We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
18
29
23
7
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
29
23
7
14
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Stayed for 2 nights which was great because the bed was comfortable and the hostess was super duper friendly...highly recommanded to those who are looking for a cheap and near jonker street to stay!!!:)

Room Tip: attached bathroom is a plus
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank I'M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Fantastic choice of a hotel for travellers on a budget but not to the extend of a backpacker's budget

Pros:
1. OMG the location is amazing! Jonker Street is a few mins walk away. It's near enough for walking, but not too near that it's too crowded2
2. Sun May Hiong Satay, Pak Putra, Limbongan Burger, Nancy's Kitchen are all within 1 km away! We walked to all the places, so at least you burn off what you eat! and Kedai Kopi Soon Yen (great nyonya laksa, duck noodles, nyonya kuih!) is only ~2km away!
3. Simple but adequate. Really basic amenities but it's really just a room to return to at night. It has an attached bathroom & honestly that's all i wanted =)
4. Enough free parking for guests.

Cons:
1. Room walls are thin; you can hear everything LOL
2. Is super, super, super simple...basically a bed, a table with mirror, and a TV =)

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Try asking for rooms at the back...else it's a bit noisy as walls are thin
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antzgiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016

We stayed for 2 nights in Kota Lodge in a triple-room.

It looks a bit run-down but overall, serves it function well as a cheap place to rest after a tiring's day of exploration.

We were given the last room on the first level, which was way back of the hotel (they have a second level, accessed by staircase). It came with a dedicated shower/toilet and is a conducive room for resting - quiet, away from the road. Room was fairly clean, I swipe the floor with a moist wipe and hardly any stains were picked up.

Amenities: soap bar x2, flat-screen television, clothes hanger (can ask from the staff if not sufficient or not provided in the room), a table with 2 shallow drawers (we placed out luggage on top), free wifi. No water or kettle is provided, you can walk to the pantry located next to the check-in counter and serve yourself hot/cold water. They provide coffee/tea in the morning from 9am to around 11am.

Location: located within walking distance from the Jonker Street night market (takes place ever Fri-Sun). Small shops along the walk to Jonker street sells a lot of traditional snacks that are hardly seen these days in the city. For other attractions within Malacca, if you have an elderly and kid(s) in tow, it is best to drive and park in proximity to the heritage attractions.

Room Tip: Choose the room at the back of the hotel which is quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bliszy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2016

We arrived at this hotel by destiny as we had already made a booking in another hotel but when we got off the bus we met one of the kindest persons we’ve ever met: Mr Lee.
He offered us cheap and nice rooms and transfer to Melaca old town but was his kindness what made us lose our booking at the other place and jump to his car.
On our way to the hotel he showed us the best places to eat and what to order in each of them. When we arrived at the hotel we found a very nice and clean place, with a very comfortable room and super warm staff.
We spent 3 amazing days in Melaca thanks to Mr Lee who drove us to all the tourist attractions that were far from the old town and explained us a lot about the places, Melaca and Malasyan history and culture.
We also had dinner with him in one of the best hidden stalls where locals go, then we tried some other local dishes at a food court and finally went for some drinks at the rooftop of another hotel that he ownes.
Not only I highly recommend staying at Kota Lodge, but I believe meeting Mr Lee and spending some time with him is a MUST if you wanna have an unforgettable time in Melaca.

Room Tip: The cheapest rooms are not nice but the mid ones are way better.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pato C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016

I booked the cheapest one, but it is quite small and it doesn't seem clean. The worst part was that the room didn't have any power to connect ANYTHING!!! So ended up with my tablet dead. The toilet is shared (I had no problems with that).
The service in the morning is really good! The owners are really nice people, specially the husband (he was really helpful and I fell like a father). But the staff in the night is the worst! I wanted to make some tea after dinner and he practically send me to bed in not a good way! So if you have other options for the same price better to go to another place.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Analilian_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews