We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO MUCH FUN ON BEACHCOMBER FOR NEW YEARS EVE!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beachcomber Island Resort
Reviewed 27 January 2010

I stayed on beachcomber island for 4 nights with a friend over the new years period. We stayed in an ocean view bure which was great! we had our own deck and the bure was so big that we had the choice of 7 beds for the 2 of us and a shower and toilet each.

beachcomber is a party island however it is also easy to have some quiet time, we used the opposite side of the island to the bar etc to do all our laying in the sun and snorkelling (we found Nemo and his dad only 20-30 meters off shore hehe).
There's alot of coral in the sand however your feet soon gets used to it. I loved the fact that the whole island, including the bar, dining area and paths was all sand (the only hard ground was in the bure). They played the same music every day and night...no big deal though, it turned into a funny highlight of our holiday. The bula dance is alot of fun, and the drinks are NOT over priced. I can't get over how some people have said that the drink Are over priced. we bought jugs of beer for $18 fijian which is like only $8 australian or less.. its still a good idea to take your own drink too.

The staff were so friendly, our housekeeper Sala was our favourite staff member.

New years eve was fun, a great way to get to know the other travellers and at midnight there was fireworks and you could see other fireworks going off on the surrounding islands.

We did the island hopping pub crawl which was alot of fun. It was cool to check out the other resorts, i got to say though- beachcomber was the best one.
We also hired canoes for 2 hrs and canoed it over to treasure island. spent an hr in their pool (make sure u go the back way in, like climb the small wall because they may tell you to not use the pool if they know you are from beachcomber) it took 15-20mins to canoe over there.

The food was fine and it wasnt the same thing every day.. they did try and mix it up a lil, (roast on sunday) breakfast was nice. i recommend you go down for the last 1/2 hour of meals otherwise you'll get stuck in a long line up at the start of serving.

All in all we had the best time, so great that we are planning to go back to beachcomber next new years.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlsVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

478 - 482 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2010

This is definately only for your backpackers. Very outdated. Rooms are right on waterfrotn which is nice but very ugly rooms. Great for cheap party-goers. Dorm or twin rooms avaliable.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travel_Agent_16_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2009

After reading some of the reviews on here before our trip we were very apprehensive about what we were getting ourselves into.. HOWEVER, once we got there we were mostly proven wrong (thank god). If you go to the island expecting 5 star accomodation, then DO NOT GO. If you want to experience a beautiful island, with 5 star warmth and friendliness, then this is your island. When we arrived on the island we were greeted with smiles, singing and guitar playing, we were escorted to the reception, and although we waited around 20 mintues to check in we were given an ice cold drink whilst waiting
( try and avoid the ice however, i got really bad stomach pains and the rest after i had drinks with ice). After check in we were taken to our room ( A lodge), we were expecting a dirty, horrible room with a dirty bathroom and dirty bedsheets ( i even brought my own pillow case), but we were very pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the room. The sheets were clean, the shower was clean (only had cold water for 3 out of 4 days of stay- was kind of nice cos it was hot), toilet was clean etc... The only yucky thing was that the toilet water smelt VERY BAD, keep the door closed all the time. We were lucky to have a lodge room on the end, so we had lots of louvres to keep the room cool. Other rooms were veryyyy hot at night when trying to sleep apparently.

The meals were good for the first couple of days ( rice, lots of beautiful fish, curries, BIGGG salads, breadrolls, potato bake, chicken plus desert), however, i got VERY sick of the same-ness of the food and on the last day i only ate breakfast because i felt sick, and was sick for the rest of the day possibly due to eating so much rice ( which is one way to get sick because rice is cooked in water). Breakfast was wierd- too much fish, and the juice was soo watered down it was foul. Try and stick to the pancakes, they are pretty good.

Entertainment is fantastic!! Every night after dinner they have happy hour and then they have entertainment- fire twirling, hula dancing, and we were taught the Bula dance which was heaps of fun. The entertainment was probably the best part of the holiday and the people you meet. My boyfriend and I met lots of people, however we were probably older than a lot of them. It seems the island is popular for people aged in their very late teens and early 20's- im 25 and I felt somewhat old haha.

The Island was very cheap- we only ended up paying $70 Australian each (for extra stuff- food and alcohol) at the end of our stay for 4 nights, alcohol was reasonable priced and you can get jaffles for around $2.50 in between meal times ( however they are not very clean and the rags they use to clean the benches around the jaffle area stink, the jaffles tasted a bit like a wet dishcloth)

The people on the island are sooo friendly, always smiling at you and saying BULA!! i miss saying Bula now im back at home. This is a great island to have fun on, especially if you are with a big group of people, i would recommend it, but don't go with high expectations and you will be pleasantly surprised....

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lida24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2009

We stayed here as we booked our accommodation last minute and there was no other options available at the time. We booked a beach bure as we did not want to be in a backpacker type hostel as it is hardly romantic nor very private.
This was one of the longest weeks in my life. Whilst the island is pretty, it is very small and it just gets extremely boring after a while. The food was bad. Dinner was recycled into breakfast which then became lunch. The food got very boring and we found it difficult to eat after a few days of the same food.
We had insects and bed bugs in our bed and I have never used so much insect repellent ever! We would also spray by the door and in the morning there would be a trail of dead bugs. We found it difficult to sleep because we were paranoid about the bugs. Our happiest day was the day that we left the island.
Drinks were an absolute rip off and we were happy we had purchased some duty free alcohol before we arrived.
This island is great if you just want to party and don't care about being comfortable and like to eat slops each day.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sydneyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

Awesome place to visit. Has a sand bar right on the edge of the beach. More suited to people looking to party while on holiday - no good for anyone wanting to just relax. heaps of activities to do.

Stayed: April 2006
Thank AmandaH13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beachcomber Island
5.9 km away
Bounty Island Resort
Bounty Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Bounty Island
467 reviews
22 km away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
1.1 km away
Treasure Island Resort
Treasure Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Treasure Island
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 km away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
15.4 km away
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
1,757 reviews
16.1 km away
Mana Island Resort
Mana Island Resort
#2 of 2 in Mana Island
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Island Resort

Address: Vuda Rd, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Beachcomber Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Beachcomber Island
Price Range: $24 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachcomber Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s so easy to get here, yet so hard to leave… Experience the magic of Beachcomber Island just once and you’ll want to come back year after glorious year; it does that to people. Come and join us on this “dream island” and share memories that will stay with you forever. Situated on a picturesque marine sanctuary in the heart of the Mamanuca Islands, Beachcomber Island Resort is just 19km from Nadi International, Fiji’s National airport. It’s an island that’s easy to get to yet so very hard to leave! Our resort is unique, spectacular and fun – there’s nowhere else quite like it in Fiji. Beachcomber Island Resort is for both the young and young at heart. If you love a great time in the sun with great company in a casual, relaxed atmosphere, then this is the place for you. Travellers worldwide ensure they come and stay at Beachcomber on their way to New Zealand and Australia, as this is the most sought after destination in the South Pacific. We look forward to welcoming you into our Beachcomber family to share the experience of a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Wotif.com, HostelWorld, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Beachcomber Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Island Hotel Beachcomber Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing