We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Osborne going downhill”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Osborne Resort Goa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Osborne Resort Goa
Ranked #36 of 110 Hotels in Calangute
KENT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Osborne going downhill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Just returned from staying at the Osborne and have to say nothing like it used to be.
We have stayed at Osborne about 8 times over the last 11 years and never really had a problem with the rooms apart from the beds which are rock hard and the food has never been that great, we also always seemed to get ill after eating there so this year we didn't eat there and surprise surprise no sickness.
We have always gone to Osborne mainly because of the waiting staff who were always very helpful and looked after the guests but this year the waiting staff are all new except for about 3 which have been moved to phase 3 from phase 2, we found the new waiters to be uninterested in their guests.
The Breakfasts of Coffee, Tea, Toast and Jam are supposed to be from 7-10 but the breakfast stuff was never out and ready for 7am and on one morning it was 7.30 before anything appeared and if like us you go out early this can be a problem and on this particular day there was a manager doing the toast and one of the waiters came out with the tea urn so i thought i would go and ask for some toast seeing as there were 2 members of staff there but they started having a conversation so i stood there a waited for them to finish thinking it was the polite thing to do but after the conversation was over the manager who is a new one to me and is not the Hotel manager so not to sure what his role is carried on with his toasting for some other guests who were leaving so i turned to the waiter to ask him and he totally ignored the fact i was there and picked up a cloth and started polishing the tea urn so we decided not to bother and we went and had breakfast at the beach and one last comment on the toast they use stale bread which you can tell when you bite into it.
You have to pay £76 extra when you get there if you want a room with A/C which has always been the case, so we paid it only for it to start leaking water into our room after 3 days, so i reported it to reception and nothing was done about it so we had to put a towel down to soak up the water and then it kept tripping out and they sent an electrician who came and done something to it and said it was fixed only for it to trip out again as soon as he was gone, then while i took a shower a man from reception came to the room and was quite rude to my Wife and said that it could not be fixed so i said they would have to refund me the 4 days we had remaining but they wanted us to move rooms which with only 4 days of our holiday left we didn't want to do so i insisted on the refund which i got the following morning.
So after the poor experience this year will be our last at the Osborne.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mart1Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    182
    109
    49
    42
See reviews for
77
215
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

This was our 4th time to Goa but 1st time to the Osborne. Others in our party had been before and had been impressed. We found the hotel to be very nice. The rooms are basic but are clean. The towels are changed everyday and the room boys make the beds and tidy up every day too. We stayed in Phase 2 with Peter as the Manager. He is a lovely man and very helpful. It was my Father-in-Laws birthday so he organised him a cake (which was yummy). The pool was lovely and clean and very cool so after a hard day at the beach you could unwind and cool down. Breakfast was in Phase 1, we did find the later you went down for breakfast the slower the toast would get and the eggs would take alot longer too. As we had our 2year old Daughter with us we were never later than 8am anyways. We found the staff to be helpful and very polite. It was a good experience and we would consider staying there again. The rooms boys made sculptures from the towels which were lovely to look at and good fun. Our Daughter loved the crocodile they did for us.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms in Phase 2 were lovely. 2 couples in our party were in Phase 3 and asked to be mov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

This hotel is located just off the main road. Its about a 20 minute walk to the beach but there are restaurants and shops to look in as you walk, depending which route you take.

The hotel has 3 parts to it, all which have a pool. We paid for bed and breakfast, however, this only includes tea/coffee, juice and toast. If you want anything else such as poached eggs, pancakes, beans on toast etc. these are charged as extra, but, being in Goa, this isn't so expensive.

The room was basic, very spacious and clean. We had a problem with the shower but as soon as it was reported maintenance turned up to fix it straight away.

The staff are friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble.

There were a few power cuts, usually around 5pm when we were wanting to get in the shower but the hotel has its own generator which they start up after a few minutes if the power company doesn't get the electricity back on straight away. The hotel provided a couple of candles and some matches but these weren't really needed. I took my own tea light candles, again I didn't really need them and I'd definitely recommend you take a torch as some of the roads don't have street lights. When walking around at night you might wonder where you are going as it seems you're in the middle of nowhere in the dark (some of the restaurants are down dark side roads) but then you'll come across a restaurant full of people.

Goa is a lovely place, the people are friendly, they won't rob you but they might con you when doing a deal so barter hard! We felt safe when walking around, even in the dark (not like Tenerife where you might get your bag snatched by a passing motorcyclist!). We took the local buses and went to old Goa and Panjim on two separate days.

The roads are CHAOS!! The locals constantly blow their horns and drive very differently to the UK. There are lots of motorcyclists and some don't use headlights so look out! However, their system seems to work for them.

Cows are sacred in Goa so don't be surprised if you see cows wandering around on the roads/beaches. If a cow lies down in the middle of the road it won't get moved by anyone, they just go around it.

The food is lovely, not all curries, I think I only had one while we were there. First choice of restaurant for me was Souymen's Kitchen, steak and fish all excellent. We also went to Anthony's Kitchen which was very cheap but very nice. East Meets West and Jamie's in Baga (we got a taxi) also very good. Italian Viva La Fenice was nice but the restaurant manager wouldn't go away and insisted on speaking to us while we were eating which was a bit annoying. We think he was trying to be friendly but he was a bit over friendly, maybe it was because it was fairly quiet while we were there. I95 is within walking distance from the hotel, again steak, fish etc all excellent.

Some of the taxi drivers will take you for free to some of the restaurants as they get paid by the restaurant to bring people so find out when bartering!

We had a piece of jewellery made, a peridot stone set in gold. The price was agreed and when it was finished it was very good. This was made/done by Jaipur Gems and Crafts which is on the main road not far from the hotel.

There are plenty of places to eat and drink so get out there, experience the culture and enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for one not overlooking the pool/bar. If you don't have air-conditioning as we didn't a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EebygumPontefract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Have stayed at the Osborne 4 times, most recently last month. There are 3 main room buildings to the hotel and we have stayed in all three over the years. Each building has it's own bar, pool and restaurant areas - these, apart from the main reception bar and restaurant, tend to be quiet in the evenings as most people tend to eat out. Rooms are basic, but clean and are serviced daily.

The location is great if you want to be in the thick of the tourist area of Calangute - Candolim and Baga are short taxi rides away. There is a taxi rank directly outside main reception, along with a small restaurant, shop and money-exchange facilities - you can also hire scooters and motorbikes here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbk09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel in March 2011. We enjoyed our stay and found the rooms basic but adequate. Good size rooms and cleaned daily. The pool and breakfast area was kept clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Its basic with no frills. Its located off the main busy road so its quite peaceful but only a couple of minutes walk to the main road. Will definatley return.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susieque123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calangute hotels
0.5 km away
Santa Monica Resorte
Santa Monica Resorte
#28 of 110 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.2 km away
Renzo's Inn
Renzo's Inn
#13 of 110 in Calangute
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.0 km away
The Rivasa Resort
The Rivasa Resort
#86 of 110 in Calangute
3.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
Ondas do Mar Beach Resort
#37 of 110 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.3 km away
Ticlo Resorts
Ticlo Resorts
#35 of 110 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.0 km away
Ancora Beach Resort
Ancora Beach Resort
#95 of 110 in Calangute
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osborne Resort Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne Resort Goa

Property: Osborne Resort Goa
Address: Near St. Anthony's Chapel Gauravaddo | Opp Kamat Holiday Home, Calangute 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Calangute
Price range (per night): $24 - $60
Hotel Class:2 star — Osborne Resort Goa 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotelopia so you can book your Osborne Resort Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Calangute
Osborne Hotel Goa
Osborne Resort Goa Calangute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing