We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,563)
Filter reviews
1,563 results
Traveller rating
961
450
110
25
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
961
450
110
25
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa village ytl hotels lychee tea colonial style the river original mansion modern building open bathroom colonial feel jonker street four poster bed walking tour claw foot turn down service small pool kampung morten cold towels
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 1,563 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

Beautiful in its own vintage way, yet well-equipped with modern facilities such as air-conditioners and elevators. Staff all kind and welcome, though not in the center of Jonker streets, still worthy of a visit.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank HoChin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

This hotel is so beautiful and a bit on oasis of peace amidst the lovely hustle and bustle of Melaka. You get a powerful sense of local history and character from the building, its decor and from its delicious food. I was served gorgeous tea the moment I was taken to my room and was made to feel completely welcome. When I was having dinner, the chef came up to chat about her recipes. Everyone is so friendly and it made for the most warm and relaxing stay possible. The spa was great too! I thoroughly recommend... and I am the sort of gently grumpy soul who does not write a Trip Advisor review unless I really, really feel the need!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank IzzyR9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

Literally the hotel to stay at in Malacca. Filled with wonderful Peranakan art works, even the decor is inspired by the Straits Born Chinese colours and motives. Delicious high tea and a cut above the rest Peranakan inspired restaurant. Staff are efficient and friendly. The icing on the cake is the spa - best in Malacca and probably the whole of Malaysia. Must try must stay

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank SVRBlackBookAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

Amazing ambience and service -- the building is beautifully maintained with no sign of wear/negligence. Every corner shows the thought put into it, from flowers to tiles and objets. Service is warm and welcoming with no sign of pretension. The rooms have beautiful decor -- hardwood floors, large windows -- and fantastic bed linens. The only negative -- and this could be a deal breaker depending on whom you're traveling with -- is the open bathroom. The bathroom is separated from the bedroom only by a sliding shuttered door, so there's zero privacy. The location is pretty good -- 10 mins walk from Jonker Street, and across the road from a mall.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Budlapara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

We arrived before 12 on the Saturday morning and were greeted at the hotel steps by a gentleman who took our cases to reception, where we were greeted by the manager and ushered to seats in the main foyer, whilst our room was finished.
The manager gave us a potted history of both the hotel and Melaka and made us feel very welcome. Having had a cup of tea we were told our upgraded room (1002) was now ready and our cases were in situ.
The suite was very comfortable with a lovely firm king sized bed and all the amenities one could want
Throughout our stay all the staff were friendly and extremely helpful.
My wife tried out the small pool, the steps up to which defeated me. She enjoyed the pool which was adequate rather than spectacular
The hotel is about a 20 minute walk direct down the main road or 40 minutes adjacent to the river, which is far more pleasant. We did it both ways as well as taking the rickshaw ride in the evening, which was great fun and well worthwhile
The hotel offer a complementary city walk, led by Rahayu and, surprisingly we were the only two guests on it. Rahayu told us of the history of the city and the interaction of the various wealthy families, one of which owned the museum (go there) and another the Majestic Hotel.
Our first breakfast was really good but, unfortunately our last one was not up to scratch - most of the fruit was missing as well as nearly all the yoghurt, but the omelette on both occasions was excellent
We had dinner in the hotel, prepared by their excellent in house chef, Melba, who will cook your food the way you like it. I love spicy and my wife prefers mild. We both thoroughly enjoyed it
In conclusion I feel it would be difficult to find a more welcoming hotel in which the staff make you feel really special
On a future visit we would certainly return

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank HSeeingtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews