We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Peranakan house in Melaka's Chinatown”
Review of Hotel Puri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Puri
Ranked #11 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Puri Hotel is set in one of the finest buildings in Melaka, opening onto a gorgeous courtyard garden. My boyfriend and I stayed there over a year ago; as budget travellers, Puri Hotel is not the one we'd normally include in our budget accomodation list but for one night (that's what you need to spend in Melaka), we decided to give it a go and enjoyed its charmful and romantic settings. If you have a bit of extra money go there. Rooms are big and elegant, common areas and the garden will leave you speechless. Staff is so-so, professional but unfortunately not really smiling. However, this does not effected our perfect stay. Included breakfast was really filling and delicious. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

764 - 768 of 1,238 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2010

My husband picked this hotel based on the name only so we were a little unsure of what to expect and I must say we were pleasantly surprised. From the moment you enter the building its a like another world. The lobby is beautiful and smells divine, the grounds are green and peaceful and there are all little places to explore - all up a wonderful experience. By Malaysian standards, yes the rooms are pricey but once convert to Australian dollars its really quite reasonable. We stayed in the deluxe room and since arriving home and seeing other travellers photos of the standard rooms I highly recommend paying that bit extra for a deluxe. Much more space, a nice view of the garden, furniture with character.
You have to remember the building is old so it isn't perfect but that's what the charm of the place is. No lifts so if you want a lift don't stay here.. The rooms are on the dark side but remember that's to keep it cool.
Breakfast was nice, lots to choose from but I think the best part of brekkie was sitting out in the courtyard.
Jo, one of the staff there was very helpful and suggested places to see and the like. It was lovely to chat with someone so proud of the town they live and place they work.
All up I loved Melaka and would recommend it to anyone who asked. There's hidden gems everywhere in the town, you just have to look hard enough! Honestly I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BettyFNQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

Good location, beautiful buidling and interior. The area where breakfast is served and the outside cafe/bar are both really nice - a quiet oasis. The rooms were comfortable but nothing special. Double rooms were more expensive than twin rooms so we ended up in a twin room - anything to stay in budget! No wifi in rooms, only in the downstairs bar and there is one computer in computer room, for which there is a charge.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieP_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

Singapore 09-Nov-2010: We visited Melaka during 4th to 7th Nov'10 and stayed in Hotel Puri. The desire to stay in a small boutique hotel in the midst of UNESCO heritage site should be sufficiently overwhelming to overlook some of the limitation in terms of facilities that the hotel can offer. While being neat, clean and moderately comfortable, it isn’t entirely friendly from service perspective and certainly will challenge elderly travelers and those travelling with very young kids. Our family personal rating having stayed in suite was just average and nothing to write home about vis-à-vis the cost that we paid that compared with the likes of Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psaha_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

We arrived after a long flight from London and as soon as we walked in we felt relaxed. The lobby and gardens are fantastic. The staff were also very helpful, polite and friendly.
We chose this hotel as we wanted something different from identikit chain hotels and this did not disappoint. The rooms would be even better with a fresh coat of paint but I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonny05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 km away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
2.8 km away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 168 in Melaka
655 reviews
0.8 km away
The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 168 in Melaka
745 reviews
0.4 km away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 168 in Melaka
1,488 reviews
1.1 km away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 168 in Melaka
2,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri

Address: Hotel Puri Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
Price Range: $52 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Puri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puri Melaka is a boutique hotel in the heart of the old city of Malacca. The hotel is a carefully restored Peranakan house which once belonged to the decendants of an eminent philanthropist and rubber plantation owner, Tan Kim Seng. Extending 100 metres long, its distinct characteristics are its beautiful and intricately decorated façade & the impressive length of the house. Retaining its old charm, Hotel Puri Melaka provides modern amenities to its hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Hotel Puri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing