We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An authentic, spacious and well designed small hotel in the middle of Melaka/Malacca that offers affordable accommodation, prett”
Review of Hotel Puri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Puri
Ranked #11 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I have always been fascinated with Melaka's history and melded culture so was delighted when I got the chance to stay over whilst i was staying with friends in KL.

I was looking for a one night only experience in Melaka to soak up the night markets atmosphere after having spent my Saturday cruising the historical sites and architecture. I had looked for a hotel prior to arrival but many places we're booked due to school holidays (same story all over the world!!).

I cruised the main streets in "downtown" Melaka and stumbled across Hotel Puri. I was staying on my own so price was a consideration. The foyer is spacious with many local images and artifacts. The ladies on the front desk were helpful, knowledgeable and very welcoming.

The room I chose was on the 2nd floor overlooking the courtyard near the Spa. All rooms have shutters as well as double glazing, air con etc The room had two single beds (all doubles/queens were taken). However the bed was roomy and comfortable as was the pillow,which is often where hotels overlook comfort! The basics were provided re kettle, iron, tv, hair dryer etc

Breakfast was included in the price. The breakfast was as expected- fruit, toast, western eggs and some Malayasian food like Nasi Lemak, all served up in a lovely open courtyard.
There are about 4 separate chill out areas in such a well designed small hotel - all courtyards a alfresco with fountains. I did not try the Spa but it looked lovely-maybe next time!

One of the unique aspects of the hotel Puri is its long term relationship with the local Swiftiets.
These tiny, delicate birds have been building (regurgitating) their nests for the past 15-20 years in Hotel Puri. They are nestled into the high walls and build their nests daily, to be harvested by the locals 3x a year. The hotel have never interrupted their pattern and has allowed them to become a very special and delicate attraction. Of course these are sold for birds nest soup - which is very expensive due to its supposed healing properties!

Hotel Puri is in a prime location for the night markets, walking over to the Dutch/Portuguese quarter and access to the river for a stroll. The town takes on a new identify at night with music and market mayhem everywhere including pensioner karaoke in the town square -something to be seen and heard!!!

My room cost approx $60 which is great value considering the interest and attraction of Melaka itself. I would recommend this hotel to All travellers, including families.

Ps. Don't miss out on a unique, sound blasting, color dazzling Trishaw experience- especially at night. Truly different!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,224)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Puri
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

593 - 597 of 1,224 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2012

Our stay in this quaint hotel was pleasant. Our standard room is small with twin beds, the windows look into the inner courtyard garden. The bathroom was tiny but clean. Breakfast was simple and basic. The location is great, walk to the historic sites, interesting shops and the river walk in the evening is beautiful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maclinksgoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed for 2 nights here and found the location excellent. The hotel is situated in a beautiful restored house with many antique furnishings of a previous age. We had been told to expect service at the hotel to be poor; but were quite pleasantly surprised as hotel staff although not as friendly as in other Malaysian hotels we stayed in were perfectly pleasant and helpful.

Our room was on two levels; the bedroom being up open stairs and shower, toilet and wardrobe downstairs. Not the easiest configuration. Also, the shuttered windows from the bedroom only looked on to roof tops; and the downstairs shuttered windows looked on to the inside of the hotel so could not be opened. This felt very claustrophobic.

The breakfast was described to us as simple and simple it was. However, there were no adult cereals apart from cornflakes and no yoghurt other than sugary fruit ones. The tea was already made and was thick builders tea and the coffee not really drinkable. However, the egg station was good and there was a limited fresh fruit selection. The breakfast was set out in a beautiful courtyard and there was another courtyard offering light snacks and drinks in the evening.

All in all, I would recommend this hotel but with some reservation for the lack of windows and limited breakfast. However, the historic building made up for it if the stay is for no longer than a couple of nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows that do not just look out on to roof tops.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerriekhowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Selected this hotel after several good reviews and they are right that they are right that the hotel is clean. If you have heavy luggage, you will have to lug it all way up via stairway. Room is clean but bed and pillows is soft. Unfortunately, I am not use to soft mattress and have hard time to get a good sleep. Location is close to jonker street within walking distance about 5 mins walk and there are food all around that area and close to street hawker that close for all food stalls on weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pheng2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

This was my 3rd stay at the Hotel Puri and I do like it. We always have an easy check in and the rooms are nice. The first morning we got a newspaper on the door, the second we didnt. They didnt top up the tea and coffee in the room on the second day (we stayed 3 days). Breakfasts ok though not as good a last year. There were limited Malaysia Kuiy this time (last time a good mix of pandan kiuy etc) This time lots of funny colourful little cakes which on the mornings we ate were hardly touched by the guests. As for cereals. I dont get Malaysian hotels. They always put out kiddies cereals like cocoa crunch and honey stars. How about a muesli option too? Overall, staff friendly though fix up the consistency with newspapers and topping up the room supplies.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gordiereid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 km away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
2.8 km away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
634 reviews
0.4 km away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 167 in Melaka
734 reviews
1.1 km away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 167 in Melaka
2,398 reviews
0.9 km away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Melaka

Been to Hotel Puri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri

Address: Hotel Puri Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melaka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#7 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
Price Range: $50 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Puri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puri Melaka is a boutique hotel in the heart of the old city of Malacca. The hotel is a carefully restored Peranakan house which once belonged to the decendants of an eminent philanthropist and rubber plantation owner, Tan Kim Seng. Extending 100 metres long, its distinct characteristics are its beautiful and intricately decorated façade & the impressive length of the house. Retaining its old charm, Hotel Puri Melaka provides modern amenities to its hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Puri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing