We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely colonial hotel shame about the location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Majestic Malacca
Ranked #4 of 169 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2010

We spent 2 nights at this hotel and absolutely loved it. The staff were lovely, the rooms outstanding, the bar and dining room were charming and they served excellent food. Our only real complaint is the location. Given the heat and humidity of Malaysia and the quality of the "sidewalks" which in spots are either broken up or non-existent it is really difficult to get around. It is about a 20-25 minute walk to the historic part of town from this hotel and the walk to it is not very appealing or easy. We ended up eating in our hotel both nights because of the difficulty in getting around. If you don't mind taking taxis everywhere then this may not be problematic for you. We like to walk and see the sights and get some kind of exercise but it's really not an option here. Oh and eating in the hotel wasn't really a hardship. The food was excellent although expensive. If we're ever back in Melaka we would try to stay at the new boutique hotel they are in the process of building down (up?) at the mouth of the river in the historic centre of town.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmack51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,224 - 1,228 of 1,494 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2010

This hotel really should be the best-rated hotel in Melaka.
Having stayed at the lovely Courtyard on Herren the night before, they were booked full the second night we wanted to stay. So we booked into The Majestic. And thank god we did. It was so good we changed our plans and instead of staying in Melaka just for two days we ended up staying for five so we could enjoy this amazing town and the brilliant Majestic a little longer.
Where to start. First, they have GENUINE non-smoking rooms! In fact, the entire place seems to be smoke free, almost unheard of in Malaysia. If it's not, the smoking rooms/floors are well-hidden and the whole building smells fresh and clean, and not just as result of using too much air "freshener" spray.
But the rooms themselves are brilliant. The bed was massive, linen of great quality, view over the river majestic, turn-down service and supper treats a lovely touch, as was the rain shower and adjustable bathroom. The air-con was SILENT! and the pool was clean, deep and elegant, to the point where flowers are bundled into the pool towels.
The staff at The Majestic were young and keen and eager to please, although their local knowledge left a little to be desired - for example, we asked them if there was an easy way to get to Melaka to KLIA, and they responded the only way was via taxi or to go back to KL and then out again to KLIA. Even we knew there would be a much more direct route, and we easily found a direct bus at Melaka central.
All else considered though: stay here, you won't regret it. Having stayed in hundreds of hotels around the world, this is in my top three and I hope one day I'll get the chance to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nasi_ayam_search
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

This hotel provided excellent service from the time you were met at the door. Friendly and efficient staff were always available. The room was very clean and tidy on arrival with ample fresh towels. Its position is good in that you just have to cross the road for a very relaxing river walk into the town centre - about 15 to 20 mins. Just across the river is Villa Santosa, a most interesting traditional Malaccan house with a fascinating owner who provided a private tour. About a 5 min walk to the riverboat jetty for a relaxing and informative cruise down the river. We did not use the pool which looked inviting, if not a little small. The highlight was the free morning guided tour of historic Malacca given by a very knowledgeable and friendly guide. Would not hesitate to recommend to anyone.

Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
Thank Orana35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2010

We were working in Melaka and had three nights at the Majestic. It's a charming hotel in a tucked away part of town - a little oasis of old world charm and service. The dining room is great, the staff are helpful and cheerful and the rooms are a welcome retreat.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tav007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2010

Majestic Hotel was one of the best aspects of our stay in Malacca. The staff is friendly and accommodating. There is a small staff, and everyone greets you personally.

The rooms are comfortable and modern. Have very nice colonial touches.

The breakfast is amazing - great food and service. Ate there once for dinner; a bit pricey but good.

I would go to Malacca just to stay at the hotel again!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rank23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.1 km away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 169 in Melaka
1,538 reviews
2.5 km away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 169 in Melaka
677 reviews
1.5 km away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#14 of 169 in Melaka
2,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 169 in Melaka
674 reviews
1 km away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
1 km away
The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Malacca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Malacca

Address: 188 Jalan Bunga Raya | Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly Majestic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melaka
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#3 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
Price Range: $182 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Majestic Malacca 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the spirit of Malacca’s commercial History, The Majestic Malacca provides an ideal location for productive retreats. Conveniently located in the heart of a UNESCO World Heritage site and only a short drive from Kuala Lumpur and Singapore. The rich culture and history of the city inspires intimate brainstorms and business meetings in this 54-room boutique hotel. Creativity and innovation and enhanced on the quiet luxurious conference centre ensuring efficiency, performance, and optimal outcomes as each event is supported by modern communications and executed to perfection in any one of the hotel’s three versatile function rooms by knowledgeable and efficient staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Majestic Malacca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing