled water.
This made the holiday a bit stressful and took the fun out in some ways but we didn’t want to risk getting sick.
Lots of people who we met and we chatted with had people in their group who had gastro so it is definitely still an issue at the end of June.
Black Coral was a fantastic restaurant to eat at in Plantation but was booked out for our first few nights. We also ate at the adults only restaurant at Lomani hotel next door and had an incredible massage there too.
We found babysitters were always 15 minutes late and one night when we got back from dinner the Babysitter didn’t open the door. We banged and shouted for 5 minutes getting very stressed until I sprinted to reception thinking the worst! Reception phoned the room and the babysitter was in a deep sleep on the couch. She was meant to be minding my newborn baby and toddler. We cancelled the following night’s babysitter and took the kids with us to dinner.

The biggest positive was the beautiful beaches. The actual island is pure paradise in terms of the beach, water and palm trees.

I wouldn’t return due to the gastro bug that has been going for 2 months, poor food and service. For the price you pay, it just isn’t worth it!

We had 5 nights after Plantation at Malolo Island Resort and it was absolutely incredible! Food & service was brilliant!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank jessica_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIR-management, Director of Sales at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2019

Bula jessica_aus,

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay at Plantation Island Resort.

It is great to hear that due to taking precautions you did not get sick with gastro during your stay. We provided recommendations to all our guests during this period to take necessary steps to avoid the spread of sickness.

We cannot apologise enough for the obviously poor care from the babysitter during your stay, there is no excuse whatsoever. I hope you complained to the management team whilst you were at the Resort.

We are sorry that we have let you down in certain areas during your holiday. We hope that you will give us another chance and return again.

Warm Regards,

Akshay Singh
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2019

This resort would be a good deal for families with 2 children who eat free but not so great for families with teenagers! Food is expensive with a lack of choice, only option is a buffet breakfast which is overpriced for teenagers. We hired the Bula bikes which were great for getting around as we had family staying at the other end of the resort but again expensive. We biked to Musket Cove to eat where the food is reasonably priced with lots more options - great pancakes for breakfast!They also have a mini mart where you can buy bread, fruit etc! I would definitely recommend taking a toaster, plate knife etc and make your own.Take lots of snacks if you have hungry kids!! The Black Coral restaurant did have great evening meals and staff were friendly.
It was great you could refill your water bottles for free with drinking water as we has spent a small fortune on fresh water at a previous resort.
Might need to purchase some more towels though as the last two days we received no towels even after requesting them!
Definitely recommend the reef snorkeling kids loved it!!
We stayed in a one bedroom garden bure prob not the best choice with 5 people once I seen the two bedroom option which looked great I would have upgraded but the place was full so wasn't an option. Our room was right outside the pool but unfortunately it was being upgraded so was out of action, the builders were polite and apologetic of the noise though!
Beautiful beach, the water was lovely!
Pure Fuji products were a great price here!
Overall not a cheap holiday and could really do with a bit of a clean up and makeover!!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Nadine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews