We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in great prices from these sites
Hotels.comUSD 50
Booking.comUSD 56
eDreamsUSD 56
TravelocityUSD 50
Orbitz.comUSD 50
Agoda.comUSD 56
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,002)
Filter reviews
2,003 results
Traveller rating
668
800
346
129
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
668
800
346
129
60
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 2,003 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2019

Date of stay: November 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KAROLINE HELOISA OLIVEIRA, Atendimento ao cliente/recepção at Grand Mercure Recife Boa Viagem, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2020

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 December 2019 via mobile

Lobby with few sofas to accommodate guests, waiting too long to enter the room: apartments were not cleared at check-in time, service very slow and insufficient and unkind staff . I never had these kind of experience in Recife before.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank NadiaGucarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAROLINE HELOISA OLIVEIRA, Atendimento ao cliente/recepção at Grand Mercure Recife Boa Viagem, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Grand Mercure Recife Boa Viagem ! We appreciate your time and your feedback!

We are so sorry that you had this perception about our team, we apologize for any situation, this is really not the real quality of our services.
The entire Hotel is undergoing an overall renovation because of the Rebranding. Soon it'll be all renovated.

Hope to see you again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2019

I had to change rooms 3 times (a/c broken, malfunctions in the toilet and blinders ). The gym is a moldy joke. You can’t phone the reception - line always busy. Do yourself a favor and stay away from this hotel.

Date of stay: November 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAROLINE HELOISA OLIVEIRA, Atendimento ao cliente/recepção at Grand Mercure Recife Boa Viagem, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Grand Mercure Recife Boa Viagem!

We are so sorry that you had this perception about our team and our rooms. we apologize for any situation, this is really not the real quality of our services.

The entire Hotel is undergoing an overall renovation because of the Rebranding. Soon it'll be all renovated.

We hope to have you stay with us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2019

The great benefit of this hotel is the location close to the (long but slim city-beach, just across the street) and the nice view of the front side apartments to the sea (Only these rooms seem having a nice view!). The breakfast is diverse and ok, except the very low-quality café.
I had two apartments (one after the other, because the first one was spoiled by water/dirt after a damage of one of the water/drainage tubes).
Both rooms were not well cleaned, hairs on the floor, dirt in the corners, etc.
Both rooms had issues of bad or poor maintenance.
Both rooms had an unpleasant and uncomfortable light system, with no major light in the bedroom and no main switch for all lights.
The rooms are equipped with the most necessary and are far from representing a cozy atmosphere.
The "entrance room" to the sleeping room in the apartment is dark, unfriendly and actually does not invite for being used.
In total my worst Accor/Mercure hotel experience.

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank CH_fromAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAROLINE HELOISA OLIVEIRA, Atendimento ao cliente/recepção at Grand Mercure Recife Boa Viagem, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2020

Dear Guest,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for the time taken to write to us with your comments, as any information provided by our customers is greatly appreciated as we strive to continually improve.
We apologize for not having achieved your satisfaction.
The entire Hotel is undergoing an overall renovation because of the Rebranding. Soon it'll be all renovated.
We are convinced of being able to reach your expectations on your next visit to Grand Mercure Recife Boa Viagem.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2019

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KAROLINE HELOISA OLIVEIRA, Atendimento ao cliente/recepção at Grand Mercure Recife Boa Viagem, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2020

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews