We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good”

Phil Sandoval's Mexican Restaurante
Ranked #8 of 645 Restaurants in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch with my husband and two teenagers. Service was very good. Food came quickly and drinks were refilled without having to ask. The queso blanco was good. The thin chips were excellent, the salsa was good but not at all spicy. My son enjoyed the ribeye steak. My daughter enjoyed the beef enchiladas and liked the rice and beans. The side salad was good but the dressing was bland. My husband and I both had the roasted pork burrito. The meat was very tender but it, and the sauce lacked flavor. It was more like my mom’s pork roast and gravy than the Mexican food I’m used to. I would give it another try if in the area but would get something with more spice.

Thank gandycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil S, Owner at Phil Sandoval's Mexican Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Thank you for your time, compliments and that GREAT rating...We appreciate your time and YES, If you want SPICY? I can make sure...you get SPICED up...just ask! Gracias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

Our first trip to Huntsville and my nephew suggest we eat here. Good choice, he made. After short wait we were seated and immediately noticed friendly staff. Chips are made here and were thin and crisp. Salsa was very good. Ordered queso and jalapeño bites for appetizers. Both were excellent, especially the bites. A variety of dishes were ordered including dish off the “hidden” menu. All were very good. I sampled all I could and was very pleased with flavor of all. This is excellent choice for Tex Mex food.

Thank pharmacist77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil S, Owner at Phil Sandoval's Mexican Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Thank You...we appreciate your time, compliments and that AWESOME rating...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018

We had a large group meet for lunch to say farewell to a co-worker. The service was excellent, the wait staff took our orders and brought our food quickly, but without interrupting our gathering.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jlw0lf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil S, Owner at Phil Sandoval's Mexican Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Thank You...we appreciate your compliments and that GREAT review...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

This Mexican Restaurant is absolutely amazing!!! From the atmosphere to the food and drinks...awesomeness!!! The salsa is some of the best I’ve ever had!!!

Thank mdhclc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

Let’s face it, there are lots of Mexican-style restaurants in and around Huntsville. I think the one thing that stands out to me is the homemade tortillas at Phil’s. Their enchiladas are very tasty, as well as the margaritas, queso, and guacamole. The service is great and the ambiance is casual and festive.

Thank CH_opinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Phil Sandoval's Mexican Restaurante also viewed

 

Been to Phil Sandoval's Mexican Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing