We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Note to self...”

Gulf Shores Steamer
Ranked #26 of 153 Restaurants in Orange Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

First time here. Split the steamed shrimp and crab combo entree. Be prepared to work a bit...served shells on. That said, the crab was sweet and tender and EZ to work with. The small ear of corn was...corn...good. Was NOT expecting nearly prawn sized shrimp seved with heads ON. Not a problem, right? Well, don't know what I was expecting to see when the head was removed...but was NOT prepared for what I got. The dark...slime...covered half the plate. But, once that was cleaned up and the sand vein removal was complete...they were fine, delicate tasting, and delicious ruby reds. Hint: just pinch one segment into the meat end of the shrimp and the 'surprise' is avoided. Then it's just the sand vein thing. The dessert was Key Lime pie and...it...was...outstanding. All is right with the world.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Sherpa672278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 800 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2018 via mobile

We were very disappointed. Everything had stayed in boiling water for a very long time. When we peeled the shrimp, they just fell apart. The waitress asked if we wanted a box for the crab cakes, I told her that we didn’t like them. We love crab cakes. They tasted very processed. Nothing was credited to our bill. The cost was $72 for three people.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Italia4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018

If you want some basic seafood, as we did, this is the place. Steamed shrimp dipped in butter sauce satisfied our craving. One nice touch is that there is an outdoor bar in the middle of the shopping center where you can wait with your hand-held buzzer to go into any of the restaurants there.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank rcole715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

Great meal! If you are walking away from fry food and looking for seafood you cannot miss this place. Steamer is not a fancy restaurant, doesn't matter you are on the beach, however, locals love the place and quality is #1. Get the best seafood around and enjoy!!!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Felipe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

Orded takeout for 10 people! Royal Reds were over-over cooked! So were The potatoes and corn ! All was like it had sit in the boil pot for several days! Will NOT be going back!!!!!!!

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank rlwalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Gulf Shores Steamer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing