We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Place to Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plantation Island Resort
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome Place to Holiday”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We (2 adults & 2 eleven year olds) stayed 7 nights in March 2012. The weather was stunning. It was our first time to Fiji, so we were a little bit nervous anyway but even more so due to the mixed reveiws this resort receives. However, I am very pleased to advise that this resort is great. Being almost an hours boat ride from the mainland, you definately get the feeling that you're on a secluded island in the pacific, however, there are plenty of land and water activities to do (or not do) to keep you entertained.

We stayed in a Garden Bure (322) that was comfortable, easily fit the four of us, clean and serviced daily. We were located just 20ish metres from the beach. The air-con in the bure was fantastic - very refreshing. There are no tv's so you might like to take a portable dvd player. We did but only used it once.

The food was mixed. The kids had the buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner and they seemed to enjoy it. My husband and I selected from the menu for each meal and found the food to be some good and some not so good. The nicest meal I had was at the Ananda's Restaurant located at the end of the resort. The Chicken South Pacific was delicious!!

The staff were all friendly, very accommodating and always greating you with a big "Bula" (hello in Fijian). From 7pm onwards the staff keep you entertained. The kids club we used a couple of times but is more suited to younger children.

Take with you: pegs, washing powder, insect repellent and fly spray, loads of sunscreen and a small first aid kit with antiseptic cream for cuts and scapes.

We did not want to leave and cannot wait to return. Proof that Plantation Island Resort is a great place to visit. Thank you Plantation Island Resort.

Room Tip: The garden bures were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Kirsty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    642
    258
    131
    95
See reviews for
1,152
217
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We travelled as a young couple early Feb for 5 nights for the second time and had the time of our lives, the only disappointing thing was the constant rain for the first 3 days so we couldn't enjoy dining out on the beach for dinner, I think next time we will book later in the year. Some parts of the island are a little bit run down but you don't notice it after the first night! There is soo much that you can do on the island from snorkelling trips, island hopping to visit the surrounding islands and boat rides for the kids. My favourite part of the holiday was visiting Shell Village and seeing their way of life, the school is gorgeous and so are the women selling their jewellery, I tried to go back other times to give the children gifts but the weather didn't allow it - most trips out are very weather permitting. I found this to be the hard part as the staff in the boat shed often said come back the next day which was hard when trying to organise what to do each day but we never ran out of ideas! The cash card system is very easy to use - just take cash to the office and they load it onto the card for you. The boat trip over was very bumpy as we were travelling through cyclone Jasmine, almost everyone was sick but a fun experience! The staff are all lovely and offer a warm 'Bula' whenever you see them :) We took the half meal plan which came with breakfast which was fantastic and the themed buffet dinners which were the best. The bread rolls before dinner were always a treat! The themed nights are a lot of fun such as Mr.Plantation, bingo and crab racing! The cocktails are very good too. We were given a free room upgrade as the hotel was closed due to the cyclone - we stayed in a pool-side room which was fantastic but quite far away from the main areas of the resort bit still great and was cleaned everyday. One tip is to take mozzie spray and pegs :) Overall it was a fantastic holiday and cannot wait to return again - a few tears were shed on departure!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jenna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My partner and I stayed at Plantation Island Resort 3-10 March 2012 with a group of friends. We were booked into a beachfront hotel room (which we had stayed in 3 years previously) but were upgraded to a beachfront bure as the hotel rooms were being refurbished. The beachfront bure was great for a couple and a bit more spacious and private than a hotel room, it was a few steps from the beach and there were hammocks between the trees outside.

Generally I found the resort was tired and in need of a bit of an upgrade.

The resort is "cash-less" so you must buy a cash card to use or charge back to your room.

It was particularly hot and humid at this time of year and we found the only retreat from the heat was to keep dipping in the swimming pool or the sea (swimming pool was cooler) or going to our bure and closing all the shutters (which made it quite dark) and putting the airconditioning on. There are no communal airconditioned areas at the resort. There were a lot of flies around during the day (especially when dining) and sandflies and mosquitos at night.

The meals at the main restaurant were not of a good quality, just produced for the masses I think. It worried me that the buffets were left out for several hours in the heat (the restaurant is not air-conditioned). We also ate at the snack bar and I noticed that the meat patties used in our burgers were not refrigerated. We ate a couple of times at the Ananda Restaurant which was a bit better and only a 5 minute walk away, meals could be charged back to your room.

There are plenty of activities for all ages to partake in on the island and we enjoyed the golf tournament, island hopping, massage, and evening entertainment each night. The island is quite large compared to others we have visited so you can go for lengthy walks if you wish and there are two other resorts on the island you can visit.

We found the staff most friendly and attentive and after a day or so they remembered our names. Most of the staff we spoke to had been there for over 5 years.

Tips: I would not recommend going at this time of year purely because it is particularly hot and humid and we experienced "cyclone like" conditions one day. We have visited in the winter previoulsy and it was perfect weather. Ask for a room away from the lounge if you want a quiet room at night as the disco goes until about 1am. Take aeroguard spray. Eat at different restaurants, not just the main restaurant.

Fantastic for a family holiday, not so much for couples.

Room Tip: Bures past the jetty are quieter, have snorkelling right outside and a beautiful sunset - it is a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank globetrotters005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Coast Nsw
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This was my first trip to Fiji and i will defiantly go back! Took awhile to actually get to the island so i didn’t arrival til 630pm after getting a 830am flight from Sydney when you get there they greet you singing a bula welcome song give you shell necklaces bottled water explain how you don’t carry cash you either charge everything to the room or get a cash card. i personally thought room charging was easier
Room -
We had booked for 10nights stay in a “hotel " room but being low season upon arrival was upgraded to a garden poolside bure , this was located a bit of a walk away from the main areas and such but walking out your door and having the pool there was great ! The room are nothing fantastic they just have your bed [our double was actually two king singles pushed together so was huge!] Bedside tables buffet bench with tea and coffee and a bathroom/ toilet not spending a lot of time at your room tho so this isn’t a issue. The rooms get made up everyday but being in “Fiji time “sometimes our room wouldn’t get made til 4pm.

Food -
I only had breakfast meal plan which was a American buffet and was amazing! Every morning i would get out of bed keen for breakfast viewing over the water, the breakfast lady was so friendly and would rush over and greet us and have a chat without fail every morning. I would not recommend pre booking all your meal plans as there is a few different places to eat on the island [ other couples we had met who had done this said they wish they didn’t prebook there dinners ] There is themed nights for dinner so there’s always the set menu plus theme. If you get sick of that you can always walk over to anandas [cats seem to hang round there] musket cover or book the flame tree [16+ adult only]

Activities -
Being 21 i spent most days sunbaking and drinking cocktails. Drinks were so nicely made {$18.50 fdj for a cocktail} Everyday on a activities board there’s things to do but we found it was always just us and another couple people but that was fine. There is little day trips you can do, we wanted to go island hoping but being 2 of us and needing minimum 6ppl you have to put your name down and just go over every morning and ask if the boats coming that day it took us 5 days to actually get to do this and upon the boat discussing it turned out everyone had been waiting days [there was about 16 people] so if you want to do any trips your better off putting your name down asap.

Shops -
There’s is a few little shops one is a wooden shop. i was a bit concerned about getting through customs back at Sydney but they give you a " treated wood " docket so go nuts and buy what you like in there without concern. Also a little souvenir shop you can but toiletries items and such in there. There’s a small supermarket with snack food such as noodles potato chips biscuits ect. Soft drink, tea, spreads just your small daily things. You can buy alcohol to take back to your room from the little shop near the jetty and snack bar

Over all -
Everyone is so friendly and says " bula " every time you walk past them it got to the stage were i was greeting them before they were greeting me ha-ha ! its a very family place so be aware alot of children but having the kids clubs and such kids don’t actually eat meals with the adults ect . I’m a pretty fast pace person so " Fiji time " drove me a little crazy taking forever to bring drinks and such but you get use to it and its not to bad . But it was a beautiful place so relaxed i had a great time and will defiantly go back!

Room Tip: If your going to drink buy alcohol duty free at fiji airport it will make your trip alot cheaper !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Anna1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We went to Plantation Island in late October, 2011 absolutely loved the Island, loved the variety to be able to eat elswhere not just in the buffet.
The water was like a lagoon and the snorelling trip out to the sandbar each day was worth it.
I did the Dolphine trip Twice, saw many pods of dolphins and saw the best Coral I have ever seen plus plenty of fish.
The Surfing was fantastic, as we used the trip out to the reefs everyday.
Couldn't fault the holiday, we had a garden bure and it was beautiful.
Lets face it you are not going to a 5 star hotel you are staying on an island that is why you are going there to enjoy walking around barefoot on sandy paths.
If you only like 5 star stay in town and walk on concrete.

We went to Mana Island the year before and they lost my baggage so decided to try Plantation Island, we will be back a gain.
Even though there are quite a few kids on the island they are organised well, with a kids club, kids dinner eating times and kids disco, so they didn't bother us at all.

truy loved the holiday and will be back

Room Tip: I love going to Islands and staying in a traditional bure to feel like you are really experiencing s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karmygummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
0.5 km away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
715 reviews
0.8 km away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
740 reviews
8.1 km away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
5.7 km away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
869 reviews
14.6 km away
Mana Island Resort
Mana Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Mana Island
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Island Resort

Property: Plantation Island Resort
Address: Plantation Island | PO Box 9176, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price range (per night): $168 - $948
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the 553 acre island of Malolo Lailai, part of the Mamanuca Group of Islands, Plantation is surrounded by 23 acres of tropical gardens, coconut palms and white sandy beaches that front a beautiful sheltered lagoon. Plantation offers several accommodation options to suit most budgets, and is great value for families, students and fun loving couples. Most of the activities are complimentary including the 'Coconut Kids Club'. Come experience the friendly Fijian hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Plantation Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Plantation Island Malolo Lailai
Island Plantation Resort
Plantation Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing