We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away! Not worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Budgetel Inn and Suites Mobile
Ranked #49 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
United States
2 reviews
“Stay away! Not worth the price”
Reviewed 5 June 2009

We stayed one night at this horrible Econo Lodge in Mobile, AL. The hotel staff was hmm...there...but not really. When you walk in the first thing you smell is SMOKE. Then when you open your room it has a stale...smoke smell to it. We stayed in the non-smoking.

The room was dirty. The bathroom was even worse. There was hair and just dirt everywhere.

The "continental" breakfast consisted of warm milk and one type of dry cereal. So basically there are tons of other hotels out there. STAY AWAY!!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoccBaskDanceMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    3
    1
    6
    15
See reviews for
7
4
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Up in Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2008

We knew this was an inexpensive motel, but all we wanted was a comfortable room with internet access, directions to a restaurant, a quick continental breakfast, and maybe a swim.

We got none of it. The room was dirty and noisy. The bathroom floor was sticky. The swimming pool was under repair and did not work. The internet link did not work. The coffeemaker in the lobby did not work. We learned that the desk clerk apparently didn't work, either: We found her sitting in the lobby watching TV and when we asked directions to the restaurant we wanted, she didn't even look up as she said, "I don't know."

We'd have been better off sleeping in our car.

Thanks to that experience, we have scratched ALL Choice Hotels from future consideration -- Econo Lodge, Quality, Comfort Inn, Sleep Inn, Clarion, Suburban, Cambria, MainStay, and Rodeway.

  • Liked — Cheap
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TAWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, MO
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2007

This hotel looks very nice from the outside, but room 108 was mixed. The television was excellent with lots of channels and the bed was acceptable. The furniture was worn and there was a large tear in the chair in my room. The bathroom was OK. The rooms do have refrigerator and microwave. I was disappointed that I asked for a quiet room and they placed me in Room 108, across from the indoor pool (with screaming kids) and next to the elevator (motor noise all night long). The whirpool in the pool area was not working and looked like it hadn’t been for some time. The pool was OK, but cold. The guests on Labor Day weekend were rather noisy. The breakfast was not even worth mentioning, very little food. Check out the many other hotels in the neighborhood.

  • Liked — Great location - lots of places to eat nearby
  • Disliked — Guests were very noisy, breakfast was poor
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jjctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thibodaux, LA
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2006

We just picked this hotel off of the interstate, we were passing through. After checking in, we went up the stairwell to our room, it smelled as if someone had died in there. The carpets were stained and stinky. The room appeared OK, but a closer look revealed some unknown stains all over the curtains, the funiture was old and worn, the bathroom door would'nt even close all the way, and there was mold around the bathtub, gross! Didn't complain because we knew we'd be out of there by the next morning.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mom2five69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 April 2005

Avoid this hotel at all costs! We had originally booked two nights, but our first night's stay was a nightmare. People in rooms next to us and across the hall not only went in and out of their rooms all night long, but slammed the doors and stood in the hallway outside our room, yelling. We were assured by the desk clerk in the morning that the offending people were checking out, but by 3pm they were again making noise and still checked in.

The rooms had holes in the wall, towel bars were missing. There were open junction boxes in the ceiling and walls, with wires visible. The entire motel is locked down after 6pm, and one needs to use their key card to enter the building. There were pizza crusts all over the floor near the elevator; the hallway by the pool was slippery from tracked water; the floor of the elevator had spilled drinks and smelled dirty. The front desk personnel were unattentive, unhelpful, and although they claimed that they had night security, none was visible. Nothing was done to correct the conditions that disrupted our night.

To give this motel a rating of one is being exceedingly generous.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mobile hotels
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#34 of 64 in Mobile
76 reviews
0.1 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#37 of 64 in Mobile
157 reviews
0.3 km away
Ashbury Hotel & Suites
Ashbury Hotel & Suites
#41 of 64 in Mobile
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mobile West - I-65
0.1 km away
SpringHill Suites Mobile
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Mobile - Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budgetel Inn and Suites Mobile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budgetel Inn and Suites Mobile

Property: Budgetel Inn and Suites Mobile
Address: 156 West I-65 Service Road, Mobile, AL 36608 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Region: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
Hotel Class:2 star — Budgetel Inn and Suites Mobile 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Budgetel Inn and Suites Mobile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mobile Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Mobile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing