We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely slice of nature”

Bon Secour National Wildlife Refuge
Ranked #5 of 20 things to do in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 6,000-acre nature preserve with a number of endangered species.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We walked the Gator Lake Trail and spent about an hour doing so (it could be faster but we paused for a while at the Little Lagoon). The terrain is soft sand all the way (kids walked barefoot). We heard some birds but didn't see any nor any other wildlife besides one lizard. So for us it was a nice walk in a lovely nature area. We did not have any issues with bugs or pests of any sort. Well-maintained park.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank andi-editor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"pine beach trail"
in 41 reviews
"gator lake"
in 29 reviews
"jeff friend trail"
in 21 reviews
"observation tower"
in 12 reviews
"centennial trail"
in 10 reviews
"mile loop"
in 9 reviews
"great hike"
in 5 reviews
"fort morgan"
in 14 reviews
"bug spray"
in 9 reviews
"trail head"
in 4 reviews
"visitor's center"
in 4 reviews
"enjoyable walk"
in 3 reviews
"pristine beach"
in 4 reviews
"great blue heron"
in 4 reviews
"natural beauty"
in 3 reviews
"maintained trails"
in 3 reviews
"soft sand"
in 3 reviews
Filter

17 - 21 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018

From the parking lot on the Fort Morgan road, the Pine Beach trail is very close to 2 miles to the Gulf coast beach and the same distance back to the car. The trail is nearly level except for going through the dunes by the Gulf beach (One of the few public places where you can see the dunes up close). The beginning of this trail has many trees, shrubs, and other plants labeled by they names (as a "nature trail"). "Deer moss" is labeled and noted that it is not a moss but a lichen (Genus is Cladonia) sometimes also called "reindeer lichen" as up-close it resembles reindeer antlers. The last 1/2 mile or so (to the beach) is on loose sand. Most of the trail is easier walking on sandy soil covered with grasses and pine needles. There were very few insects out in March, 2018.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank RobertW2h483MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

Make sure to bring your bug spray. The mosquitos and sand flies will attack you without it. And there is good fishing too. My wife had relatives in Foley so we stayed with them. We were only out for gas and going out to eat. And if you like to fish bring your tackle and make sure to get a license. And while you are down there try fishing off the pier at Gulf State Park. I have had a lot of luck there.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Perry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

We walked the Gator Lake tour. It must be 2-3 miles out and back. We were there before lunch and the trail was mostly deserted and we enjoyed the peace and quiet. It’s a sandy walk through pine and palm trees ending at a beautiful lake. All in all a nice walk.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank lveach19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2018

This nature refuge offers interesting and beautiful hiking, highlighting the flora and fauna of the beach and forested area of southern Alabama. Easy walking, but enough trail to get a good walk in too.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank rolfseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bon Secour National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Bon Secour National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing