We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Puri Hotel Melaka”
Review of Hotel Puri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Puri
Ranked #12 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2009

My husband and I have just returned from a short break in Malaysia. We caught a taxi from LCCT airport to Melaka at a cost of 159RM ($55.55c australian). For a journey that took nearly 2 hours, we thought this was very good value.
We stayed at the Puri Hotel which is just around the corner from Jonker Street. The hotel was everything that I had read about it.
Very old, but magnificently maintained. The room we had was on the ground floor and overlooked the garden. The bathroom was small but very very clean, the shower was one of the best we have experienced on our many travels. The garden resturant was lovely. Breakfast didn`t have much choice, but for what we paid, was probably worth it. Staff were pleasant, and we had no complaints at all. The hotel is in an exellent position, we walked everywhere (and we are both in our 60`s)
We would definitely stay at the Puri again. In fact we are already making plans to return October/November 2010 with my husbands brother and wife. I cant post any photos yet, cause I havent downloaded them from the camera .
Heather and John Perth Australia

3  Thank chooky47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,224)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Puri
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

804 - 808 of 1,224 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2009

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night late Oct. We drove from Singapore and it was great that the hotel provided secure parking in their small parking lot. The room was small but quaint, just like the rest of the hotel. Air-con in room was a little weak but after a while it got cool. Small bathroom with tiny shower. Breakfast was simple with both local and western choices, served at a undercover outdoor area.

Location of this hotel is great, you could walk around to many of the local shops, sites and eateries.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoyoggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

This would be my third time staying at Hotel Puri. Nice hotel in an excellent location. In the heart of Malacca old town and just a street behind Jonker St where you get a pasar malam (night market) on Saturdays.

Rooms are basic and clean but could do with a curtain at the window. The light shines in when the sun is up. So, this is gonna be a problem if you intend to sleep late.

Wifi connection is horrible. I've only managed to connect once in my entire stay. So, if you're on business or a person that needs Internet connection, this is something you'll need to take note.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idleworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

My wife and I checked in late after being disappointed with another hotel we had booked. We were very impressed with the check in, as Hazamilah was great and helped us throughout our stay. We thought we would only stay one night but it ended up to be four. The hotel was just what we wanted, after doing tours of Chinese homes on Pinong the previous three days, This is a great old Chinese home that has loads of history and a great staff. The room was small but we spent most of our hotel time in the lobby reading and visiting with staff and other guests. Rose, as student intern, was very helpful, greeting all guests as they came in the door. The one downside was the poor quality of carpet we saw in one of the halls. Our hall had tile, as did our room, which was very much appreciated. Overall, we had a great stay at the Puri.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

Stayed over the weekend 9Oct. We booked well in advance although hotel is full we got what we requested. (ground floor, connecting rms)
It is a beautifully restored peranakan house. Everything is within walking distance if you don't mind the heat. (Jonker street,St Paul's Church,Mahkota) Hotel also provide a useful map of the restaurants nearby.
Superior rooms are spacious and clean. For the price they charged i have no complain. Rooms also have all the basic amentities such as hairdryer, safe box.
Breakfast included is not extravagant but sufficient to start a day. Selections include toast, egg station, cereals, fruits, a few other hot items and a starch item. There was fried noodles on Sat morning and nasi lemak and porridge on Sun.
Overall this is a good hotel. For the price paid i dont expect personalised service. Generally all staff are polite and helpfully. I would definitely go back in future.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WantotravelSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 km away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.1 km away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 167 in Melaka
734 reviews
0.4 km away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
634 reviews
1.1 km away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 167 in Melaka
2,401 reviews
0.9 km away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Melaka

Been to Hotel Puri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri

Address: Hotel Puri Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melaka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#7 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
Price Range: $50 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Puri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puri Melaka is a boutique hotel in the heart of the old city of Malacca. The hotel is a carefully restored Peranakan house which once belonged to the decendants of an eminent philanthropist and rubber plantation owner, Tan Kim Seng. Extending 100 metres long, its distinct characteristics are its beautiful and intricately decorated façade & the impressive length of the house. Retaining its old charm, Hotel Puri Melaka provides modern amenities to its hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Puri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing