We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome time!”

Burritt on the Mountain
Ranked #11 of 57 things to do in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We visited with our 2 small boys, ages 5 and 2. We had such a nice time. There is currently a program they are hosting called “folk family fun” and my boys had a blast trying all of the activities they had set out. It was almost like an outdoor period themed children’s museum. My boys also loved the presentation by the blacksmith. We got to see some animals and they also loved the play structures. We are very glad we visited!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank mrshudd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"farm animals"
in 6 reviews
"mountain top"
in 6 reviews
"old church"
in 4 reviews
"banquet room"
in 2 reviews
"panning for gold"
in 2 reviews
"gold rush"
in 2 reviews
"step back in time"
in 6 reviews
"wedding venue"
in 3 reviews
"old timey"
in 2 reviews
"audio tour"
in 2 reviews
"nice history"
in 2 reviews
"monte sano"
in 8 reviews
"local history"
in 3 reviews
"self guided"
in 2 reviews
"interesting place to visit"
in 2 reviews
"scavenger hunt"
in 3 reviews
"hiking trails"
in 3 reviews
Filter

15 - 19 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2018

Burritt on the Montain is a great museum for younger children and for a family trip. The livestock and the old structures really make you feel like you're leaving in the early years of Alabama history. The views from the top of Monte Sano are always brilliant.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank PaulZ00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

We are members of Burritt and love every event and just visiting for non events. This was our first visit during Christmas though and what a wonderful evening. Each cabin hosts a different craft or food and most had musical groups. It is geared for children but even us older adults were completely transfixed. Wonderful job as always.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank cindyannsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

We were here for a wedding, despite the foggy, overcast days, it was beautiful. Wedding took place near the mansion at the overview of the city below.
Lots of historic buildings to see.

Date of experience: November 2017
2  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2017

Lovely place ,a story of love ,romance ,work and love for mankind .the home is beautiful and the tribute to Booker T and RosenWald is very engaging.
You will certainly leave a better person .
A must visit .

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank RozanaGaffoorali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Burritt on the Mountain also viewed

 

Been to Burritt on the Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing