We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial charm with modern amenities and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Majestic Malacca
Ranked #2 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2011

We stayed a night at the Majestic over Chinese New Year. Traffic getting into Melaka from KL had been horrendous, so the easy parking, cool lobby and gracious welcome from the hotel manager and staff were a relief.

Hotel amenities, including bar, reception desk, lounge (with afternoon tea service) and restaurant are located in an historic mansion house. It is obvious that the mansion has been restored with loving attention to detail. With the CNY holiday, everything was also festively attired with red bows, lanterns and bowls of oranges.

Rooms are set behind the mansion in an 8 or 9 story building. It is located next to a hospital that lacks charm, but the rooms and hotel itself are thankfully oriented away from the hospital toward the Melaka River. The bathroom was incredible -- old, colonial style with new fixtures. The clawfoot tub was a relaxing way to shrug off stress. Some travellers, however, might not like the fact that there are no fixed walls between the sleeping area and the bathroom -- sliding wooden doors partition the space.

The hotel is located just north of the colonial area of town and Chinatown is across the Melaka River. But both areas are just 5 - 10 minute walk along the shaded and lively streets. The hotel offers two free walking tours of the city each day.

We enjoyed the buffet style breakfast. Delicious fresh juice and our servers remembered to offer more tea/coffee as we ate.

We would stay at the Majestic Hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pearl-Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,156 - 1,160 of 1,462 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2011

We booked 2 rooms with a connecting door and stayed two nights from 28 to 30 Dec 2010. Having always stayed in YTL-owned hotels in Malaysia, I had high expectations and these were met. The hotel service was excellent, the rooms were well designed, spacious and nicely furnished. The sliding louvre doors for the bathroom were aethestically pleasing but be forewarned that there are gaps through which you can see what's going on inside e.g. where the toilet bowl is. The rooms are actually in a new 2-year old building behind the historic building which is the facade you see. The old building houses only the lobby and restaurant upstairs.

The location is not exactly in the heart of town but it is not too far off. If you drive, then it is not a problem. We used the GPS in our car to get there from Singapore and like some reviewers said, the GPS took us to the other end of Jalan Bunga Raya. Just continue driving straight down and it is on the right. You need to look out for it as it is just after a slight bend before the back of the Putra Hospital.

Broadband internet is free in every room but it would be much better if the entire hotel was a wi-fi zone. We tried the food in the restaurant despite the advice given by some reviewers. It was actually quite nice, especially the nonya set lunch, the assam fish, the pie and fish and chips. Breakfast is pretty expensive at the hotel but there are lots of choices just outside. For Singaporeans who are used to kaya toast, walk across to the food centre opposite, The kaya toast at Sin Sing is quite good, the kopi-o is the old style Hainanese kopi and do try the half-boiled kampong eggs - beats the eggs at Ya Kun. We went there twice!

A downside is the pool. It is so tiny - don't expect to be able to swim. This is the only downside I can find.

If you are looking for a really nice place to stay in Malacca and which comes with good service, then you should try the Majestic. It is what you would expect from a 5* hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

The Majestic hotel is a refurblished peranakan mansion. The rooms are really pretty and the ones on higher floors have views of the river. Its a 10-15min walk to Jonker street and the lovely sights of Melaka. The walk to Jonker street is interesting during the day. We loved the hotels old style with a modern twist. A lot of history attached to the hotel. They also offer a complimentary walk through Melaka with a local historian which we really enjoyed. Donovan the historian was very informative and friendly. Def a must do. All the staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough for us. They really give a great friendly and personalised service. Bill (guest relations manager) and Ben were especially helpful. The Spa Village is beautiful. We were lucky enough to be able to avail of the High Tea offer which includes a hair treatment, massage or scrub ( any 50 min treatment) and high tea. Not sure how long this offer runs for but its great value for money. Lovely serene atmosphere in the spa and very tasty High Tea treats. Breakfast was delicious also. Overall the hotel is very well run, beautiful and well deserving of its boutique ranking. We hope we can go back soon

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irish73_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

It is rare nowadays to happen on hotel staff that truly puts the client first. Majestic Hotel is such a hotel. The absolutely charming hotel staff, led by Mr. Ben and Mr. Lim, delivered a world-class service with style and poise. A definitely must are the Nyonya menu items in the restaurant, situated in the historic building. Another must is the daily walking tour with Donovan, an incredibly knowledgeable historian and ecologist. And last but not least the hotel even has a well-equipped gym. Overall, clearly worthwhile a stay!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank febe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We spent our New Year's Eve at this hotel, as a special treat to an eventful year. We travel a lot and have stayed in very many hotels, but the Majestic reminded me of when I stayed at Hotel Altstadt in Vienna. A rare mix of warmth and coziness with classiness and historical romance. The staff were pleasant and professional without being over the top. The pool was small and cold, but my daughter enjoyed it. The spa experience was divine, in a beautiful setting. Perhaps rarer in this part of the world, there was a wheel-chair bathroom as well as a lift, although the front part of the hotel (the historic mansion) would need further adjustments to make it 100% wheel-chair (and stroller) friendly.
We particularly loved the four-legged bath tub that filled up in record speed. Perhaps because it was New Year's Eve, we could hear our neighbors quite well, which somehow added to the festive feel. However, we weren't so sure about the blasting dance floor they made out of the lobby area for the New Year.
The dining room on the upper floor of the mansion is lovely, and we enjoyed both our New Year's Eve dinner and the breakfast in the morning. All in all, it was a perfect way to start a new year!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KanakoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.1 km away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 168 in Melaka
1,488 reviews
1.4 km away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 168 in Melaka
2,476 reviews
2.5 km away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 168 in Melaka
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 168 in Melaka
641 reviews
1 km away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
1 km away
The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Malacca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Malacca

Address: 188 Jalan Bunga Raya | Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly Majestic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melaka
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#2 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
Price Range: $177 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Majestic Malacca 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the spirit of Malacca’s commercial History, The Majestic Malacca provides an ideal location for productive retreats. Conveniently located in the heart of a UNESCO World Heritage site and only a short drive from Kuala Lumpur and Singapore. The rich culture and history of the city inspires intimate brainstorms and business meetings in this 54-room boutique hotel. Creativity and innovation and enhanced on the quiet luxurious conference centre ensuring efficiency, performance, and optimal outcomes as each event is supported by modern communications and executed to perfection in any one of the hotel’s three versatile function rooms by knowledgeable and efficient staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Majestic Malacca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing