We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Sunday Brunch”
Review of Kitchen On George

Kitchen On George
Reserve with OpenTable
Kitchen On George is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 715 Restaurants in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 15 - USD 30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Welcome to Kitchen on George A new restaurant in the heart of Mobile's Historic District. If you enjoy fresh, contemporary American food in a casual atmosphere, Kitchen on George is for you. Our menu features dishes that can be enjoyed tapas style in small plates or bowls, or as traditional entrees. Here, you'll notice fresh, bright and delicious flavors of the region since locally-sourced ingredients, when available, are a priority. We have a great selection of wines and cocktails, too! Enjoy dinner indoors or on our patio. Kitchen on George is located on the corner of George and Savannah Streets in the historic Oakleigh Garden District.
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

We found this place quite by accident, and felt like luck was with us after trying it! They have a pet-friendly patio, and service was exceptional. But the menu and taste were definitely the best part. Culinary students from Virginia College work here, and you can tell the focus is on a quality dining experience. Sunday brunch options were wonderful, and the stuffed French toast was extra delicious. This place is definitely worth finding!

Thank Traveler1959-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KOCmgr, General Manager at Kitchen On George, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Thank you for your kinds words! We hope you will return again when the opportunity allows!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

We were told by the visitor’s center to try this place for lunch. We never would have found it on our own. We had a wonderful late lunch (about 2:15), after driving around the historical area and visiting Olmsted place. The food and service were both excellent.

Thank MSpreitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KOCmgr, General Manager at Kitchen On George, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thank you for your kind review! We hope you will visit again if you are in Mobile!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

From the time we entered the establishment, until we stepped outside, we couldn’t have had a better time. Our waitress was exceptional, she greeted us in a friendly manner and took great care of us. Dealing with a large group of chatty ladies has to be a chore. The food....out of this world!!! Everything came out hot and at the same time. I would recommend this Mobile staple to all and will definitely be back soon!!!!

Thank Betsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KOCmgr, General Manager at Kitchen On George, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Betsy,
Your kind words made our day and chatty ladies are among out favorite guests! Please come back soon and enjoy the food, ambiance and hospitality that Kitchen on George is known for!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018

Recently we dined here for my mother's birthday party. We had 14 in our party. The food was very good and the service was excellent. Great atmosphere in a charming historic neighborhood!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 511ChrisB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KOCmgr, General Manager at Kitchen On George, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Please tell your Mother we wish her many Happy Birthdays to come. Thanks for sharing such a special moment with Kitchen on George.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

Went for my birthday brunch. My husband ordered the Chilaquiles. We've had them in Mexico and these bore no resemblance to the real thing. They were like the nachos you'd get at the multiplex: nacho chips out of a bag, a little cheese sauce & salsa verde and a tiny bit (maybe 2 oz) of pulled chicken. Topped with an egg that was so overcooked, it was literally brown and crispy on the bottom (wish I'd taken a photo) and the edges (he'd ordered it over easy). Sent it back and got a perfectly cooked one but why would a chef let that out of the kitchen, or a server serve it? Then there was my crab cakes benedict. I ordered it with sauce on the side; it came drowning in sauce. Sent it back. The 2nd try came out with eggs almost hard boiled (see pic) and room temp. Decided not to give them a 3rd try so I could at least eat at the same time as my husband.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SFEMobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KOCmgr, General Manager at Kitchen On George, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

SFE Mobile,

We apologize for the poor experience you had recently. Please see our private message to you regarding this review. Thank you for bringing this to our attention so that we can correct and return to the high standards and dining experiences that Kitchen on George is known for.

Travis Bailey,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kitchen On George also viewed

 

Been to Kitchen On George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing