We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveller rating
39
108
139
94
131
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
108
139
94
131
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
420 - 425 of 511 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2010

A weekend get-away at a resort is what we were looking forward too. But it was disastrous. The A'Famosa website is excellent and really builds the place up. But the service doesn't come anywhere close to what you read at their website. Total NO NO.

Reception is dirty (cobwebs and dusty), I had a very sick feeling by then!!!. I booked a Family-Studio-DS-Condominium for MYR 338 (discounted price from MYR 420), so we expected certain level of service, cleanliness. There room was very standard, dirty balcony, and not worth the money I paid for. I felt cheated, very disappointed. I checked-out within 3 hours of being there. That says it all.

MF from Singapore

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MFUVAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

We bought a fairly comprehensive package,this included
- a 3 day 2 night stay at one of the condos,
- single entry to cowboy town (plus 4D theater), animal safari, and waterworld
- 5 meals- two breakfasts at the golfer's terrace, one dinner at the chinese restaurant in cowboy town, one lunch at the animal safari, and one dinner at the clubhouse
- we went at the beginning of the Singapore school vacation- before the Malaysia school vacation, so we went off peak.

-We arrived at approximately 4:00. Checkin was grossly inefficient It took an hour to complete. This is because the clerk had to stamp a huge number of tickets. The resort could take a lesson from Disney- issue a single hopper pass that gives guests access to everything for the duration of stay. Its administratively easier and comes to the same thing- what's the big deal if a guest wants to visit the animal safari twice instead of visiting the water world and animal safari once?
- The room was clean- essentially spotless.
- We had three problems wth the room. The air conditioner compressor in the master bedroom was defective, the spare bathroom had a weak flush, and the phone wasn't working. When we alerted management, the problems were fixed quickly. The staff were helpful and efficient.

We first went to the Cowboy town at about 6:00. We were pretty bored from 6:00-6:30, because nothing was set up.

However, things picked up a 6:30. We saw the 4D show, which the kids loved. We then went for dinner at the Chinese restaurant in Cowboy town. The food was decent, and filling. The kids bought the pony ride, and had fun. For 10 ringgit, you ride the pony for about 5 minutes.

This was followed by the Red Indian show. This is basically a fire breathing act. It's worth watching.

Almost immediately after the Red Indian show is the animal carnival. This is really the capstone act. All of the other acts you'll see (from Cowboy town and the Animal Safari) make a comeback here, with colorful costumes, and new tricks.

The day ended at 9:45 with the fireworks, which is worth seeing for the price you pay.

The next day, we went for the buffet breakfast. This was filling and decent. The key thing to remember is that the buffet is in the airconditioned area offset from the outdoor dining area. At first glance, it looks like the buffet is pretty miserable, because most of the food is in the airconditioned area. Help staff were friendly and attentive.

We then proceeded to the animal safari. We took photos with the Red Indians (the same ones as in the Cowboy show- it's possible they make the performers work 12 hours in a day). We then sat for the elephant show. Because this was off peak, there were only two groups at the show, ours and a group of caucasians. Our kids got to be carried in the elephants' trunks and had fun.

We next took the safari. Again, well worth it, but we had some concerns about the condition of the animals. Notably, many of the ostriches were missing feathers to the point where they were nearly bald. The ride is jouncy in a rollercoaster like way. Its fun, but don't take it if you can't take the bounces.

We then took a tour around the animal enclosure. Here you get to see almost all the animals again up close. The missing animals are the ones you DON'T want to be up close with like the lions and tigers.

We then proceeded to the mixed animal show. Again, a decent show. Animals are trained to perform humanlike stunts (e.g., stand on their hind legs, dance on a barrel, do math tricks). This may offend the nature lovers. You get to take pictures with some animals for free after the show.

This was immediately followed by the bird show. Again, a decent show.

We then proceeded to lunch at the Chinese restaurant in the safari. This was a buffet with a wide selection of jellies. The food was decent, and the kids had fun.

We then went to monkey island to see the apes. The children enjoyed the boat ride.

The final thing we saw was the cowboy show. This is pretty much a "show the audience how stunts are done" type show. If you've ever seen the Universal Studios or Disney equivalents, this show is one to miss. The sound system was terrible, so you couldn't understand what the actors were saying, and the slapstick was overdone.

By the time we finished the Safari, it was 3:00. We proceeded to Water World, and swam around. We rented a two person tube. The kids loved the wave pool, the slow river, and the kids' pool. If you are the one assigned by your family to push the tube around the slow river, be cautious of the steps. The river will periodically get shallower. There will then be a one step drop. The step is difficult to see, because it is tiled in the same colors as th rest of the river. We didn't try the more adventurous water play areas like the inner tube slide and the high slide, because we felt those would be dangerous for the kids.

We had dinner and breakfast at the golfer's terrace, and left the next day. Again, plentiful food, with attentive wait staff. For example, we had a concern that the meats would be too spicy for the kids. We didn't contact the staff about this, but the manager overheard us talking, and came to tell us that the chicken korma did not have chili in it.

All in all, the trip was worth the money we spent. As compared to (for example) a trip to Disney or Universal Studios, you spend a lot less, and get entertained. The basic service infrastructure is there, so for example, the room is clean, people are helpful, and MOST of the bathrooms in the public areas are well maintained. With the package we got, we were all also well fed. However, the business processes are nowhere near the standard of the western theme parks, and portions of the AFomosa park look run down.

For example, something AFomosa could do is up the price of the packages by a couple of dollars, but throw in some free games at Cowboy town. We were BORED for 30 minutes- something that NEVER happens at Disney.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aehchua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

We travel last friday, happened to be Malaysia Public Holiday. We travelled as 3 couple with 4 young children on tow. We booked a 4-Bedroom standard Villa with private swimming pool. Since the management only allow 4pm check-in, we decided to visit Melaka town earlier that day & reached there about 5pm thinking it is just nice to avoid the busy crowd of checking-in. Appearrently, we're absolutely wrong.. The check-in hall is as small as half a unit of the villa, with 3 computers and less than 3 sqm for people to Q. the aircon was down & the ventilation is almost none makes all the eager guest suffocated. There isn't a proper queuing systems makes things even messier. I managed to squeeze into counter and manage to get the key to my villa after nearly 20 minutes and i count myself lucky. We drove straight to the designated villa and quite impressed that the unit is already lighten up and the aircon is already on. But to our horror, less than 10 minutes from our arrival, a couple is at our door step and telling us that unit was belonging to them! the management assigned the same unit to both of us!!!?? how ridiculous??!! We drove back to the check in hall and this time that place is full of people.... most of them are angry guest that like us, each of them came with different reason, is either the water is leaking, swimming pool without water, unit is yet to be clean, no tower, key faulty endless list goes on. Now is already 6pm and the sky is getting dark, our children are tired, hungry and needed a place to settle them down, i am getting a little upset and demanded the lady at the counter to give us a unit fast. She handed us a key to another unit, however, this unit is horrible and i guest had been previously demanded to changed by another guest because the floor was wet, the bed in mess and the kitchen was dirty. Again, we went back to the check-in hall and the crowd is getting more and more, some are like us came back the 3rd time demanded for a acceptable villa!! the whole drama took us more than 2hours and we gotten a nice villa but the light & aircon doesn't work!! and we've to wait for the electrician and finally we settled in about 7.30pm.. what a horrible experience!!!!

The breakfast included in the package doesn't worth more than rm5 out there and the animal safari is a real dissapoinment and overly priced at rm48 per head.

Well, the place itself is a real retreat out of the hectic city, but the management has to really buck up and rectify the current situation else, it will only displeased us as a visitor. We want a holiday, not to be stressed up with all the inefficiency of the management.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Jan129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

I stayed in this resort twice, once a company retreat and last month with friends and family.
I had a fantastic deal in our MATTA fair, paid only around RM140 for a 3 bedroom pool villa. With this kind of price, I'm very satisfied with the accomodation. The pool is very private and is surrounded by walls. The furnitures are not posh but functionable. Good pressure from the water heater, there are total of 2 bathrooms. Overall the villa and its surroundings are clean and comfortable.
The management will require a RM500 deposit at check in. Also, no barbeque or cooking is allowed. If caught there is a RM500 penalty (i guess that's what the deposit is for). However, with the walls surrounding the pool villa, I have never gotten caught :)
I never tried any food at the resort, most of their restaurants are in the theme parks and are expensive.
Location wise, be prepared, its 30km to Melaka town and heritage sites.
Most of the negative reviews are mainly on the treatment of animals in the theme parks and not the accomodation in itself. Not sure how true are reports of tigers being drugged, but I would not recommend the theme parks. I find it a poor value for money and the animal parade in Cowboy town is a bit too long and boring.
However, do stay here if you are planning a quiet place to relax or celebrate special occasions like birthday party. But do check the price as well. If the price is above RM700, your are better off staying in the town center.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spidey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2010

We thought a visit to this resort would be lovely. The A'Famosa website is excellent and really builds the place up.
We were really looking forward to this weekend away until we got there! Reception was ok and we checked in quickly, but our room was shabby and we thought it was poor value. We determined we would not be indoors much anyway, so were not too upset by the room quality.
What we found deplorable and upsetting though, was seeing all the animals in such poor condition, small enclosures, and being taunted non stop. It was very disturbing and highly undignified. We are so shocked that Malaysia can allow such a place to operate. I thought Malaysia was a humane country with decent standards, obviously not but in with very very 3rd world aspects.

I have taken pictures of this place and of some of the poor creatures it is abusing and will be sending them to the Malaysian SPCA.

Disgraceful!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wanderingoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews