We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
35
26
14
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
26
14
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kailan boutique hotel baba nyonya shop lot area exterior and interior basic toiletries provided antique furnitures no lift premier king mini museum comfortable bed jonker street every corner cendol security personnel floor tiles rasam
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Hotel location is not walking distance from the main attraction i.e jonker street, a famosa etc but having own transport does help me move around town n get to see other interesting place in Bandar Melaka.

Like
Hotel has an interesting decor and nice ambience.
Room
Nicely decorated n carpeted
Mattress very comfortable
4 pillows i/o 2 which makes sleep come easier as i dont have to fight with hubby for extra

Dislike
Side table lamp not working due to faulty switch
Toilet not cleaned properly.
Watermark on the glass partition
Wall tile not cleaned as mold can be seen clearly in between tiles n floor tiles not scrub as it is slippery.Both are easily cleaned when i tried using a tissue
Toiled bowl not scrub properly
Worms can be seen crawling on the wall after using the toilet
All the above have been informed to the receptionist

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank zityusof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

We took family room and it is large and clean. There is a lift from ground to 2nd floor. The staff are friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast has good variety and good setting. The staff helped us to secure parking nearby.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer Lim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

I took a standard room with king-size bed. The hotel is beautiful with very traditional deco and is located in a shop-lot area. The reception was managed by a polite lady and we were helped to our room by a staff member. Check-in was hassle-free. Parking is available outside the hotel on the roadside.

The room was clean, bed comfortable but overall the room was very cramped as it was really small. The bathroom was also nice and basic but cramped as well. Other than that, the room and the bathroom were both clean.

What i love most about this hotel is the great food. So far, I find that the food here is even better than in Jonker Street. The menu is fairly good and service at the restaurant is good. The food portions are sufficient and the quality of food cooked is excellent.

If not for anything else, I will return for the food. I do hope they maintain the quality of the food.

The location is also quite good - it is in Kota Laksamana and a 10-minute drive from Jonker Street. The location is quite happening with lots of restaurants nearby and shops.

Just adjacent to the hotel, there are cafes and tea shops.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cj7174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

We stayed there for 2 nights. Love the concept of the hotel and every places is just nearby within the hotel. Rooms are clean and its comfy too. A very good opportunity for photographer as they have a nice design in the hotel. Planing to travel again

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 3 days 2 nights. The hotel was amazing. Located near to centre, not too crowded. There’s cool cafes near the area. Would definitely stay here again!

But there are few things that need to improve:
- We book the hotel in booking.com but we were told that we made a double booking. They asked us to cancel the other booking but how can we know since we only book for one room. They need to check with booking.com team instead of asking us to cancel it; one of the staff said, they don’t know because they receive 2 bookings. Please check with the other side next time.
- The staff asked if we needed an iron/hair dryer. Very generous of them, but when we chose the iron, staff said that the iron board is out of stock but asked us to iron on the table provided instead. how can we iron on the table without any cover? Who does that? Our room located opposite the utility room, and we saw an iron board at the utility room and took it anyway. I think the staff name is Ayu. But next time, please don’t recommend something that is not sure.
- The room service did not give a towel replacement after done for make up room. We need to call and ask for the towel. But thank you for the fast service.

Other than that, everything is good.
- King bed was comfy
- Room environment is nice
- loving the hotel vibe
- convenient

I did not mean to bash, don’t get me wrong, the hotel was amazing. Would definitely stay there again but there are few things that needed to improve. Overall, was a GOOD experience staying in Kapitan Kongsi Hotel. Thank you.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ilya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews