We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Majestic Malacca
Ranked #2 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for two nights, a gem of a hotel. Our room was luxurious, tea served in the room on arrival and tasty snacks can be found in reception for the duration of the stay. This hotel has a colonial feel, the staff are very helpful and nothing g is too much trouble.
The pool is a welcome sight at the end of the day, there is a small gym but we didn’t use it.
The hotel is 10 minute pleasant walk to the centre, the weekend night market is a must. All sights are walkable, the river cruise is located near by and a one way ticket takes you to the centre too.
Breakfast is buffet style and you can choose from a menu too, it’s excellent quality and plentiful. My partner celebrated a birthday, we received a chocolate cake and tasty treats each night.
We had a wonderful time in Malacca and would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank harveybirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 1,462 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked a room over last weekend, to facilitate my plans to tour around my hometown like a tourist would. Making the choice for Majestic Malacca isn't hard as it's got lots of history behind it and being a member of SLH certainly lets you know you'll be surrounded by quality and luxury. I purchased a package listed of Expedia for a night's stay.

The reception experience was great, the staff warmly and courteously handled my check-in from the time I drove into the (not so convenient open-air) car park. You could drop off the car in front of the hotel, but you'll have to drive out (unless you valet) around the block to get into the car park.

The surroundings are kept meticulously clean and neat and the hedges and trees, trimmed and beautiful. It was as if I was stepping back into the colonial times when greeted with the aptly uniformed staff in their colonial times uniform.

The room is elegantly decorated with a four poster bed and a clawfoot bathtub being the centerpieces. The hotel staff also brought along a rattan woven chinese teapot warmer, along with the tea inside to serve us. Amenities in the room didn't disappoint, except if I had to nitpick, apart from the bath salts, the bath foam for the tub wasn't provided.

I did not get a chance to use the (smallish) swimming pool nor the glass walled gym that overlooked the pool. Nevertheless, like the hotel itself, it was well designed, and equipped.

There is also a spa in the hotel for those would like to soothe their bodies and rejuvenate their senses. I did not have the opportunity to try it out but the services looked very inviting.

Overall it was a short and pleasant stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel for couples who want to experience a piece of historical Malacca.

Room Tip: You may want to stock up your room with some snacks or food as the hotel does not have room dining s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatKhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

The Majestic in Melaka isn’t the most centrally located, its quite a distance from the “heartbeat” of Melaka with the A’Formosa, Stadthaus, the other Dutch colonial buildings and Independence Square about 10 minutes by car. People tend to forget that when Tunku Abdul Rahman, the first Prime Minister arrived back from London with an agreement for an independent Malaya he landed at Melaka Airport and he declared independence at what is now Independence Square in front of the Stadthaus.

The Majestic Hotel, in its original form, wasn’t a hotel at all but began life as a typical (in terms of architecture and display of wealth) Chinese tycoon’s Straits Settlement Mansion in 1929. By the 1960s it was converted into a 3 Star hotel called The Majestic declining into a backpacker budget hotel until it closed down in 2000. There’s an abandoned 1950s Cinema across the road at the banks of the Melaka River. The Majestic faces the Kampung Herren on the opposite bank of the river. A setting that is steeped in history.

YTL Hotels bought it over the “shell” and restored this into the Majestic Hotel in 2008. This became Melaka’s first luxury 5 star boutique hotel. The luxurious 54 suites and rooms are housed in a modern purpose built block behind the original Mansion. The staff, from front desk, F&B and the spa, are exceptional.

The Mansion was gutted and transformed into the epicentre of the Majestic experience. The whole building and its decor brings you back to the height of Melaka’s heyday. A small elegant bar to the right as you enter and a quaint and discrete reception to the left. The chequered black and white tiled floor highlights the rich Persian carpets that are strategically placed under every seating area. A nice touch is small glass bottles of biscuits, reminiscent of those at the local grocery shops of the 1950s, at the many side tables scattered throughout the building. There’s a library, much in the colonial fashion, which is nice place for fusion English style cream tea with fresh scones and mini spring rolls. Upstairs is the equally elegant dining room. The cascade breakfast is an experience in itself! Nearby - literally around the corner and walkable - there is (non halal) chicken rice with famous chicken rice balls and pork bone soup. The renown Bibek Neo is about 15 minutes away (by car) and serves authentic Peranakan delicacies.

The addition of the world class Village Spa really boosts your stay and your senses. The massages and wellness programmes are reasonably priced with masseurs from and trained in Bali. A perfect place to unwind after exploring a hectic (and usually crowded) Jonker Street or shopping in Dataran Mall (a shopping centre built underneath Independence Square).

The Majestic Hotel is an ideal weekend break from Kuala Lumpur but not necessarily as a base for a Melaka trip but as a trip in itself that brings you back in time. I’ve done weekends away at the Majestic and left the hotel just for lunch and dinner while spending the rest of my time in the spa, reading in the library, lounging by the swimming pool or a hardy workout in the small but well equipped gym. A great place to pamper yourself and detach from the world around you.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Zulazman28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Quaint facade restored to it's original beauty. We had a cosy room with river view. Service staff very attentive and helpful.
Our most memorable time was a cooking lesson from the restaurant's Celebrity Chef Melba. She generously shared with us the secret of making a delicious sambal sauce.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JP T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Majestic for 3 nights and had a great time. The building is beautiful and the rooms were spacious and comfortable. The staff were all friendly and were very helpful. The highlight of our trip was the brilliant cooking class conducted by Chef Melba and Chef JR. Both were really passionate about Kristang cuisine and the cultural and heritage that stems from it. The class was hugely enjoyable and we learned a stule of cooking that isn't available in London. We took the opportunity to buy Chef Melba's cook book so we could take the experience home to the UK. Thoroughly recommended and we can't wait to come back.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Vijay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.1 km away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 168 in Melaka
1,488 reviews
1.4 km away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 168 in Melaka
2,476 reviews
2.5 km away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 168 in Melaka
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 168 in Melaka
641 reviews
1 km away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
1 km away
The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Malacca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Malacca

Address: 188 Jalan Bunga Raya | Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly Majestic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melaka
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
#2 Spa Hotel in Melaka
Price Range: $177 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Majestic Malacca 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the spirit of Malacca’s commercial History, The Majestic Malacca provides an ideal location for productive retreats. Conveniently located in the heart of a UNESCO World Heritage site and only a short drive from Kuala Lumpur and Singapore. The rich culture and history of the city inspires intimate brainstorms and business meetings in this 54-room boutique hotel. Creativity and innovation and enhanced on the quiet luxurious conference centre ensuring efficiency, performance, and optimal outcomes as each event is supported by modern communications and executed to perfection in any one of the hotel’s three versatile function rooms by knowledgeable and efficient staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Majestic Malacca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing