We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,565)
Filter reviews
1,565 results
Traveller rating
963
450
110
25
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
963
450
110
25
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa village ytl hotels lychee tea colonial style the river original mansion modern building colonial feel jonker street four poster bed walking tour claw foot turn down service small pool kampung morten cold towels semi buffet
Filter
Updating list...
1,163 - 1,168 of 1,565 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Staying at this hotel was a wonderful experience. The main hotel is an old colonial building with charming sitting rooms and a front bar. It was very well restored and exudes a tremendous amount of old world charm. The hotel rooms are new, so you do get a mix of modern comforts as well. The room was extremely comfortable -- I loved the open concept (bathroom separated by sliding doors), the bed and the decor. The staff was incredibly friendly -- providing recommendations for local food and paranakan restaurants -- and the breakfast was excellent. The location didn't bother me at all -- it's not like Malacca is a bustling metropolis. I look forward to staying at this hotel -- it's one of my favorites.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I came here with my family and we booked 3 rooms.
The rooms are marvelous and the service from the concierge to front desk is splendid.
The only downside of the hotel is that you can hear the water pumps of the other rooms which can be kind of frustrating as it's quite loud.

However with the only minor downside, I can live with it.
I will definitely stay here again if I ever come to Malacca again.

Room Tip: Come down and stay here for a try. Too hard to explain by mouth. I guarantee you won't regret.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wwsfeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

The Majestic is a very beautiful hotel with the colonial decor and traditional ambience but with all the modern comfort and luxury. Location is not perfect but we love that it is not too near the tourist spots but also not too far to walk.
The staff are all generally very polite and friendly. We also love the breakfast, where we get to choose from the menu with bread and pastries from the buffet.

However the hotel has it's flaws. We arrived at the hotel early, about half an hour before check-in time at 3pm and was informed that our room was not ready as the guests have not left. This is not good as we have informed the hotel about our expected arrival time. Nevertheless as we were early it was no harm waiting for half an hour, so we waited.. We waited and saw guests who arrived after us got their rooms first..after more than 1 hour we checked with reception and got the feeling that they've forgotten about us..and 2 minutes later were brought to our room..We also didn't get the complimentary welcome tea! We were too tired by then to say anything!

The sound insulation to the room is very poor. We didn't have a good night sleep on our 2nd night because we could hear all the talking and laughing from next door throughout the night and them using the toilet in the early morning. Not sure whether this applies to only connecting rooms.

We still like The Majestic despite it's flaws.. and hope to go there again. Hopefully we get to experience all consistent good service and good night sleep :)

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Family544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon and definitely made the right choice! The room was beautiful- had a very colonial feel with lovely wooden furniture and a gorgeous bathroom with a roll topped bath. The service was fantastic- from staff staying up till midnight to greet us, decorating our room and a rose bath along with a chocolate dessert when they found out it was our honeymoon, organizing taxis for us and chef coming in early to make breakfast for us when we had to leave at 6.30 to get a flight. Along With the nightly turn down with sweet treat and fresh flowers. Service was always with a smile and you felt nothing was too great a task. The food was delicious - breakfast had freshly squeezed orange juice, fruit, homemade pastries and a delicious choice of cooked items- not your standard selection which was a treat. They also do a good high tea and dinner was absolutely delicious blend of Malay mixed with west. We also treated ourselves to a morning in the spa and it was great- very relaxing and worth the extra money compared to the massage places in town for the little touches they add.
Would recommend anyone coming to Melaka who enjoy the old colonial feel with fabulous service to stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Though alot smaller than we had envisioned, the Majestic hotel impressed at every turn. From the amazing service and friendly greetings from the staff, the brief introduction to the hotel as the bell hop showed us to our room and the room that eventually greeted us - an oversized and immensely comfortable bed, a deep luxurious tub perfect for a warm bath and complete with bath salts, a flat screen tv, and carpet padded floors, we couldn't have asked for more. The decor was a throw back in time but epitomizes old time luxury living with everything you could ever need and more thought of.... there were even sweets at our disposal as we sauntered our way across the marbled lobby.

I would go back to the majestic in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shunuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews