We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ringo's Foyer Guest House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
USD 85*
USD 68*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 68*
USD 48*
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa del Rio Melaka(Melaka)
USD 160*
USD 148*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 47*
USD 40*
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 58*
USD 50*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 49*
USD 42*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 57*
USD 53*
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 67*
USD 52*
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 51*
USD 43*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 71*
USD 45*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
81
60
15
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
60
15
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsrooftop terracesocial hostellying aroundwalking distance from everythingbathrooms toiletsevery eveningrent bicyclesjonker streetdorm bedsfiltered waterbus stopcommunal areaswe stayed in a double roomfew minutes walkfree breakfastsimple breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2011

A guy named Howard runs (owns?) the guesthouse and is a wonderful host. The place itself is a throwback to the hostels of the late 90's. It's very warm and welcoming, but may be a little too mellow for some. If you're looking for luxury hostels, Ringo's may not be the place for you. But, if you're looking for a chill place to BBQ on the rooftop and meet other travelers, then this is the place for you. The layout of the guesthouse is a little confusing, but you'll get use to it after your first day. The service is excellent and it's very close to the Melaka's hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nosearg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

This hostel is one of the most basic I have ever seen. Very run down, shabby and dirty. Only 1 bathroom per floor for everyone to share. Positives: free WiFi, A/C in the bedrooms and the guy working there is very friendly and organises an outing every evening with the guests. Need to decide if you can put up with the dirt and lizards and be able to enjoy the overall experience.

Room Tip: Rooms very basic and run down
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Voilareally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

We were in Ringo's for three nights. I had expected an attached bathroom (by my fault) which Ringo's does not offer. Location is not very central but OK. Bathrooms are always flooded but this is standard in Malaysia. During check-in the guy showed us our double room directly besides the video room with very loud video sound in our room. We asked for another room but he said video would only be during days, not at night. This was not true as we heard Pulp Fiction until 11:30 PM which was quite uncomfortable. When we forgot our passports in the room the reception guy (Sam) was very helpful and contacted me via facebook (although only knowing my name and country).

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhuhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We had a pretty good experience at Ringo's. Howard, the owner, is super friendly and makes it very easy to get to know everyone at the hostel, which makes for a very friendly atmosphere. He also organizes BBQs, dinners out, that sort of thing, and helped us buy our sim cards. And I think he also rents out bikes.

The place itself has many amenities: a nice rooftop area where we had a BBQ, hot water, free wifi, some air conditioned rooms, free drinking water/tea/coffee, a book exchange, and a TV. Our room was very clean. The location is great - very close to Chinatown.

Now for my complaints: the bed was one of the most uncomfortable beds I've ever slept in, with springs poking out everywhere, and a very lumpy pillow. We had to pile 2 towels and a blanket on the mattress or else we couldn't sleep at all. It was a bit noisy, but wasn't too bad with ear plugs.

Overall I'd recommend this place if you're looking for a good vibe, but not if you want comfort.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkhenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2011

Friendly and helpful staff. Too bad they were not very available and often there was no-one at the reception desk. Which makes check-out quite difficult.
The rooms were clean but noise from the lobby and surrounding rooms easily penetrated the thin cardboard walls. Another drawback was that there was only one hot shower in the guesthouse, resulting in queing !
We found it handy that the guesthouse rented out bikes to tour Melaka and the place had a spacious roof terrace.
Ringo's is a great place for socializing with fellow backpackers but don't expect too much comfort.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Asia_Travellers_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews