We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“clean, spacious rooms but next to no english spoken by reception staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Best Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Best Inn
Ranked #138 of 321 Kolkata (Calcutta) B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“clean, spacious rooms but next to no english spoken by reception staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

the rooms here were clean and ours was spacious (room 103). the guest who stayed here before us left some sweat pants and boxer shorts behind the door and the staff hadn't noticed... beakfast is basic and don't expect what you ordered - the let down of this place is that the staff speak next to no english so it is very diffucult even asking for simply things. otherwise it's a good place to stay. taxis aren't too expensive if you get the driver to turn on the meter (starts at 10 rupees). when you stop at your destination double the fare shown on the meter then add 2 rupees. tip we picked up whilst we were here! we also recommend dining at BBQ restaurant on park st. amazing service and fresh, delcious food.

Room Tip: our room (103) was spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank g_t_stephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebestinn, Front Office Manager at The Best Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Dear g_t_stephens

Thank you for staying at The Best Inn during your visit to Kolkata, India.

I would like to convey my sincere apologies to you for not being able to welcome you to The Best Inn at the time of your check-in on a Sunday and for any inconvenience caused in communicating with the housekeeping staff who took care of your check-in in my absense.

I would like to assure you that we at the Front Desk at The Best Inn speak fluent English and have even been complimented for the same in several past reviews. I am delighted to hear that you liked the clean, spacious, and restful rooms at our boutique guesthouse. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Regards,
Chaitanya Jog
Front Desk Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    25
    13
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
16
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

Basic but clean (if you don't move the furniture) hotel that is relatively central and good alternative to Sudder Street. Manager/Receptionist is helpful with good English although when he isn't about it's a struggle. You get breakfast in room but the downside is there is no communal area if you don't want to be in your room.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitch900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St George Ranges. WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2011

I had a very nice stay at The Best Inn. Although I can not wholeheartedly claim that this really is the best inn it is definitely somewhere up there. The hotel is small but kept clean and the vicinity is quiet. It is kind of difficult to find though so make sure you always carry a business card with you.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pamella05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

This was a comfortable hotel with very helpful staff. I cant say it has character but for the money it is well worth it. I have paid twice as much for a much less comfortable stay elsewhere. I would recommend it for all travellers and will stay there again if I find myself in Kolkata.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoobylooTamworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebestinn, Owner at The Best Inn, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at The Best Inn at Kolkata, India.

I am delighted to hear that you found The Best Inn to be comfortable and that the service from our team has left you with a favourable impression.

We look forward to welcoming you at The Best Inn in the future.

Kind Regards,
Piyush
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
151 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2010

My room was clean and simple and located in a quiet pleasant street close to a metro station. The owner was helpful with me leaving my baggage and provided a map and tips about the neighbourhood. The room had only a very small window, but was quiet. Compared to other places I have heard about in Calcutta, this must be one of the better mid/price options available.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GiuseppeNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebestinn, Owner at The Best Inn, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Thank you for posting your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Best Inn, Kolkata, India.

We take pride in offering a clean, quiet and confortable accomodation and personal service at The Best Inn.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Best Inn in the future.

Kind Regards,
Piyush
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
11.2 km away
The Hotel Avisha
The Hotel Avisha
#34 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Trimoorti
Hotel Trimoorti
#69 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
2.7 km away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#144 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Hotel Royal Garden
Hotel Royal Garden
#94 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.0 km away
Golden Inn
Golden Inn
#110 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
3.7 km away
Hotel Esplanade Chambers
Hotel Esplanade Chambers
#105 of 321 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Best Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Best Inn

Property: The Best Inn
Address: Sushil Sen Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700025, India (Formerly The Westin)
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 321 B&Bs / Inns in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price range (per night): $41 - $51
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful boutique Guesthouse located at a short walk from Rabindra Sadan Metro Station, Victoria Memorial Gardens, Saint Paul's Cathedral, Forum Shopping Mall, Homeland Mall, Inox Cinema Multiplex, Race Course, & most Corporate Offices on Lansdowne Rd, Elgin Rd, Chowringhee Rd, Shakespeare Sarani, Camac Street, Jawaharlal nehru Rd., AJC Bose Rd. etc. Park Street can be reached via a Taxi or the Metro in about ten minutes from The Best Inn. Mother's House can be reached via a Taxi in about ten minutes. All rooms at The Best Inn have modern furniture, air-conditioning, flat screen TV (cable), internet connectivity, telephone, hot & cold water in attached bathrooms, mini fridge (in Deluxe King Room only). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Best Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
The Best Inn Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing