We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,562)
Filter reviews
1,562 results
Traveller rating
960
450
110
25
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
960
450
110
25
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa village ytl hotels lychee tea colonial style the river original mansion modern building open bathroom colonial feel jonker street four poster bed walking tour claw foot turn down service small pool kampung morten cold towels
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,562 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2018

It's an old colonial palace, with a more recent buiding behind. It has all the charm of old colonial houses, the rooms are just fantasticly confortable and well decorated, up to the standard of a luxury hotel. Good location, villa Sentosa is just across the canal. Nice and quiet pool to relax from the heat of the city. Top class, I will come back

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

This was our first stay at the Majestic Malacca, despite having visited the historical city quite frequently.

The facade and the well-preserved floor tiling made for a very warm welcome. Loved how this old mansion was so well preserved! The best thing about this hotel, is that not only they have preserved the building and the little tiny details that come with it, but they have somehow managed to weave in old traditional customs and details into the concept of the hotel! The communal sweets such as the sugar biscuits; the baju kebaya uniforms of the beautiful staffs; the traditional game of chongkak that is made available to guests; and also the KRISTANG dining experience on the first floor was simply engaging!

Location wise, it is conveniently located slightly away from the main traffic flow, but still walking distance away from the many local attractions as the Jonker Street, Stadhuys and even the A Famosa!

Service in the hotel is excellent especially from Rina at Front Desk, Hadi the cheery waiter we encountered at breakfast and Chef Melba who was very attentive and very passionate of her Kristang culture and her home-cooked cuisine. A definite MUST try!

The rooms were very cosy, and overlooking the river. The swimming pool, though a bit small, but good enough for a quick dip.

Overall, we had a lovely 2-nights stay and will definitely return the next time we visit Malacca!

Room Tip: all rooms face the river - corner rooms would probably be a good choice!
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank boo_tofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

This lovely heritage hotel stands proud behind a lovely approach with some stunning planting.

We received a truly warm welcome before we had even stepped from our taxi. This warmth continued for the four days of our stay.

Check in was professional, efficient, quick and very friendly. We were escorted to our room by a member of the team who was carrying an interesting looking container. This turned out to contain a teapot and two cups. A very welcome cup of tea was served to us once we were in our room.

The rooms are in a modern extension to the original heritage mansion. Reception, bar, lounge and the Mansion restaurant are all housed in the original building which is very grand without being the slightest bit pretentious.

We had a number of treatments at the fabulous Spa Village. As a precursor to a treatment you receive a wonderful shampoo and head massage which is based on the Peranakan tradition. In Peranakan culture a bride has a 12 day period in which she is prepared for the wedding ceremony. My husband was delighted to learn that he also received the shampoo and head massage!

Our room was fabulous with a glimpse of the Malacca river. A very comfortable huge bed took centre stage, whilst sliding doors could be opened on to the bathroom or closed for privacy. The bathroom featured a walk in shower cubicle and a free standing bath as well as all the usual amenities.

We dined in the restaurant for lunch on the day of our arrival and also for dinner on our second night. The food was excellent and we were delighted when Chef Melba Nunis made a point of speaking with us. Although this was undoubtedly partly to promote her cookery classes and her book, it was very pleasant to speak with her and understand a little of the culinary culture of Melaka.

We loved the team at The Majestic. We were always greeted when we arrived in reception, sometimes with a “welcome back”, or “enjoy breakfast”.

We had several requests for the reception team and without exception these were carried out in a professional, efficient and friendly manner.

A great stay.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ruth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Easily one of the best hotel stays in Malaysia. A magnificent property strategically located within walking distance from many main attractions and armed with an excellent crew lead by its GM Mr Ben, Majestic Malacca gets our Perfect 10. It is our third visit and definitely won’t be our last.

Stayed: August 2018
2  Thank Suzanne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Very nice historic hotel in Malacca with large room and very comfortable amenities including a spacious bathroom. It is a rather old hotel from the outside, but the inner building are newer, maybe a bit less 'historic' but this is compensated by higher comfort level.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
Thank ben_panda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews