We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,590)
Filter reviews
1,590 results
Traveller rating
979
457
110
26
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
979
457
110
26
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa village ytl hotels lychee tea colonial style the river original mansion modern building chinese tea colonial feel four poster bed jonker street walking tour claw foot turn down service small pool kampung morten main building
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 1,590 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

The Majestic Hotel Melaka has an old world feel that is quaint and welcoming. It is a small hotel and the facilities or on the same small scale.

The room was charming, loved the day bed and the clawfoot bathtub. The turn down service in the evening was welcoming after a day of exploring the town. The Kuih desserts were a nice touch.

The pool, gym and restaurant were nothing to rave about. Can’t comment about the spa as I didn’t try it.

A comfortable stay and easy walking distance to Jonker street and Bandar Hilir. Service was friendly.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nylegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

Old colonial style hotel within walking distance of Jonker Street. Staff are very polite and welcoming. Our bed was turned down every night and two Chinese sweets left for us to try nightly. Room was fab with a well stocked bar, coffee maker and kettle. The bathroom had a wonderful shower and stand alone bath. I tried the Tanqueray Melaka gin which is limited edition and it did not disappoint. The pool is a bit small and cold but that's the only flaw. We were delighted with this little treasure.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank carolinewH35FF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

the hotel had a great location and the staff were very helpful. the only negative really is that the view from the room really was rather unpleasant! apart from the that however, it is a functional colonial hotel that i would recommend to anyone passing through malacca

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank cpullenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

It's an old colonial palace, with a more recent buiding behind. It has all the charm of old colonial houses, the rooms are just fantasticly confortable and well decorated, up to the standard of a luxury hotel. Good location, villa Sentosa is just across the canal. Nice and quiet pool to relax from the heat of the city. Top class, I will come back

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docky_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

This was our first stay at the Majestic Malacca, despite having visited the historical city quite frequently.

The facade and the well-preserved floor tiling made for a very warm welcome. Loved how this old mansion was so well preserved! The best thing about this hotel, is that not only they have preserved the building and the little tiny details that come with it, but they have somehow managed to weave in old traditional customs and details into the concept of the hotel! The communal sweets such as the sugar biscuits; the baju kebaya uniforms of the beautiful staffs; the traditional game of chongkak that is made available to guests; and also the KRISTANG dining experience on the first floor was simply engaging!

Location wise, it is conveniently located slightly away from the main traffic flow, but still walking distance away from the many local attractions as the Jonker Street, Stadhuys and even the A Famosa!

Service in the hotel is excellent especially from Rina at Front Desk, Hadi the cheery waiter we encountered at breakfast and Chef Melba who was very attentive and very passionate of her Kristang culture and her home-cooked cuisine. A definite MUST try!

The rooms were very cosy, and overlooking the river. The swimming pool, though a bit small, but good enough for a quick dip.

Overall, we had a lovely 2-nights stay and will definitely return the next time we visit Malacca!

Room tip: all rooms face the river - corner rooms would probably be a good choice!
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank boo_tofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews