We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,563)
Filter reviews
1,563 results
Traveller rating
961
450
110
25
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
961
450
110
25
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa village ytl hotels lychee tea colonial style the river original mansion modern building open bathroom colonial feel jonker street four poster bed walking tour claw foot turn down service small pool kampung morten cold towels
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 1,563 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2017

I booked a room over last weekend, to facilitate my plans to tour around my hometown like a tourist would. Making the choice for Majestic Malacca isn't hard as it's got lots of history behind it and being a member of SLH certainly lets you know you'll be surrounded by quality and luxury. I purchased a package listed of Expedia for a night's stay.

The reception experience was great, the staff warmly and courteously handled my check-in from the time I drove into the (not so convenient open-air) car park. You could drop off the car in front of the hotel, but you'll have to drive out (unless you valet) around the block to get into the car park.

The surroundings are kept meticulously clean and neat and the hedges and trees, trimmed and beautiful. It was as if I was stepping back into the colonial times when greeted with the aptly uniformed staff in their colonial times uniform.

The room is elegantly decorated with a four poster bed and a clawfoot bathtub being the centerpieces. The hotel staff also brought along a rattan woven chinese teapot warmer, along with the tea inside to serve us. Amenities in the room didn't disappoint, except if I had to nitpick, apart from the bath salts, the bath foam for the tub wasn't provided.

I did not get a chance to use the (smallish) swimming pool nor the glass walled gym that overlooked the pool. Nevertheless, like the hotel itself, it was well designed, and equipped.

There is also a spa in the hotel for those would like to soothe their bodies and rejuvenate their senses. I did not have the opportunity to try it out but the services looked very inviting.

Overall it was a short and pleasant stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel for couples who want to experience a piece of historical Malacca.

Room Tip: You may want to stock up your room with some snacks or food as the hotel does not have room dining services.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatKhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

The Majestic in Melaka isn’t the most centrally located, its quite a distance from the “heartbeat” of Melaka with the A’Formosa, Stadthaus, the other Dutch colonial buildings and Independence Square about 10 minutes by car. People tend to forget that when Tunku Abdul Rahman, the first Prime Minister arrived back from London with an agreement for an independent Malaya he landed at Melaka Airport and he declared independence at what is now Independence Square in front of the Stadthaus.

The Majestic Hotel, in its original form, wasn’t a hotel at all but began life as a typical (in terms of architecture and display of wealth) Chinese tycoon’s Straits Settlement Mansion in 1929. By the 1960s it was converted into a 3 Star hotel called The Majestic declining into a backpacker budget hotel until it closed down in 2000. There’s an abandoned 1950s Cinema across the road at the banks of the Melaka River. The Majestic faces the Kampung Herren on the opposite bank of the river. A setting that is steeped in history.

YTL Hotels bought it over the “shell” and restored this into the Majestic Hotel in 2008. This became Melaka’s first luxury 5 star boutique hotel. The luxurious 54 suites and rooms are housed in a modern purpose built block behind the original Mansion. The staff, from front desk, F&B and the spa, are exceptional.

The Mansion was gutted and transformed into the epicentre of the Majestic experience. The whole building and its decor brings you back to the height of Melaka’s heyday. A small elegant bar to the right as you enter and a quaint and discrete reception to the left. The chequered black and white tiled floor highlights the rich Persian carpets that are strategically placed under every seating area. A nice touch is small glass bottles of biscuits, reminiscent of those at the local grocery shops of the 1950s, at the many side tables scattered throughout the building. There’s a library, much in the colonial fashion, which is nice place for fusion English style cream tea with fresh scones and mini spring rolls. Upstairs is the equally elegant dining room. The cascade breakfast is an experience in itself! Nearby - literally around the corner and walkable - there is (non halal) chicken rice with famous chicken rice balls and pork bone soup. The renown Bibek Neo is about 15 minutes away (by car) and serves authentic Peranakan delicacies.

The addition of the world class Village Spa really boosts your stay and your senses. The massages and wellness programmes are reasonably priced with masseurs from and trained in Bali. A perfect place to unwind after exploring a hectic (and usually crowded) Jonker Street or shopping in Dataran Mall (a shopping centre built underneath Independence Square).

The Majestic Hotel is an ideal weekend break from Kuala Lumpur but not necessarily as a base for a Melaka trip but as a trip in itself that brings you back in time. I’ve done weekends away at the Majestic and left the hotel just for lunch and dinner while spending the rest of my time in the spa, reading in the library, lounging by the swimming pool or a hardy workout in the small but well equipped gym. A great place to pamper yourself and detach from the world around you.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Zulazman28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Quaint facade restored to it's original beauty. We had a cosy room with river view. Service staff very attentive and helpful.
Our most memorable time was a cooking lesson from the restaurant's Celebrity Chef Melba. She generously shared with us the secret of making a delicious sambal sauce.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JPT218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Majestic for 3 nights and had a great time. The building is beautiful and the rooms were spacious and comfortable. The staff were all friendly and were very helpful. The highlight of our trip was the brilliant cooking class conducted by Chef Melba and Chef JR. Both were really passionate about Kristang cuisine and the cultural and heritage that stems from it. The class was hugely enjoyable and we learned a stule of cooking that isn't available in London. We took the opportunity to buy Chef Melba's cook book so we could take the experience home to the UK. Thoroughly recommended and we can't wait to come back.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Vijay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Our stay here was a fantastic introduction to Malaysia. Our room had a good view and was beautifully appointed. The staff were excellent and so friendly and helpful. The welcome tea in your room is a lovely touch. It was my birthday and we had not mentioned this but still there were ribbons around my door and a special birthday pillow. We ate in the restaurant that night, were greeted by Melba the celebrity chef and treated to a cake. The pool is tiny but most welcome. The hotel walking tour was great - not only is it free but we were the only ones on it so we effectively had a private guide. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend if small heritage hotels are your preference.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Dwooda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews