We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience & character”
Review of Hotel Puri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Puri
Ranked #11 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2007

We stayed here 3 nights on our recent trip. We had booked over the internet directly with the hotel a RM230 room (inc breakfast).
When we checked in - we were given a pass to a room that was occupied and came back to reception only to receive an apology that our room allocation had changed. However we were allocated a much smaller room - I suspect the people who had been moved into 'our room' had complained!
The next day we returned to check the price (given the fact we had seen the much bigger first room fleetingly) only to be told our tiny room was the same price as it faced the courtyard. However, they moved us to a larger room (when it became available) for the next 2 nights.
Generally we liked the hotel - it was convenient, comfortable and atmospheric - we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EfJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

910 - 914 of 1,235 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2007

well located nice hotel convenient for everywhere in town...breakfast buffet basic and rooms modest but very adequate...if you want to try breakfast across the street really great...

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LONDONUK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2007

We stayed in this hotel one night in Apr 2007. It's within a well maintained historic building located in a nice street. The location was handy within the old town. The room was modest. Opening the room window would see the stair case, believed for fire escape, with a few outdoor aircon units sitting there. Outside the room, the high ceiling hotel included a sort-of-museum and a few nice decorated rooms. They are very well presented, particularly a room behind the lobby next to the court yard. There were bird nests in this well decorated room, and many birds flying in and out having fun. They were not swallows but looked similar. The court yard was nice. The breakfast was quiet ordinary, though.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ECAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2007

We stayed at this hotel as it was very well reviewed on this and other travel forums and for good reason.

It is a very cute/quaint accommodation located in the heart of Chinatown in Melaka. Right around the corner there are several bars and the hotel is on a street parallel to the night market in Chinatown.

The rooms are very clean and well kept. Bathroom facilities are good and you are provided with soap and shampoo. Our shower was immense. The AC worked well and the room has a TV which received about 8 channels or so incl. a movie channel. Note: it seems most movies we saw had been edited for TV and language and sexual material, etc. were removed.

A large breakfast is served in a very nice dining area daily and includes eggs prepared as you like with coffee/tea/juice, fried hot dogs, fresh fruit and local noodle and rice dishes.

One area of the hotel caters to local sparrow populations and they nest in there. I didn't find this so cute as the room is covered with their "evidence" even though the doorways under the nests have small plastic awnings. They also make a lot of noise in the mornings, but this is apparently one of the distinctive features of the hotel.

I had considered other hotels in Melaka, however, in my walks around the city I was glad I selected Puri. By Malaysian standards it is a bit more expensive, but it is well worth it and the price isn't at all unreasonable.

Staff were very courteous and responsive and there are spa services available.

We arrived in Melaka by bus, so parking wasn't a concern for us, however, I don't know if the hotel has parking available if you are arriving by car. The hotel is located on a very narrow street with lots of traffic and sometimes it is difficult to walk down that street due to parked cars and a lack of sidewalks.

That said, I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Melaka.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank cch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2007

We really enjoyed our stay in the Hotel Puri. It's in a great location in Chinatown and has lots of character. The staff are friendly and helpful and we enjoyed dining in the outdoor courtyard.

The only downside was that the walls between the rooms were quite thin, so the TV in the room next door disturbed our sleep.

Stayed: March 2007
Thank UKtraveller53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 km away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
2.8 km away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 168 in Melaka
653 reviews
0.2 km away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 168 in Melaka
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing
0.4 km away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 168 in Melaka
1,480 reviews
1.1 km away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 168 in Melaka
2,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Melaka

Been to Hotel Puri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri

Address: Hotel Puri Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melaka
#7 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
Price Range: $53 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Puri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puri Melaka is a boutique hotel in the heart of the old city of Malacca. The hotel is a carefully restored Peranakan house which once belonged to the decendants of an eminent philanthropist and rubber plantation owner, Tan Kim Seng. Extending 100 metres long, its distinct characteristics are its beautiful and intricately decorated façade & the impressive length of the house. Retaining its old charm, Hotel Puri Melaka provides modern amenities to its hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Puri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing