We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Majestic Malacca
Ranked #2 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We stayed in for 2 nights for a short getaway. The staffs in this hotel were all very friendly and helpful. We definitely enjoy our holiday here and look forward to returning.

The colonial building and concept with the use of traditional chinese tea pot and cups as a welcome drink is something new to us. Hotel is situated just along the river with lights up at night. It's definitely not as centralized as Holiday Inn or Hatten hotel where the malls are but we loved the view and concept of this place. It boosts an amazing unblock view of the river and sea, definitely better than looking into another building or roads and highways. The lovely sunset in the evening is entirely another thing.

We drove in here and were not quite sure about other modes of transport. However, traffic was rather ok except when you get near to the malls and got stuck in a 5-10mins jam. The hotel provides complimentary parking lots and you have to make sure you ask them to reserve one for you. We had been told there were parking lots nearby (we realized these are just outside Majestic's carpark) without guard and we had to ask again for a lot in the hotel before being given one. Initially we were a little concern as the main entrance/gate of the hotel is open at all times and anyone may just walk in unnoticed and head straight to the carpark at the side of the hotel. Eventually, we realized there was always someone at the main door looking out for guest returning and attending to their needs. It seemed pretty safe. There was also a guard at the carpark entrance (at the back) looking after the cars parked there.

The room was definitely spacious and good size probably due to the open bathroom concept. Bed was huge and comfortable although it's not the firm kind (i.e. 8/10 firmness) I preferred. Bathtub was unique with the claw legs. However, the tub is made of plastic and easily moved. A slight knock will move it out of place. Anyway, we were glad that the shower area is separated from the tub as we really dislike climbing into the tub for shower. There is also a ceiling fan and I find that extremely useful.

We enjoyed pretty fast cabled internet connection (not like 4G kind). Wifi is only available in the lobby. However, the staffs were nice enough to provide us with a router in our room as we had 5 devices that required internet connection during our stay. We really appreciate that.

The pool is small and you can hardly swim in it unless you feel like getting wet and soaked. The gym is decent overlooking the carpark. Nothing spectacular but does its job.

Not much of in-room dining here and the food served are pretty expensive. Check out the menu in my pictures and last order before 10:30pm. We prefer to eat out as there is a chinese restaurant serving seafood and basic dishes (煮炒) just outside the Majestic carpark entrance. Locals all dine there. Our favourite is the Ta Chi restaurant further down the road. Young boss who makes interesting coffees and pretty good food. The non-chinese staff there are totally non-conversant in English FYI.

If you get bored, there is a 24hrs convenience store across the street (ask the recept for directions). Just outside the store, there is a guy selling all kinds of movies on his makeshift counter. You can watch them in the hotel room which come with a DVD player.

The only annoyance came in the day when the hotel staffs are busy doing house-keeping/cleaning. We sleep late and sound-proofing seems like an issue here. Light sleepers definitely get awoken easily. Pretty annoying.

Room Tip: Pick the high floor ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJS885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted to know that your stay was pleasant. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

974 - 978 of 1,462 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2012

An interesting place ,trying to be very colonial , the rooms were of high standard as were the staff. The Spa was of the ususal high standard with amazing treatment -- would definately recommend having a massage.The only downside was the resturant lacked atmoshere ,with high ceiling and bight lighting, however the food was fine, not a huge selection of Malay food.
The highlight of our 2 days there was a walking tour by Choo a wonderful lady with a great sense of humour and super historic and cuurent knowledge of Mela/aj

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LordsofYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and it is much appreciated. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Recommended by friends, this place did not disappoint, quite the opposite in fact. In many ways it reminded me of a less grand version of the Metropole in Hanoi, though in the Metropole I've been forutnate enough to stay in the original room above reception, whereas as the Majestic here has, understandably, all guests rooms in a modern block close behing the original mansion.

The rooms are spacious, well-appointed and with a lovely bathroom arrangement in which shutters are pulled when privacy is required. The free-standing bath is made of plastic apparently, which surprised me a little, but it was perfectly adequate for its' purpose and everything else in the room was perfect. We were served jasmine tea on arrival in our room, a nice touch from a charming hostess, indicative of the high standard of personl attention we would receive throughout our 4 night stay. Incidentally, arriving at mid-day I'd expected not to be able to check-in, but we were pleasingly whisked to our room after the obigatory wet-towel and fuss-free check-in.
We didn't eat in the restuarant, mainly because Melacca has too much to offer for such a short stay. Breakfasts were very good, with a huge choice, perhaps the dining room staff were a little over-formal at times, but such is a mere quibble, not a criticism. There is a small bar at the hotel, useful for a pre-prandial cocktail, and for rustling up night-cap taken in the library before bed; I urge guests to avail themselves of the services of the highly competent barman.
Just over the river is the Kampong Morten, a Malay village in the middle of the city, which includes a museum run by the estimabe Mr Abdul Rahmin. The museum is also his home, and he conducts brief tours during which he will expound on the remarkable history of his family. Well worth visit, it was one of the highlghts of of month's travel.
You'll probably see monitor lizards if you walk into town along the river, it well worth the trip, there are cafes/bars along periodically along both side of the river.
The hotel pool is small but perfectly adequate for an afternoon dip, and the hotel houses a spa with a good reputation - didn't try it as spas are simply not my thing.
An enquiry about train times the day before I left led to a member of staff taking full responsibility for checking train times, reservations and organising us a taxi to the station - approximately 30 kilometres away. Such service stays with you, though the name of the chap who helped has slipped my cocktail-befuddled brain.
The Majestic then, recommended by chums, exceeded my expectation of what was available in Melacca. It is likely to be a while before I pass that way again, sadly, but when the occasion arises my snooy head will be found resting on those crisp white pillows.

Room Tip: They're all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GraemeySunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted to know that your stay was pleasant. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

A friend and I went last weekend (3 & 4th of November 2012) and had the best time ever. The hotel has such a great charm to it, it was clean, spacious and had the extra touches to the Nyonya & Baba heritage. Its away from the main strip but a only a short walk - less than 10 mins to Jonkers street.

Natjwa - the friendly staff who checked us in was very pleasant and had a lovely personality telling us all the best places to go, eat, buy stuff etc

I was really touched by Choo who accompanied us in the car to direct us to a shop where I accidentally left my shopping at. She also updated us with all the facinating insights to the history of Melaka. She really has a strong passion for what she does !

We also enjoyed the order to cook breakfast... great quality !

Tip : The hotel is really on Jalan Bunga Raya Pantai, not Jalan Bunga Raya.

I would definately go back and spend more time !

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Islandgal09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and it is much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

If you want to be transported back a hundred years minus the inconveneince, stay in this hotel! Don't forget to look for Choo, the resident historian and guide for everything local! She (and the rest of the staff, even their Chef!) is perhaps one of the things that make this hotel special!

Service is great and their staff are all very professional and attentive! The spa and their hair ritual is a MUST-TRY! These extra touches possibly make this property 6 or 7 star!

If you go during the monsoon and are stuck in the hotel, try to spa and their coking classes! perfect way to experience the culture of Malacca without leaving the hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaTan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Dear Ms. Angela Tan,

Thank you for your feedback and it is much appreciated. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.1 km away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 168 in Melaka
1,488 reviews
1.4 km away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 168 in Melaka
2,477 reviews
2.5 km away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 168 in Melaka
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 168 in Melaka
643 reviews
1 km away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
1 km away
The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Malacca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Malacca

Address: 188 Jalan Bunga Raya | Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly Majestic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#1 Family Hotel in Melaka
#2 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
Price Range: $177 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Majestic Malacca 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the spirit of Malacca’s commercial History, The Majestic Malacca provides an ideal location for productive retreats. Conveniently located in the heart of a UNESCO World Heritage site and only a short drive from Kuala Lumpur and Singapore. The rich culture and history of the city inspires intimate brainstorms and business meetings in this 54-room boutique hotel. Creativity and innovation and enhanced on the quiet luxurious conference centre ensuring efficiency, performance, and optimal outcomes as each event is supported by modern communications and executed to perfection in any one of the hotel’s three versatile function rooms by knowledgeable and efficient staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Majestic Malacca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing