We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“nice place to stay in Gulf Shores” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“nice place to stay in Gulf Shores”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

The hotel in on the beach and though it is an older hotel our room was clean, the beds were comfortable and the room was quiet. The front staff was friendly on our check-in. We were on motorcycles and a strong storm came through that evening. They allowed us to move our bikes to a more protected area which was greatly appreciated. They have a resaurant which serves breakfast and lunch so there was no free breakfast. This hotel is away from they more heavily congested area which is nice. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Panhead64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    253
    125
    86
    71
See reviews for
444
316
37
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Being a Best Western rewards customer, I was surprised by the datednessof the hotel. Kitchenette was very poorly equipped and the bathroom was very tiny. The fridge had no shelves.To say the least Iwas not impressed by the price. The frony desk person upon check in could have been somewhat nicer. as opposed to the other staff member the rest of the days. She was very friendly. The resteraunt food was okay, staff good. The balcony view was very nice. Overall I would look for something better next trip.

Room Tip: If you want high price go ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SharonG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Our room was in poor shape and there was a hole in the wall, literally. We paid for a kitchenette which was equipped with 3 plates, 2 cups, and 2 pans without a lid. The balcony was facing the ocean which was the only positive feature.Guest were loud at all hours of the night. My daughter went alone to the soda machine one night alone and ran back traumatized because a man was passed out in front of it, we called the front office who simply said they'd check. When I went later he was gone. One family spent their time drunk and physically abusive towards each other the whole weekend to the point we felt uneasy going out of the room alone.This place is overpriced and run down, it was a great disappointment, our experience turned us off of Best Westerns. Overall it was a horrible experience and a huge waste of money.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank butler837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

We had the worst experience ever at this hotel. Received a phone call at about 1230am one night from someone identifying themselves as the front desk clerk informing us there had been a crime committed at this hotel with the person still in the building. We were told to keep our door closed and locked and to not open the door to anyone. They said the police were on the way. After being told to make some noise to frighten this person away, we found out the whole thing was a prank after the police arrived. The hotel kicked us out of our room at 2 am for making too much noise!! As we were getting kicked out someone down the hall was also receiving a prank call. The hotel took no responsibility for any of this, actually denying that anything had happened. The manager/owner was nasty to our face when we tried talking to him the next day about the incident. I wrote letters to the Gulf Shores mayor, chamber of commerce, and the Best Western association. Would never return to this town again. Watch the security in the hotel. It is nonexistent.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank ann c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doniphan, Missouri
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We paid $479 for two nights, very pricey. This is even with an AARP discount. We stayed at this hotel a year ago with no problems, but this time the thugs had taken over. We had items stolen from our vehicle which was parked right by the door to the hotel, a group of rowdy, rude people took over both jacuzzi tubs the entire night on Friday. There were several people waiting to use the hot tubs, but they didn't care. There was also a large group loitering in the parking lot near dark. I felt very unsafe & for good reason!
The beach had trash everywhere. My husband & I will never stay here or in Gulf Shores again. I have visited Gulf Shores/Orange Beach at least 15 times over the years & it has changed for the worst. What used to be a nice family vacation spot has now been overrun by thieves & thugs. It was like being in Jackson, Mississippi with a beach.

Room Tip: Don't stay here at all unless you want your valuables stolen. It's also a rip-off at $215 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank junipurrwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf Shores
2.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
6.8 km away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
2.4 km away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#4 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
5.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
5.7 km away
Courtyard Gulf Shores Craft Farms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Property: BEST WESTERN on the Beach
Address: 337 East Beach Blvd., PO Box 481, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-6505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf Shores
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gulf Shores
#5 Family Hotel in Gulf Shores
Price range (per night): $91 - $222
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western On The Beach Hotel Gulf Shores
Gulf Shores Best Western
Best Western Gulf Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing