We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
11
53
31
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
53
31
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river jonker walk indian muslim restaurant walking distance electric kettle the main attraction enjoyed our stay short stay comfy bed per night big room place to stay night market hulu mosque dispenser masjid
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2016

Pros-
comfortable beds
Safe in the room
En suite bathroom
Air con
5-10 min walk to Jonker street once you have your bearings

Cons
Unhelpful staff
Very quiet area in the evening -not great for solo female travellers
The mosque side is super loud
The river side was also loud with music playing from the outside until 12pm
No breakfast- only on Sunday's apparently
Woke up with bed bugs
Changed rooms and the second room had ants all over the bathroom and window sill
Cockroaches in the hall way
Wifi in the second room was non existent
No laundry facilities
No assistance re: booking buses or taxis

I cancelled the night I. Had booked for the Saturday ( a whopping £34) and they first off refused to give me a refund! Then after three hours and a word with the manager agreed.

Not worth the hassle. Booked into a hostel just off Jonker street - private too for 30rm rather than 168rm! No brainer

Room Tip: Avoid staying here all together. I had rooms on both sides and they were equally awful
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MissRed87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2016

Simple hotel with sufficient amenities such as hairdryer, water heater, safe deposit box, electric kettle & enough toiletries. Nice big towels (big enough for my plus size body) :) comfortable bed & clean sheets. Remember to get extra floor mat as the bathroom floor is bit slippery and they don't have shower screen or curtain. Some rooms comes with balcony (may have pay bit more) but it's worth it. Overall its a good hotel for the price we paid.

Room Tip: a) ask for riverview room b) take the deluxe room that comes with balcony c) free parking is available at the back of the hotel
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Srilah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed here only for a night. Selected the hotel due to its location which was within walking distance to jonker street. Paid super peak price of sgd $75 for a night

Pros:
Wifi was provided.
Bicycle rental available to explore the place
Location and proximity to jonker
Toiletries provided

Cons:
Biggest con and something unacceptable was the cleanliness. The moment we stepped into the room, there were cockroaches in them; baby ones and adult ones. An insect had even bitten through a packet of coffee powder provided and coffee powder was strewn all over the table. When the packet was removed, the big insect was still there.
There were cobwebs in the room and spiders too.
Ants in the bathroom as well. Asked for a change of room and the new room also had ants in it.

Toilet design had the toilet paper roll just beside the shower which made it easy to wet.

Layout of the hotel corridors were confusing with multiple lift lobbies.

For the price we paid we expected better. Have stayed in other hotels in malacca for cheaper but with better cleanliness.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank authumleaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2015 via mobile

We booked 2 rooms, with one extra bed. Total 5 of us. It's a refurbished hotel. Clean, comfortable and spacious. Rooms come with basic toiletries and hair dryer. Drinking water, kettle and 3 in 1 coffee provided as well. Very near to jonker street, 5 minutes walking distance. Leisure river view in the evening. Everything is good for us, only issue is the very limited parking.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank gsyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2015 via mobile

We took a family room and it met our requirment. Spacious room with 1 king bed n 2 twin bed n bathroom also although the tile is slippery. Nice river view from our room. The breakfast is ok. The hotel is a little bit far away too the attractions but its still ok..

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Ashariyanti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews