We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,563)
Filter reviews
1,563 results
Traveller rating
961
450
110
25
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
961
450
110
25
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa village ytl hotels lychee tea colonial style the river original mansion modern building open bathroom colonial feel jonker street four poster bed walking tour claw foot turn down service small pool kampung morten cold towels
Filter
Updating list...
1,276 - 1,281 of 1,563 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2010

This hotel really should be the best-rated hotel in Melaka.
Having stayed at the lovely Courtyard on Herren the night before, they were booked full the second night we wanted to stay. So we booked into The Majestic. And thank god we did. It was so good we changed our plans and instead of staying in Melaka just for two days we ended up staying for five so we could enjoy this amazing town and the brilliant Majestic a little longer.
Where to start. First, they have GENUINE non-smoking rooms! In fact, the entire place seems to be smoke free, almost unheard of in Malaysia. If it's not, the smoking rooms/floors are well-hidden and the whole building smells fresh and clean, and not just as result of using too much air "freshener" spray.
But the rooms themselves are brilliant. The bed was massive, linen of great quality, view over the river majestic, turn-down service and supper treats a lovely touch, as was the rain shower and adjustable bathroom. The air-con was SILENT! and the pool was clean, deep and elegant, to the point where flowers are bundled into the pool towels.
The staff at The Majestic were young and keen and eager to please, although their local knowledge left a little to be desired - for example, we asked them if there was an easy way to get to Melaka to KLIA, and they responded the only way was via taxi or to go back to KL and then out again to KLIA. Even we knew there would be a much more direct route, and we easily found a direct bus at Melaka central.
All else considered though: stay here, you won't regret it. Having stayed in hundreds of hotels around the world, this is in my top three and I hope one day I'll get the chance to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nasi_ayam_search
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

This hotel provided excellent service from the time you were met at the door. Friendly and efficient staff were always available. The room was very clean and tidy on arrival with ample fresh towels. Its position is good in that you just have to cross the road for a very relaxing river walk into the town centre - about 15 to 20 mins. Just across the river is Villa Santosa, a most interesting traditional Malaccan house with a fascinating owner who provided a private tour. About a 5 min walk to the riverboat jetty for a relaxing and informative cruise down the river. We did not use the pool which looked inviting, if not a little small. The highlight was the free morning guided tour of historic Malacca given by a very knowledgeable and friendly guide. Would not hesitate to recommend to anyone.

Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
Thank Orana35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2010

We were working in Melaka and had three nights at the Majestic. It's a charming hotel in a tucked away part of town - a little oasis of old world charm and service. The dining room is great, the staff are helpful and cheerful and the rooms are a welcome retreat.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tav007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2010

Majestic Hotel was one of the best aspects of our stay in Malacca. The staff is friendly and accommodating. There is a small staff, and everyone greets you personally.

The rooms are comfortable and modern. Have very nice colonial touches.

The breakfast is amazing - great food and service. Ate there once for dinner; a bit pricey but good.

I would go to Malacca just to stay at the hotel again!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2010

This was the first hotel we stayed in on our tour of Malaysia and it couldn't have been a more perfect introduction. It looks a little incongruous nestled among the surrounding high-ish rise buildings.
Service is impeccable - polite and efficient. We were greeted warmly and taken to our room overlooking the river where we given tea and a local delicacy. The room was spacious with a chaise longue in the window to allow guests to best enjoy the view.
The bathroom was immaculate with a roll-top bath as well as spacious shower and the usual selection of toiletries.
Breakfast offered a selction of cooked dishes as well as the usual buffet.
There is a small pool but this is nevertheless a very welcome facility at the end of a long hot day. Unfortunately we were not there long enough to make use of the spa but it looked lovely if a little expensive.
We visited at a weekend so we could visit the night market, which was very busy but a good way to soak up the atmosphere and we had our first taste of hawker food here - much better than expensive restaurants.
On another occasion we ate at Harpers, overlooking the river. This restaurant describes itself as 'Mediterranean' but definitely has Asian influences in its dishes. It is a fairly relaxed place where you can go just for a drink if that's all you want yet can still enjoy the views of the river. The food is delicious and the service friendly.
Another lively place is the Geographers cafe. This is on a corner about halfway up Jonker street and was packed when we went for a drink but was good for soaking up the atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews