We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms need an upgrade, laundry service could be better.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Atlante Plaza
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Recife
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
172 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Rooms need an upgrade, laundry service could be better.”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

1- I have stayed in this hotel at least 10 times in recent years as well as their sister hotel the Mar Hotel. The Atlante could use a refurbishment in many of the rooms.
2-I sent out laundry on the first night and it came back well-done and packaged nicely. However, like virtually all hotels around the world, they return you clean laundry but do not leave a new laundry list and bag for the next day.
3- The bar service in the Night and Day is excellent.
4- Check in and out are slow.
5-I dined at the Mirage restaurant and was only impressed by the waiter's service. The fish (pescado amarelo) was obviously frozen fish. The fish was served on a chipped plate. I really only enjoyed the vegetables that were prepared correctly and were delicious. Bottom line- it is not worth the price!
6- Breakfast was well-presented with lots of options.However, I must say that this is one of the first restaurants that does not place salt shakers or packets of salt on the table. When I asked the waiter for. Salt shaker he opened a drawer that had dozens of them inside!
7- The doormen are all friendly, educated and helpful.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators because the doors are noisy upon opening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    869
    730
    224
    75
    29
See reviews for
569
480
78
443
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
271 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The hotel is well situated at Av .Boa Viagem ,although not at the best part. They don' t provide beach service,only towels,so you depend on the people that are private "entrepeneurs" to get you chairs and umbrellas and they are free of charge. For food there are a lot of vendors going along the beach with lots of different food: shrimp,lobster,crab, cashew nuts,grilled cheese,pies and so on. The problem at this part of the beach is that there is no sand with high tide,so you can' t enjoy it. The staff at front desk and concierge ( there is really no difference, just the sign in front of them ,because if you need the concierge ,is someone from the front desk that comes to assist you,and they are nice but ,not very efficient) .
The rooms have no balconies ,are of medium size and need some new decor,although some already have plasma tv. The amenities are of bad quality and there are no robes or slippers.
Breakfast is not bad,but not excellent, concerning food,but is a nightmare in service. You have to pick your own table and many times when you return from the buffet there is someone else sitting at your table. Big mess !
The bar is noisy ,always with the tv on,playing soccer.Drinks were acceptable and caipirinha very good.
The pool at the top floor is a disgrace.
Near the hotel is a very beautiful church worth visiting ( our Lady of Boa Viagem ) and a small handcraft fair with good prices ( always try to get a small discount ).
There are very few good restaurants around the hotel.
The hotel is very expensive .
.

Room Tip: To have frontal sea view you have to get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isabel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My room in this hotel was old and musty, on the top floor right next to the stock room so that there was a lot of noise as of 5am. The bathroom was barely clean even though some maid found the time to roll up a few yards of toilet paper into little roses neatly tucked into the roll. Food service very slow, we had to wait 40 min for a hamburger because the waiters were too busy watching a soccer match. Spent two nights here and the second night the room was not made up when I returned to the hotel in the evening. Personally, if I had to choose, I would prefer a clean room to the toilet paper roses, but that is just me. Oh, also, a half empty bottle of sparkling water in the minibar in the room was just the last straw...

Room Tip: Definitely not 1416!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lesmunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The others have said the location is very good and the hotel does not deserve a 5 start rating.
Depending on how you book it, the rooms can be overpriced. I booked mine through the convention I was with and the rate was ok for the kind of room I got.
The room smelled like old and the bathroom amenities and towels are awful.
Breakfast was very good. Wifi is not complimentary but it was not expensive for 24 hours.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lgoncalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, OH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Totally agree with others who say this is 3 star, not 5 star. Exterior is lovely and location is excellent! You'll have high hopes when you drive up. Lobby is average. Hallways to rooms are promissing. Room are very basic. Just know this going in, and you won't be disappointed when you walk in like I was. I like the Westin/Hampton style bed - it's my expectation for a hotel bed at this price point. It is just a flat basic mattress, sheet, and sheet-like blanket. It's hot here, so I realize a full comforter is not needed. It's just not a super comfortable bed. Very very basic. The air works. But it doesn't WORK. Expect to be a little warm. The room has ended up to be adequate but not 5 star by any means.

PROs: The service & bell have been quite considerate, responsive and helpful to me - a woman traveling for business by myself, who does not speak Portuguese. I really appreciate that. The breakfast buffet is included with the room and was very good - large selection, fresh delicious fruit, some very good regional sweets. As I mentioned, the location is wonderful - lots going on at the beach, good restaurants near by, shopping. I love the little beach stands all up and down the main road where you can get a beer and watch the waves. Lovely!!

My only caution is that I think you MUST allow housekeeping to come in everyday. I think they need to fumigate daily. I left my "do not distrub" sign on the door by accident one day and left for work. When I returned that evening, the room was overrun with little moths. Everywhere! Too may to kill. Way too many to consider sleeping! I called housekeeping and they arrived with a can of spray. That was not going to work for me! They did not hesitate to give me another room. And, the new room has been fine so far. It is probably just part of being a beach front hotel with windows that are open everywhere. So, just be sure to keep things clean and make sure you allow housekeeping in to do their thing!!

Food in the restaurant and room service is adequate if you are starving and don't have the energy to go out. But, it's not great. And, here in this place with so much good food around, it's disappointing that they don't have better quality in this hotel. It's a missed opportunity.

Wish the lobby was more fun - there space to hang out and a bar to have a drink. But there is very old fashioned live piano music, overly bright lighting and a sterile atmosphere. It's a busy hotel and a more hip lobby and bar area would really bring this place to life.

As you can see, I want to like this place. I probably would check out other options before staying here again, but I do not yet know of a better place in this area of Recife.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PooshkaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Recife hotels
Radisson Recife
#5 of 55 in Recife
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Boa Viagem
Mar Hotel Conventions
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlante Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlante Plaza

Property: Hotel Atlante Plaza
Address: Avenida Boa Viagem 5426, Recife, State of Pernambuco 51030-000, Brazil (Formerly Grand Mercure Recife Atlante Plaza)
Region: Brazil > State of Pernambuco > Recife > Boa Viagem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Recife
#1 Green Hotel in Recife
#1 Spa Hotel in Recife
#3 Business Hotel in Recife
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Recife
#3 Romantic Hotel in Recife
Price range (per night): $95 - $136
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Atlante Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Atlante Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atlante Plaza Recife, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing