We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (855)
Filter reviews
855 results
Traveller rating
623
175
35
14
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
623
175
35
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach bar fine dining paddle boarding activities resort fiji
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 855 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2016

We are still on cloud 9 after getting married there last March! It truly was a trip of lifetime for us, we travelled with our 3 kids, aged 1, 9 and 12 at the time of travel. From the moment we stepped off the boat onto the wharf, we were smitten. Everyone who works there was absolutely beautiful, from the cleaners, the maintence crew, the Treehouse staff, our babysitter, the office staff, managers, the kitchen staff, the chefs!!! We have stayed at another island resort 2 years prior, and were not truly impressed with the resort, we swear Malolo hands down is the only place to stay for us! It is pricely, and we got the meal plan which took alot of bother off our hands and we were impressed that we could eat anywhere with it. Treetops is a must, utilise the babysitter service, and my 2 older kids came home with a folder all about Fiji. As for the wedding on the beach, we loved it. It was a sunset ceremony, and the Pastor was wonderful. We used a Fijian photographer service form the mainland whose service and professional shots were perfect. This was all organised with great communication through emails with the wedding coordinator for the islands. I would highly recommend going here for a wedding, we had a very small congregation with a dinner in treetops that night and it was perfect. I was nervous about my dad coming as he is short tempered and very fussy (ex chef) about his food!! He was extremely impressed! We were gobsmacked with his reaction as he has often told people what he thinks of their substandard food and he was practically the 1st one at the treetops doors most nights! The bar food menu was also great too. We are itching to get back to Malolo and we wont bother staying anywhere else. Bravo!!!!

Room tip: stayed near the wharf, easier to get to dining and the pool
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

After a few days at Denarau in the rain we were looking forward to this resort and hoping for better weather. Malolo didn't disappoint on both counts.

We arrived after a leisurely 2 hour ferry ride around the island to a warm Fijian welcome in lovely warm sunshine. We were too early to go straight to our room, but a quick tour of the resort and lunch at the beach bar passed the time.

The bures are spread out along the beach, all just a few steps from the sea. Be aware the sand isn't particularly fine and there is a lot of coral and shells mixed in. Our bure (20) was set in an L shape of four, and probably not the best of what's on offer - we tried to move but the resort was pretty much full and we elected to stay where we were. The rooms are good, spacious and nicely furnished with comfortable beds. The bathroom was also roomy, huge shower space but no tub if that's important. No TV or wifi - great!

There are three restaurants, including the beach bar, the Terrace, and Treetops. One is adults only, I think the Terrace, but we didn't try that...we heard the food was a step up on the others. There is also a pool bar, a small shop and the water sports bure. Non- motorised water sports are free, but jet skis etc. are more expensive than on the mainland. The water is clear, warm and lots to see for snorkelling, but the coral comes right up to the beach, and st low tide its best to get into the water at the end of the jetty.

The kids club is pretty good, but does seem to cater to the younger ones...our nine year olds needed rescuing a couple of times, and preferred messing around in the pool or on the beach.

It's worth striking out on a couple of short walks up onto the ridge behind the hotel - the views over the sea and islands are fabulous. The paths up are steep though, and shoes of some sort are required...worth the effort though.

There are a couple small points to consider. One is that sound proofing between the rooms is non-existent and with a lot of children about early starts were the norm for us due to the noise. There were also loads of mosquitoes and other flying irritants, despite the best efforts of the resort to control them.

Lastly, the staff were magnificent throughout, and really made the stay unforgettable. I've never seen such lovely, genuine people at work and looking after us. It's unfair to pick anyone out as they were all so good. The highlights were the night Fiji won the Olympic gold medal for the 7s, and the evening when they put on cultural event...it was the first time the staff put on the show themselves and they loved it. We were leaving the next day and we called out so they all could file past and say goodbye personally...lovely.

It was our first time to Fiji, and we loved it, and will go back to Malolo...definitely recommended.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
5  Thank ChrisH96
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

FIVE STAR holiday!
Wonderful place and the friendliest people on earth. My children just loved all the staff and my son is still saying "Hi Sai" and "Bye Sai" as Sai looked after him. Didi looked after my daughter and she is asking when we are returning!
The food was sensational and the South African chef went out of his way to get my husband a steak (we are farmers). We ate at Treetops most nights while our kids were entertained at Tree Tops kids club.
Our Bure was behind the activities shed but so close to everything. Kesa cleaned our rooms spotlessly and has the biggest warmest smile I have ever seen.
Sake the batman served us cocktails at happy hour and his infectious manner always had us stay on longer than we should have at the bar! Elena? At the beach bar is so lovely and friendly and you feel like you are a part of one big loving family.
We miss you all - Phillip as well at Tia's treehouse and hope to be back.
A holiday of a lifetime. Vinaka Malolo Island Resort. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank annarQ8420XM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 August 2016

We had a wonderful time at the Malolo Island Resort, with our 3 kids (9,8 and 3 yrs). The staff are so friendly and accommodating and they really make the whole stay so memorable. We were so sad to leave this beautiful resort.
Highlights - the kids club was fantastic, we stayed at the outrigger on the Coral coast last year and that was good but this kids club was amazing - SO many really interesting activities and it was a very authentic Fijian holiday which was lovely. The kids did not want to leave the kids club. Josh, Tila, Tom, Milly and Philip were standouts - Ti Ti too - our daughter had tears in her eyes when she left.
- Food at Treetops was amazing too - really good. I found it much better than the Terrace restaurant and I found the quality and service just so good here.
- Cocktails are yummy too!
Areas for improvement
We arrived when it was raining very heavily so got soaked through getting from the ferry to the jetty on the transfer boat - this can't be helped with understand that the weather is not possible to change :) but we missed having a greeting drink/ any information on the resort etc so we were taken to our bure and then literally left to our own devices. It would have been great to be able to have a warm shower then for someone to say come back in an hour or so when you are warm and dry (as our bags got wet too and a lot of our clothes did too so it is difficult to try things) to have someone take us through some info on the resort etc. Also it would be good to have a drying area or somewhere we can dry clothes - we understand that there is a laundry service. It did rain solidly for the first 3 days but after that it was great weather.
The beach bar is awesome too - yummy food and also such an amazing location.
My son and hubby went out sailing a lot and kayaked across to the island nearby.
We did have an amazing trip and we have already booked again for next year. It is an incredibly special place, with amazing staff and the Sat farewell evening/ meke dancing etc is a very special thing to do. I highly recommend you see it if you can, our kids participated in the kids dancing segment and it was very special.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gillianc611
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 August 2016

This was our first trip to Fiji and Malolo Island Resort came highly recommended from a friend as the perfect family resort. I read all the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor so had high expectations, but our experience even exceeded them. From the moment we stepped off the boat, while being sang to, and my 6yo old daughter was taken by the hand by a welcoming staff member I knew we were going to be taken care of. I could write an essay on how wonderful the staff are but will just echo what all the other reviews have said, they are absolutely wonderful. From the first day they know you by name and you build a true friendship with the people who take pride in making you feel like part of their island family. Our 6yo skipped off to kids club every day and loved making friends with both the fellow kids and the staff, who treated her like a princess. While she was happy we got to laze by the pool, read books in the hammock and eat dinner in peace, between our family snorkelling outings and swims with our older child. We even had afternoon naps! Because the island is so small you never compete for space or service and the whole is totally relaxed. The kids could roam free with their new friends and there was options to either do lots of activities or nothing at all (or a happy combo.) The food was great, particularly in the Treetops adults only restaurant, and having the kids buffet option was fantastic. When it came time to leave I nearly cried saying goodbye to the staff, who now felt like friends. For all these reasons I cannot rate Malolo highly enough, we will absolutely be back. My only critique would be there's not as many supervised activities for older children, with the kids club catering to under 12's but really more ideal for 9 and under. There's a teen lounge with table tennis and a TV but it would be wonderful if there was a supervisor for 10+ aged kids, even just at night, to watch a movie or something so the adults could dine alone. Aside from that, this place was perfection and we will be counting down the months til we can return.

Room tip: Beach front bure
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Ami R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews