We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
58
86
22
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
86
22
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location the river jonker street ginger flower saloon style doors friendliness and helpfulness hotel bathroom boiled eggs rain shower breakfast selection lovely boutique small hotel limited parking local dishes weekend stay noisy at night the room was nice
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2018

We visited Melaka and loved the position of the hotel, situated in the centre of the town . The hotel itself was exceptionally clean and although bedroom not the largest it was beautifully presented and adequate for our needs. The hotels rate was exceptionally cheap compared to other similar hotels.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We loved the town with quaint buildings, colourfully decorated and well maintained. It is worthwhile taking the river cruise which highlights the sights of this town .

On the night we rode on a rickshaw which was great fun due to it being decorated and strewn with lights. When you were pedalled around the streets each rickshaw played music.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank libra1148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

We loved the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff at Gingerflower. The room was clean and unique. The location is great as it is 4 min walk away from Jonker Street. If you are a light sleeper, take the rooms in the middle section. The one facing the main street tends to be noisy until late midnight due to the trishaw rides.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank DannyNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

The hotel is located at the heart of the town where you can walk everywhere, easy to access.
The hotel is simple and clean, the staff are very helpful and attentive.
Rate was a bit pricey but I kind of understand it was Christmas season and everything is expensive, so maybe will check out prices in another season so my comments can be of more value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows
Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank AngelesHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

Checked in on 10/12/2017 and stayed at Room 206.The whole reason why I booked into this place was cos i had a voucher and wanted to redeem it before it expired.Judging from the many reviews actually I was rather skeptical,as they had stated rude staff and noisy rooms etc.

Being Malaysian and after staying at many local hotels,we tend to have a bit of tolerance to most upkeep and management of local hotels and its unfair to rave on petty things as this can affect the business.

Anyway,we arrived here on a hot afternoon and had some trouble locating the hotel and parked in front of Hotel Hereen 5 along the same street.After some directions,we walked to the hotel finally,and was pleasantly greeted by the front desk staff Mr.Anuar,he was very efficient polite and gave us towels and refreshments.

Check in was fast and another smiling staff Mr.Rashid was also there,a smiling lady staff guided us upstairs.The stairway is a bit steep though,and may not be suitable for old aged people or those with knee problems.

Room was excellent size,and all fittings were new and lovely.It even had windows which you can open to air the room with sunlight.Very lovely decor and design.Shower was super excellent.Free wifi was fast too.

The hotel is just 5 minutes away from Jonker street,but the front lane is quite narrow and busy,so you have to watch out for cars.Parking is provided by the hotel at the back,and I saw on of the staff at the back at night keeping an eye on the cars too.I saw only 3 parking bays,you have to be fast to get into those bays.

Next morning breakfast was simple and delicious,they had fried rice,flat rice noodles,coffee,soft boiled eggs,bread and even pastry and some muffin.It was decent.

Frankly,I had a wonderful stay here,and would like to thank the staff for being fantastic and ever helpful,special note of thanks to Mr.Anuar,Rashid,the 2 smiling Malay ladies.Sad to say won't be returning as the price is way too expensive and pricey.

Room Tip: pick rooms upstairs at the back or rooms in the middle.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gita73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Nice rooms (we had the superior one). It is located at the front and unbelievable noisy mostly from battery charged cycles. Maybe other rooms are acceptable but this one certainly not worth the price. Breakfast nice and location fine.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Janj3200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews