We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,555)
Filter reviews
1,555 results
Traveller rating
957
447
110
25
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
957
447
110
25
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa villageytl hotelslychee teacolonial stylethe riveroriginal mansionmodern buildingopen bathroomcolonial feeljonker streetfour poster bedwalking tourclaw footturn down servicesmall poolkampung mortencold towels
Filter
Updating list...
1,228 - 1,233 of 1,555 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2011

We booked 2 rooms with a connecting door and stayed two nights from 28 to 30 Dec 2010. Having always stayed in YTL-owned hotels in Malaysia, I had high expectations and these were met. The hotel service was excellent, the rooms were well designed, spacious and nicely furnished. The sliding louvre doors for the bathroom were aethestically pleasing but be forewarned that there are gaps through which you can see what's going on inside e.g. where the toilet bowl is. The rooms are actually in a new 2-year old building behind the historic building which is the facade you see. The old building houses only the lobby and restaurant upstairs.

The location is not exactly in the heart of town but it is not too far off. If you drive, then it is not a problem. We used the GPS in our car to get there from Singapore and like some reviewers said, the GPS took us to the other end of Jalan Bunga Raya. Just continue driving straight down and it is on the right. You need to look out for it as it is just after a slight bend before the back of the Putra Hospital.

Broadband internet is free in every room but it would be much better if the entire hotel was a wi-fi zone. We tried the food in the restaurant despite the advice given by some reviewers. It was actually quite nice, especially the nonya set lunch, the assam fish, the pie and fish and chips. Breakfast is pretty expensive at the hotel but there are lots of choices just outside. For Singaporeans who are used to kaya toast, walk across to the food centre opposite, The kaya toast at Sin Sing is quite good, the kopi-o is the old style Hainanese kopi and do try the half-boiled kampong eggs - beats the eggs at Ya Kun. We went there twice!

A downside is the pool. It is so tiny - don't expect to be able to swim. This is the only downside I can find.

If you are looking for a really nice place to stay in Malacca and which comes with good service, then you should try the Majestic. It is what you would expect from a 5* hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

The Majestic hotel is a refurblished peranakan mansion. The rooms are really pretty and the ones on higher floors have views of the river. Its a 10-15min walk to Jonker street and the lovely sights of Melaka. The walk to Jonker street is interesting during the day. We loved the hotels old style with a modern twist. A lot of history attached to the hotel. They also offer a complimentary walk through Melaka with a local historian which we really enjoyed. Donovan the historian was very informative and friendly. Def a must do. All the staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough for us. They really give a great friendly and personalised service. Bill (guest relations manager) and Ben were especially helpful. The Spa Village is beautiful. We were lucky enough to be able to avail of the High Tea offer which includes a hair treatment, massage or scrub ( any 50 min treatment) and high tea. Not sure how long this offer runs for but its great value for money. Lovely serene atmosphere in the spa and very tasty High Tea treats. Breakfast was delicious also. Overall the hotel is very well run, beautiful and well deserving of its boutique ranking. We hope we can go back soon

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irish73_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

It is rare nowadays to happen on hotel staff that truly puts the client first. Majestic Hotel is such a hotel. The absolutely charming hotel staff, led by Mr. Ben and Mr. Lim, delivered a world-class service with style and poise. A definitely must are the Nyonya menu items in the restaurant, situated in the historic building. Another must is the daily walking tour with Donovan, an incredibly knowledgeable historian and ecologist. And last but not least the hotel even has a well-equipped gym. Overall, clearly worthwhile a stay!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank febe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We spent our New Year's Eve at this hotel, as a special treat to an eventful year. We travel a lot and have stayed in very many hotels, but the Majestic reminded me of when I stayed at Hotel Altstadt in Vienna. A rare mix of warmth and coziness with classiness and historical romance. The staff were pleasant and professional without being over the top. The pool was small and cold, but my daughter enjoyed it. The spa experience was divine, in a beautiful setting. Perhaps rarer in this part of the world, there was a wheel-chair bathroom as well as a lift, although the front part of the hotel (the historic mansion) would need further adjustments to make it 100% wheel-chair (and stroller) friendly.
We particularly loved the four-legged bath tub that filled up in record speed. Perhaps because it was New Year's Eve, we could hear our neighbors quite well, which somehow added to the festive feel. However, we weren't so sure about the blasting dance floor they made out of the lobby area for the New Year.
The dining room on the upper floor of the mansion is lovely, and we enjoyed both our New Year's Eve dinner and the breakfast in the morning. All in all, it was a perfect way to start a new year!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KanakoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

I often use Tripadvisor when choosing a hotel and the reviews have been very helpful and spot on. However, I have never had the incredible urge to add my personal view to any hotel until this experience with the Majestic Hotel (Melaka).

Further to all the great things other reviewers had commented about the level of service, the wonderful rooms and the overall ambience etc. I must highlight two experience that I hope to share with everyone:
(1) The pictures on the brochures/ website etc are exactly what you will see at the Majestic Hotel. Not some photoshopped, stylized images.
(20 The Heritage Package we enjoyed was "value for money". At RM799, both my cousin and I enjoyed the 1 night twin room, spa package each of a (50 mins) spa treatment and (30 mins) hair wash PLUS a wonderful breakfast! The menu of spa treatments and breakfast items were wide ranging not some watered down package "shortcuts".
The overall hotel experience has made all the difference to our trip to Melacca.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
Thank Moodyax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews